Customer Reviews for

A Texan's Promise (Heart of a Hero Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 598 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Sflintwolf

What a great book. I could not put it down. I highly recommend this book, also, very inspirational.

posted by 11400521 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

More religion than story

Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the pr...
Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the preaching & scripture to be way over the top, especially for a romance novel.

posted by 6054582 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 599 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    It was a great read

    The story is so well constructed. I read both books and although i wished the characters had met during the actual story and not as a side note of information. Still this is a must read i hope you enjoy her work as much as i do.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A good read.

    A little romance, some intrigue,good moral's make for an interesting book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    I read this book not knowing what to expect but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I am not one for romance books but this book draws you in and doesn't let go until the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Loved all the characters and couldn't put it down.

    Loved all the characters and couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    A Good Story

    I enjoyed this book over all. It was fun to read a Historical Western, not the type that I usually read. There were a lot of challenges during this time for the settlers.

    The story had purpose and did progress to that end. The characters all had some personal ladders to climb. I was not always pleased with their choice of handeling them but the end result was what each needed. I did like the way it was resolved in the end.

    I felt that the bible verses sometimes got in the way rather than augmented the story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great Story

    I couldn't put the book down!! I was up until 3 am trying to finish. I especially loved the Christian theme. Simply refreshing .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Easy reading

    Enjoyable book. Nice easy read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    I Enjoyed it

    It was so nice to get a book without explicit sex & strong language. An easy read & I didn't want to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Anon

    This was a great book. It shows how far you will go for true love not a "love" when youre only in it for unpure motives. Also shows how God is there in the hardest parts of our lives

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The cover of this book hints at the beautiful story to be found

    The cover of this book hints at the beautiful story to be found inside. Full of romance and a wonderful message, those who love quality romance will love it, as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Very well written!!! Jmm44

    Kept my interest all the way--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Wonderful!

    A wonderful story, very heartfelt!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Sweet story

    This was an easy to read book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Rated 1.5 stars

    I thought the book a little shallow. The storyline just felt like someone filled pages. The hero did have some character to take care of the girl. The story didn't display what love is really like.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Wow

    I really enjoyed this book very spiritual. It shows you how god is always their when you need him. He will never leave you in your time of need.

    Everyone goes through challenges but by trusting god he has a greater plan gor all lost souls. Loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Easy read

    Clean, no sex (even when it would have been natural and appropriate). Characters, like the little girl in the nursery rhyme were either "very very good " or "very very bad". However, mildly interesting and readable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Good :)

    Good story. What I liked most about it was the christian aspect of it. Prayers, quoted bible verses etc. The storyline was good too. Damsel in distress, hero rescues her and all that goes along with it. It was definitely a quick read for me. I would recommend reading it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Average

    Not the best but also not the worst- repetitive and simple - though I did appreciate the clear references to faith in Christ and the lack of any foul language

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Loved this book, especially being spiritually based. Ion my way to order book 2. Good reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 599 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30