Customer Reviews for

A Texan's Promise (Heart of a Hero Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Sflintwolf

What a great book. I could not put it down. I highly recommend this book, also, very inspirational.

posted by 11400521 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

More religion than story

Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the pr...
Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the preaching & scripture to be way over the top, especially for a romance novel.

posted by 6054582 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 602 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Childish writing

    Childish writing and WAY too many refereces to God!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Clay + Van

    Such a good story. Loved the Bible references & the questions at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Horrible

    I kept reading this book hoping that the writing would get better.... no luck..... This author needs to take a basic writing course. At least the book was free. I will not be purchasing any other of this authors books. Besides the bad writing I didn't enjoy the religion being shoved down my throat the entire book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Religious titles should have a content warning

    So here's my warning.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Very Sweet!

    Great read! I recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    ?

    Just another praise Jesus book and not a very good one at that.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    This should not have been a Free Friday book. It has already be

    This should not have been a Free Friday book. It has already been offered for free. Thank a lot BN. The book was alright

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Thinly-veiled attempt at turning the reader into a Christian

    One word: scripture.

    'Nuff said.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Too Simple

    The characters and the story lacked depth. I was not drawn into any of it. The story could have happened during any time period and still would disappoint. If was meant to be a Christian novel, that seems to be an afterthought tossed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    excellent read

    this book showed how compassion and believing in the LORD helped the characters during their hard times. Compassion was a key part to this book. I am an avid Bible reader but after I got half way through the book I could not put the book down and pick up the Bible because I wanted to find out what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    This is a heartwarming Christian western romance. Clayton Proff

    This is a heartwarming Christian western romance.

    Clayton Proffitt is foreman of the Circle Z Ranch. When he discovers that Vanessa Grant, daughter of the ranch’s owner, is the victim of her stepfather’s advances he knows he must protect her honor and move her far away from the ranch. They find that an unexpected, deep bond develops between them as they make their way west. Clayton’s biggest concern as they travel is that Vanessa’s stepfather won’t let her go so easily. They have to place their faith in both God and each other as they try to get away from his control.

    I loved this book. The characters were very well developed. From the very start of the story Vanessa’s plight broke my heart. I was rooting for them to get away from her stepfather and any control he had over both of them. I loved the fact that Clayton was relying on God for His direction and protection throughout the book. He did everything he could to help point others to look to God also. 

    I’m looking forward to reading everything else that I can find by this author. I highly recommend it this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    A bit too "easy".

    I got this book for free and will now be erasing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Too preachy

    Found myself skipping over the incessant Bible quotes and losing patience with the constant inferences that only those with weak faith have harm inflicted upon them. Disappointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Loved it!

    Clayton Proffitt is a true hero. He steps up to take care of some one in need without hesitation. He just wants to do the right thing for everyone even though if hurts him. He is so understanding with Van and it just shows that he is a true man of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Nice story

    Easy read. Lots of quotes from the bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No

    Predictable. Boring. Stereotypical from the grunting Indian to the damsel in distress to the reluctant hero.

    Definitely not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    A beautiful story!

    I got this book on a Free Friday and was wonderfully surprised how much I enjoyed the book. I will be reading the next two books in the series as soon as I can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Blah

    This story was short and still took me a long time to read. Not much character building, left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    good read

    would lend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    An ok read

    Like others I found the main character's relationship confusing and I skipped over some parts in the last 3 chapters of the book. It is a Christian fiction book. It is an ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 602 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 31