Customer Reviews for

Texas Blue (Whispering Mountain Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    AWSOME!!! Great love story

    Like the plot plenty of love action and other stuff with a happy ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommened-Jodi Thomas does it again

    I recently stumbled across this author by accident and am so glad I did. I loved all 5 of the Whispering Mountain series. But this one was special because the love story grew out of something that SHE had to teach HIM. And he did learn and lived to tell about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    I would rather read this book than go to the movies!

    Texas Blue is the second book we read for our book club, and I did an in-depth review on the blog. Jodi Thomas has really hit it on the nail as far as appealing to women's' often suppressed desire to root for the underdog, to fanaticize about wealth, and to believe in divine intervention when it comes to romance. Ms. Thomas successfully combines all of these elements in a fast paced, exciting read that mimics a good romance movie. The characters in the book are individuals of strength and substance. None are weak or bland. Each is distinctive and determined to stay true to themselves and to follow their own path: the Texas spirit! The romantic aspect is gradually built up over the course of the novel, and is gently infused. How fortunate we are to have Jodi Thomas to entertain us! Here are some question that I answer in my in-depth review: Why is this book titled Texas Blue? What was your favorite part of the book? The name of the book's characters were Southern in nature, yet the two old cooks who were bent on protecting Anna had biblical names. Why? Did you notice the interesting dichotomy between Duncan and Lewt? Did you notice the similarities between the love interests of Duncan and Lewt? For my more in-depth review, go to: katyconfidential[dot]com/book-club/texas-blue/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Read!

    Love this book!!! But I loved all the others too. I really enjoyed the way Em finally gave in to Lewton. He had to work for it tho. But the story was beautiful and keep you interested all the way till the end. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys Jodi's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to series!

    Reviewed by Jen: Texas Blue is part of Jodi Thomas' Whispering Mountain series. Even though I've not read any of the other books, this one is book 5, I found myself intrigued with this little corner of Texas that Ms Thomas has carved out and the family that has settled there. The book stands alone quite well, but characters from previous book (and likely future ones) do make their appearances (or at least are well mentioned).

    Lewt and Emily both had scarred childhoods, and it's interesting to see how it effects them in adulthood and colors how they see the world and the opposite sex. I like how Ms Thomas really develops the friendship between the characters as the foundation of their relationship instead of just focusing on the attraction.

    This book made me cry numerous times. And I also found it to be a page turner when the action (involving a rescue mission to Mexico) picked up in the second half. I recommend this book and am going to be finding myself copies of earlier books in the series as my interest as been piqued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    There's No Escaping Love

    I liked the premise of this story - of two people who are trying to escape who they are - one to find love and one to avoid love. Neither one of them were pretending to be someone else for shady purposes. I thought it was a nice switch up to have the man be the one looking for love and a family though, and the woman wanting to avoid it. Even though Lewt was a gambler, and they were looked down upon by "respectable" people, he was an honest gambler and never left anyone completely broke without an out. He genuinely cared about people. He would probably say he was determined, but other people might see him as just stubborn. The only people Emily was really close to were her family. She even kept the ranch hands at arm's length and didn't realize the extent that they watched over her. She had a secret in her past that caused her to mistrust men. Working every day with Lewt on the ranch though, she first had respect for him, and then realized she was beginning to trust him. You could really feel the passion between the two of them. I love that the author was able to convey this passion without turning the scenes x-rated. To me, it makes the love portrayed seem more pure somehow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    A GREAT READ! A MUST READ!FULL OF LOVE,ROMANCE,ADVENTURE,FAMILY AND TEXAS RANGERS AND A GAMBLER!! TEXAS BLUE BY JODI THOMAS!!

    TEXAS BLUE by Jodi Thomas is an amazing faced paced historical romance set in 1875 Austin,Texas and Whispering Mountain,Texas. This is the fifth in "A Whispering Mountain Novel" series,but can be read as a stand alone. This is a series not to miss. It is fast paced and a page turner. It has romance,adventure,long ago fears,forgiveness,healing,Texas Rangers,Texas working ranch,a loving family, fighting outlaws, survival and finding love.Lewton Paterson(Lewt),gambler,a loner,friends with the Texas ranger/lawyer Duncan McMurray and looking for love,a rich wife,acceptance and a family.What he finds is more than he evenhe dreamed of happening.Emily McMurray,(Em),is the eldest of the McMurray sisters,has no intention of marrying,loves ranch life,horses,is scarred from her mother's previous marriage,and only want to be left alone to help run the ranch and love her horses.But Lewt decides to go to Whispering Mountain to pretend to be a gentleman,even through his best friend Duncan told him he wasn't welcome.Duncan has sent three rich men from good families to the ranch to try to marry off his three sisters.Lewt,gets rid of one of them and replaces himself.Emily,gets a friend of hers to pretend to be her until the men have left.They where to stay a week.While,Em handles things on the ranch.Staying out of everyone's way,except Lewt asks her help in learning the ranch and ranch life.While either knows the truth of the other,they are attracted to each other.Em,thinking Lewt only wants a rich wife,Lewt thinking Em a ranch hand with a few secrets of her own.When danger comes calling Lewt joins the little group with Em,a ranch hand and a Texas Ranger to find,and bring Duncan home dead or alive.Duncan in the mean time has been wounded,and held for auction at a Mexican roadhouse for outlaws,and such.This is an entertwining story of Duncan and his time at the roadhouse,while healing and trying to stay alive.This story does have a multiple facet plot,you will hold your breath to see what happens not only between Em and Lewt,but also with Duncan and the young girl her meets.This is MUST READ!! A KEEPER!! And you will not regret a moment in the lives of this Whispering Mountain Novel.Texas Blue is a read will worth the time.I loved the plot,the characters and who doesn't love handsome,sexy cowboys,sweet emotional romance and a story written with atttention to details,depth of the characters,and countryside.This and so much more,including a wild adventure and danger in every shadow.So without further ado run out and get a copy for yourself.I have enjoyed all of this author's books so far and this one was delightful.This book was received for the purpose form the author and publisher and details can be found at Berkley Publishing Group,published by Penguin Group and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great read

    In 1875 Texas Ranger Duncan "Duck" McMurray informs his friend gambler Lewton Paterson that he plans to insure good marriages for his three female cousins by sending good citizens with upstanding families their way. Lewton yearns for that respectability so at Crystal's, after he meets Walter Freeport the Fourth, a pompous abusive fool who hit a server, he decides to replace the nasty gentleman. A card game leads to Lewt possessing the train ticket,

    Lewton meets the three ladies and finds each nice and pretty, but is drawn specifically to ranch manger Emily. However, though she is attracted to her cousin's selection, she refuses to marry as that will cost her the independence that she cherishes. When they learn that Duncan has been held prisoner in Mexico, Lewt and Em ride out to rescue him.

    The latest Whispering Mountain historical romance (see The Lone Texan) is once again a great read. The lead couple is a fabulous pairing of an independent ranch owner and a likable card shark posing as a dandy. From the moment they meet, sparks fly, as he says to the three cousins he will marry any of them as long as she is wealthy while she distrusts any male except kin ever since she helplessly witnessed an assault on her mom. Readers will enjoy this coupling as both have issues wider than Texas.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2