Customer Reviews for

Texas Tides

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another good book

This is the second book of Jolene Faye's that I have read and yet again I loved it. I got drawn in to the characters and just couldnt put it down. This book is 280 pages long and a great read. Looking forward to my next book by this author.

posted by 9197952 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't even finish this book because the main kept doing eve

I couldn't even finish this book because the main kept doing everything
'softly'. It wouldn't have bothered me at all if the word wasn't used as
frequently as it was in the portion that I read. She laughed softly, she
smiled softly, she shook her head softly, she softly...
I couldn't even finish this book because the main kept doing everything
'softly'. It wouldn't have bothered me at all if the word wasn't used as
frequently as it was in the portion that I read. She laughed softly, she
smiled softly, she shook her head softly, she softly suppressed a grin.
It was ridiculous. I couldn't stand it. I so wanted to finish reading it
to see if it would be worth it. If you can get past the repetitive use
of a word to describe various actions and it doesn't annoy you too much
too stop reading, then you'd probably like it.

posted by Cassie-Bass on August 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    I couldn't even finish this book because the main kept doing eve

    I couldn't even finish this book because the main kept doing everything
    'softly'. It wouldn't have bothered me at all if the word wasn't used as
    frequently as it was in the portion that I read. She laughed softly, she
    smiled softly, she shook her head softly, she softly suppressed a grin.
    It was ridiculous. I couldn't stand it. I so wanted to finish reading it
    to see if it would be worth it. If you can get past the repetitive use
    of a word to describe various actions and it doesn't annoy you too much
    too stop reading, then you'd probably like it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Another good book

    This is the second book of Jolene Faye's that I have read and yet again I loved it. I got drawn in to the characters and just couldnt put it down. This book is 280 pages long and a great read. Looking forward to my next book by this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    sorely needs a ruthless editor

    It could probably be a fun beach-read romance, but it direly needs a ruthless editor who'd be willing to make the tough changes necessary. There are misspellings throughout the book. But continuity is her biggest hurdle. Characters are mentioned and brought in and out of the narrative without any introduction or explanation. It may have seemed logical to the author with the advantage of a broader perspective, but not to the reader. The scene changes are so sudden, jarring and [in some cases] inexplicable that I had to read some passages 2 and even 3 times in order to realize 'oh, it's the next day now' or 'oh, this is a memory, not part of the current conversation'. I'm still forcing myself to finish it, but it's a chore and that's not what reading, especially escapist reading, should need. Regretfully, I doubt I'd read anything else from this author.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Recommend

    AAAAHH!!! Very frustrating. Where are all the editors when you need one? This book needed two.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good story. A must read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Had so much potential

    But mid storyline the author lost focus, and then got tired of writing and gave a trite sappy ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Lame

    You get what you pay for although some free reads are better than others. This one wasn't great

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Needs more editing

    I tried my best to finish reading this book, I really did but the grammer mistakes and her abrupt change from one scene to the next just couldn't let me do it. I couldn't tell if I was still reading the same scene on the same day or a different scene on a different day. Characters are brought in without a backstory, its just too many small details that really need to get fixed before this author continues to write. I thinks she has great potential but she needs a better editor.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved all the twists & turns this story took! So glad she learned to trust & love again. Not sure if I could have held out as long as she did. Got a man with those good of hands, I would have been putty needing to be touched! Some pretty hot sex scenes, loved the rockin on the boat! Ended a little to abruptly. Would have liked to see that she dicovered motherhood is NOT a about biology! She should have known blood doesn't always make a family. Tanya is a HOOT, everyone should have a friend like her!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Just bad

    Couldn't finish the first chapter.




    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Bad

    I couldn't even finish the book because it is so bad. I read the part of the book and I was disgusted. I didn't even finish the first chapter. I think this book is messed up and I encourage people not to buy it even though it is free. It is a waste of space and has a horrible storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Liked

    I really liked this book....i love all the sappy stuff but wished it didnt end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Soft softly softened

    I would like to personally challenge this author to write an entire novella withot using any version of the word soft. I started counting how many times she used some form of the word per page. It was no fewer than three and actually eclipsed twelve on one page. It was not unusual for it to appear three or more times in one paragraph. The most trite usage was when she on more than one occasion referred to the MALE hero as having a softly curving shoulder, softly curving muscles, and soft skin. Also slow, slowly, slowest were over used in the extreme. And the run on sentences abounded linked together with numerous "as's" to the point the author forgot to actually include an active noun. I can't tell you how many times eyes"sighed", or awareness "spoke", or waves "ached". And as other reviewers pointed out, the transitions from scene to scene were confusing and nonesensical. It's sad because this author actually comes up with pretty decent premises but misses the mark on vocabulary, sentence structure, scene transitions, and basic grammar. I know this review has sounded harsh, but i offer this advice in all sincerity to the author: if you are truly passionate about being a writer, enroll in creative writing classes at your local community college, attend writing seminars, join an RWA chapter - all places where you will find teachers and mentors who will help you hone your craft.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Ok

    280 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good story

    Great series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    jcsmom

    While the storyline is endearing and shows potential, the editing that is necessary to make the story truly good is lacking. I'm finding it difficult to read because paragraph structure is missing, as are time breaks. I feel as if I'm proofreading my 5th graders' writing assignments.

    I agree with two previous reviews concerning overuse of "softly" as the descriptor in many instances and the deficiency in editing. I'm struggling through what could be a fun, easy, and really good read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Venus lol

    Just loved it ;) ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Texas girl here

    Hey im megan and im from texas im looking for peole who are mature and can still have alot of fun im 16 and im also single at the moment so :) guys yall have a chance ;) hehe well if you want to get to know me write back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I enjoyed the book.Thanks Jolene, I will be reading more of your

    I enjoyed the book.Thanks Jolene, I will be reading more of your work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved it .Can't wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4