Customer Reviews for

A Texan's Promise (Heart of a Hero Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 593 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(186)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Sflintwolf

What a great book. I could not put it down. I highly recommend this book, also, very inspirational.

posted by 11400521 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

More religion than story

Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the pr...
Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the preaching & scripture to be way over the top, especially for a romance novel.

posted by 6054582 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    good storyline

    I thought it was something eles... once i started reading it i did finish it... was good though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Christian Read

    The story line was okay but a little too preachy for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommend

    I will follow this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good clean christian book

    It has a good story line i think it could of went into more romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    A good love story

    If you are a romantic, this is a good book. I gave it three stars because I expected a little more in the romance department. Still, the plot was interesting and had me hooked throughout the book. The characters are very credible and are found in today's society (the book takes place in the 19th century US). If you like a nice love story, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Managed to finish it...but not real exciting

    I was surprised to see how many reviewers rated this as a really good book. It was a bit phony, the characters especially. There were so many scripture references and comments about Good's will that it felt more like a Bible study handout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Compelling story, but...

    ...a little too preachy for my tastes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Engaging enough to read practically straight through, but aggrav

    Engaging enough to read practically straight through, but aggravating at times. The characterization seemed somewhat shallow: we read how the characters feel instead of sharing their feelings. The good people were very, very good, and the bad people were just horrible. The occasional Bible verses didn't add any depth to the story, in my estimation. The two main characters seemed singularly unskilled in relationships. The bones of the story are good, but I don't admire the way the author told it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An OK book......................................................

    An OK book..................................................................................................................................
    A little over peppered with bible quotes. But what made the book a tiresome is the couple getting married and then not having sex. That plot line has been done to death. Granted in the beginning the girl had been assaulted and was a little gun shy. But Clayton leaving his bride with his sisters family for months while he ride off so he can make sure he doesn't touch her was just dumb. Especially since the love each other.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Decent book

    Storyline was interesting...many bible and religous references but all in all a nice romantic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Good Story, but missed the climax

    Great story on growing love, a little predictable. Its a little obvious hero falls in love with girl type of story with their own inner challenges. I wished that the climax that was bigger, it just came and went without much excitement or "edge of your seat" gotta keep reading. But overall its a good book and i enjoyed readng it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    excellent

    excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    cowgirl

    i like that this book is christian but does her stepfather have to rape her it just does not seem approveiate it is a good christian book but her stepfather as no right to touch her even she is his stepdaughter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    not a bad romance novel!

    Not the best, far from the worst! A bit too religious; nice twists and some interesting insertions of historical events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A Christian Western Romance

    It's a good book with a good storyline and characters. Physicially abused by her stepfather and rescued by the ranch foreman via marriage to protect her. Lots of editing oversights which should have been corrected. I would not purchase this book and am glad it was a freebie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Easy Read

    Simple story, easy read, not one I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Anonymous

    A pleasant read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    An easy read

    A western, about the growth of relationships of family and one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5