Customer Reviews for

A Texan's Promise (Heart of a Hero Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 599 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Sflintwolf

What a great book. I could not put it down. I highly recommend this book, also, very inspirational.

posted by 11400521 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

More religion than story

Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the pr...
Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the preaching & scripture to be way over the top, especially for a romance novel.

posted by 6054582 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Sflintwolf

    What a great book. I could not put it down. I highly recommend this book, also, very inspirational.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recommended!!

    Story of a young girl abused by her step-father and rescued by a ranch hand. Leaving everything behind they escape to another state while being pursued. A tough cowboy can be tender, loving and patient while his beloved recovers from emotional and physical scars. His insecurities need time to heal, but in time a family is built. Framed in the wild west, faith and prayer pull the two through many scary, life threatening times.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    A Texan's Promise

    A Texan's Promise by Shelley Gray is a delightful tale set in Texas in 1873. Shelley weaves a story about Vanessa Grant, a young woman who has suffered tremendously, after undergoing advances from her stepfather. Clayton Proffitt, foreman of the ranch, comes to her rescue.

    Clayton chooses the honorable thing in taking care of Vanessa, and getting her away from her stepfather's evil clutches. But will he ever choose to love her or will he always just be honor bound?

    I found A Texan's Promise to be a wonderfully written novel and highly recommend it.

    * This book was provided free for review by Abingdon Press.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Read it in one sitting!!! Could not put it down.

    GREAT story!! Started reading it one night and stayed up all night to finish it!! Amazing love story.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Best book i've read in a while

    This was an awesome book!! Loved the wonderful story line and the goodness behind it all!! I love a good Christian romance novel!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Time to read this for the 4th time

    This is the best book i have ever read i stayed until 11 the first time i read it you wont be able to put it done its good for teens as well as adults the perfect romance novel love story with turmoil BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Compromise

    This book showd us a real heart compromised from the characters. Story develops nicely.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    I LIKE HER WAY OF DESIGNED WRITING. I ALWAYS ENJOY HER BOOKS AS I ALWAYS PURCHASE.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Loved all the characters and couldn't put it down.

    Loved all the characters and couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great Story

    I couldn't put the book down!! I was up until 3 am trying to finish. I especially loved the Christian theme. Simply refreshing .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Anon

    This was a great book. It shows how far you will go for true love not a "love" when youre only in it for unpure motives. Also shows how God is there in the hardest parts of our lives

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The cover of this book hints at the beautiful story to be found

    The cover of this book hints at the beautiful story to be found inside. Full of romance and a wonderful message, those who love quality romance will love it, as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Very well written!!! Jmm44

    Kept my interest all the way--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Wonderful!

    A wonderful story, very heartfelt!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Wow

    I really enjoyed this book very spiritual. It shows you how god is always their when you need him. He will never leave you in your time of need.

    Everyone goes through challenges but by trusting god he has a greater plan gor all lost souls. Loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Loved this book, especially being spiritually based. Ion my way to order book 2. Good reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Very Sweet!

    Great read! I recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    excellent read

    this book showed how compassion and believing in the LORD helped the characters during their hard times. Compassion was a key part to this book. I am an avid Bible reader but after I got half way through the book I could not put the book down and pick up the Bible because I wanted to find out what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    This is a heartwarming Christian western romance. Clayton Proff

    This is a heartwarming Christian western romance.

    Clayton Proffitt is foreman of the Circle Z Ranch. When he discovers that Vanessa Grant, daughter of the ranch’s owner, is the victim of her stepfather’s advances he knows he must protect her honor and move her far away from the ranch. They find that an unexpected, deep bond develops between them as they make their way west. Clayton’s biggest concern as they travel is that Vanessa’s stepfather won’t let her go so easily. They have to place their faith in both God and each other as they try to get away from his control.

    I loved this book. The characters were very well developed. From the very start of the story Vanessa’s plight broke my heart. I was rooting for them to get away from her stepfather and any control he had over both of them. I loved the fact that Clayton was relying on God for His direction and protection throughout the book. He did everything he could to help point others to look to God also. 

    I’m looking forward to reading everything else that I can find by this author. I highly recommend it this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12