Customer Reviews for

Texas! Lucky

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Just pass on this early Sandra Brown book. I'm not even going to

    Just pass on this early Sandra Brown book. I'm not even going to read the others in the series. I have read more current books by Ms. Brown and have loved them all, but I received this book in a giveaway and felt compelled to read and review it. Being written some 20-odd years ago, you can tell how her writing style has finessed to what it is today. Texas Lucky is unbelievable most of the time. I thought the female lead to be very ignorant for someone that was supposed to be quite intelligent and Lucky, although trying to pull off a white knight-type routine, is actually obnoxious in his conceit. The secondary characters make this book readable as the whole storyline is basically unbelievable. I am a huge Brown fan but I truly did not enjoy this book...or writing this review :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    can't miss this one!

    lucky is the third member of the family in this trilogy. handsome and lucky(thus the nickname) with the ladies, lucky finds himself in a mess. the company is in danger of going under, and there is a fire on their property destroying equipment they need. the police accuse lucky of setting the fire and he must prove his innocence. all this while "getting lucky" with his future wife. i am so glad i didn't miss this trilogy and you will be too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Fun story

    Enjoyable romance, nothing too deep (until the end), but good if you're in the mood for some light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Good start to the series

    This book was a good starting point for the rest of the series. I didn't think it was as good as the next two, but it definitely wasn't terrible. All the characters are introduced in detail and you fall in love with this family immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Curl up with this book, a blanket, popcorn...and some tissue

    This was a nice easy read, full of fires, arrests, lusts and who-done-its! I liked Lucky, Devon, and his whole family. I struggle in books when there's great tragedy, so one part of this was difficult. But don't let it deter you from reading...you just gotta be alot stronger than me. lol I have a really good time with Sandra's stories. =] Looking forward to seeing what happens with Lucky's brother Chase next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not one of the best

    The book itself was okayy not something that i would read again. This book was one of those books that you read once and thats it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Give me more Texas!

    I bought this book by accident and boy am I happy that I did. I enjoyed all the characters in the book, it is clear from the start that this will be a trilogy, as the characters and their relationships are really well though out.

    I was hooked from the start and could not put it down. There were many sleepless nights!

    If you want a good novel that: makes you out laugh out loud, yell in anger, weep in sorrow, and has you cheering for a family that you will grow to love; then this is the book for you.

    I cannot wait to ready the other books in the trilogy.


    Cheers
    MiamiReader

    PS: I even have this as an audiobook to listen too while stuck in Miami traffic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Texas Lucky

    I enjoyed reading this book. I was looking for a book with some romance in it. This book didn't have too much romance in it and was very entertaining. Good plot and the characters were strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Love the main character!

    I completely fell in love with Lucky! He makes the book with his sexiness and his sense of humor. It's an interesting plot and has some really sweet romantic parts as well. The story between Lucky and Devon is really sweet and I LOVE the ending! I can't wait to read about Chase and Sage! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Stupid Plot

    I have read other Sandra Brown books that I enjoyed, but the contrived plot lines and silliness of this one are just too ridiculous. If I had not been in the hospital, I would not have finished it. The mother, Laurie, is the only character that behaves like a real person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    Love this series!

    The Sandra Brown Texas! series so for is a great and easy read. I read Texas Lucky in 2 days. I could not put it down. I am now in the middle of the second book, Texas Sage which is a story about Lucky's older brother who lost his wife and unborn baby in a car accident. The car was driven by an old HS friend that he used to pick on. It is a great read a truly recommend it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can't turn your back on love

    Lucky is accused of a fire and the only person that he can turn to for his allibi doesn't want anything to do with him. Will the woman save him from prison or will he be acused of the fire and lose his life, his family and his true love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Main Character

    Love the story of Lucky and the next two in the series are great as well. Def. would suggest reading-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed in the sad event in the end.

    I read romance novels because I love happy endings. If I wanted sadness I could get that from real life. Although I love the family in this book the tragic event that happens to a character (not a lead character) just broke my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sooooo sexy Lucky!

    Just finished reading it again. And what made me visit Lucky again? As the song says -- "what a man, what a man, what a man"!!! There's just something about this devil-may-care hunk that can keep you glued to the pages. Lucky is one of those characters you never forget! This book never dates, Lucky's keeping it fresh year after year. I highly recommend the rest of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    Totally awesome!

    This book held my interest like all of Sandra Brown's books do. I read the entire hardback book in a day and a half. The characters were real, made me feel like I was one of them. I can't wait to purchase Chase and Sage when they come out in hardback. More, more, more, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Had to force myself to finish it

    This is only the second Sandra Brown book I've read, and I now remember why I hadn't made an attempt to read anything of hers for so long. While the story itself was OK, Ms. Brown's writing style is stale and old fashioned. I have the other 2 books in this trilogy but highly doubt I'll read them. My mother-in-law likes Sandra Brown so I'm sure I'll be able pawn these books off on her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Lucky, Lucky

    Lucky Tyler stopped at a local bar to unwind and forget his troubles when a damsel in distress catches his eye. Obviously, the stupid woman didn¿t know that being in a bar will give her a lot of unwanted attention, especially a Texas bar like the way he visited. Lucky was compelled to defend the woman simply because he assumed that if his sister was in a situation like this, someone would defend her. After defending the woman, he finds himself injured and bleeding, and the ungrateful twit leaves without a ¿Thank You¿. Now, clearly upset, Lucky follows the woman to her motel room so he could guilt her to say ¿Thank You¿ for all the fighting he did on her ungrateful behalf. Devon Haines didn¿t need a hero to save her, and she didn¿t need one to come knocking on her door. But while Lucky Tyler was injured, she knew the least she could do is tend to his wounds. But one thing leads to another and Lucky falls asleep in her bed, in her arms. But when the morning light shines though, he wakes to realize that she¿s nothing more then a memory when he finds her gone without a trace. Lucky finds out that while he slept in Devon¿s arms, someone was framing him for a crime, and she¿s his only alibi. But finding her isn¿t his only problem. --------------------------- Entertaining characters plunged into entertaining situations, Sandra Brown delivers a wonderful romance that is one of my absolute favorites. The Tyler family is explored nicely while the ending keeps it open for the next book in the series. Devon is a sweetheart of a character whom the reader will sympathize with. Lucky is a man what dreams are made of and his determination to find his alibi woman and then to convince her to testify for him will keep the pages turning. The other characters in the book will make you want to read the rest of the series. Sexy, fast-paced, and heartbreaking, this is the best romance series I have read in a long time. It¿s a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Oh My God what a good book

    You will not be disappointed in this book at all. But you will have to read the other two. Lucky is a well brought up man where you do not treat women badly. When he comes to the aid of a women in a run down bar and follows her to a hotel room to get a 'thank you' from her it because more of a chase to find out her real name when he is arrested for setting fire to his family business and needs her for an alibi. When he does find her he also finds out she's married to a man in jail. Will she be his alibi or let him hang by a very short rope? Read and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Just Plain Heartwretching!!!!!!!

    It's beautiful, it keeps you on your feet and definitely makes you cry. I read the book in one day it was so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2