Customer Reviews for

Texas Gothic

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Charmingly Quirky Perfect Pick

Texas Gothic is filled with charming quirkiness, and great writing. What's there not to like with a cute cranky cowboy, tree climbing Houdini goats, Go Go Gadget Gidget girl, rump scratching cows, and a love story like a prize fight.

Amy Goodnight is an island of no...
Texas Gothic is filled with charming quirkiness, and great writing. What's there not to like with a cute cranky cowboy, tree climbing Houdini goats, Go Go Gadget Gidget girl, rump scratching cows, and a love story like a prize fight.

Amy Goodnight is an island of normal in a sea of crazy. As the self appointed Gatekeeper, Amy straddles the line between magic and mundane constantly providing damage control for her above average family. The Goodnight's are witches, each with a different affinity, and to the dismay of Amy, none of them are shy about their abilities.

Amy's PR talents are about to be tested. She and her sister Phin are looking after their Aunt Hy's farm for the summer. Everyone in the small Texas town has an opinion about the crazy Goodnights and it doesn't help that the sleepy town has seemingly awaken with paranormal activity since the girls arrival. There's quite a lot of chatter about a rogue ghost on the loose knocking people out, skeletal remains are popping up at the perpetually cranky yet hunky neighbor's ranch, and a spirit is personally haunting Amy.

Amy is going to have to except who and what she is, find some balance between her two worlds, and along with her friends, they are going to have figure out what's really going on with the pestering poltergeist to save her Goodnight name and possibly her life.

Clement-Moore doesn't write hardcore paranormal, she writes normal with a certain slant of the unusual. Rosemary's strength is her witty writing style, and wonderfully rich characters, which hits a definite high in Texas Gothic. In most books the main character is the author's focus in development and spotlight. Here the supporting cast doesn't get left behind but blossomed. I loved all the players in this book. They were interesting and distinctive like her work. Fans of Hex Hall and Paranormalcy will like the snarky quirky prose.

There's nothing negative I can say. Lots of laughs. Great characters, good story line, a romantic love story, and perfect prose that pulls you in. If you need a literary vacation then pick up a copy of Texas Gothic and get completely entrench by the writing.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quirky Witches, Swoonworthy Neighbor Boys and a Mystery to Boot...

So, growing up I loved reading any and all things vampire, witch and ghost (with a sprinkling of werewolf for good measure.) Today, not much has changed and it would be safe to say that I will always compare any paranormal books I read to some of those old favorites. My...
So, growing up I loved reading any and all things vampire, witch and ghost (with a sprinkling of werewolf for good measure.) Today, not much has changed and it would be safe to say that I will always compare any paranormal books I read to some of those old favorites. My go-to authors regarding “witchy” type books will always be Anne Rice (The Witching Hour) and Alice Hoffman (Practical Magic.) These two ladies have the whole “family of witches” thing down pat in my humble opinion. So when I read the blurb earlier this year regarding Texas Gothic, I knew this book would be right up my alley. Like Rice and Hoffman’s works, Texas Gothic includes eccentric relatives and cool family dynamics, which I loved. The relationship between Amy and Phin is fun to read and it’s nice to see two sisters close in age getting along in spite of all their differences. I liked Amy’s character and really sympathized with her struggle for normalcy in a decidedly abnormal family. I appreciated her desire to strike a balance in her life and enjoyed seeing her grow and develop, eventually accepting and embracing her inner witch by story’s end. I also really liked the bookish Phin and all her cool experiments and gadgets. I do wish however that I could have gotten to know more of the Goodnight clan. I enjoyed the inclusion of Cousin Daisy and would have liked to have learned more about Amy and Phin’s mom as well their Aunt Hyacinth. As for the mystery that unfurls in the book, I really liked all the interesting facts about Texas history that the author included. However, I thought the mystery itself was a little elementary. I was hoping with a title like Texas Gothic (emphasis on the word Gothic) the story would have been a little more The Turn of The Screw and a little less The Secret of The Old Clock. That aside, I enjoyed the plot well enough,and I think Clement-Moore's witty dialogue and interesting characters make up for my other issues. There is some romance between Amy and the hot, yet somewhat jerk-ish, neighbor Ben. I liked the back and forth between them, and thought there was some pretty decent chemistry, but the romance didn't sweep me off my feet. In fact there were a few occasions when I preferred the character of Mark, the anthropology student interested in Phin, more than Ben. So, to sum up my review of Texas Gothic: Clement-Moore delivers cool, quirky characters; humorous, witty dialogue; and a decent mystery and love story. I plan to check out more works by this author, including her work The Splendor Falls

posted by HeatheR-FlyleafReview on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3