Customer Reviews for

Texas Wildflowers: Four-in-One Collection

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I had the privilege to read yet another book by Anita Higman. I

I had the privilege to read yet another book by Anita Higman. I have had the chance to learn from her devotional Where God Finds You (and reviewed it here previously if you want to read the review to see for yourself if it’s something you would like to read), and now I...
I had the privilege to read yet another book by Anita Higman. I have had the chance to learn from her devotional Where God Finds You (and reviewed it here previously if you want to read the review to see for yourself if it’s something you would like to read), and now I just finished her four-in-one novella collection, Texas Wildflowers. Let me just say that Ms. Higman is multidimensional.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading about these four sisters and their very different paths to love. Each was a short story but Ms. Higman has a great gift of developing each sister so that their individual personalities, interests, uniqueness, and yes, even character flaws shine through. Some of them I was more naturally drawn to as their personalities were similar to mine and I could relate personally, but that was perfect because that’s how it is in real life. I learned valuable life lessons from each. They were imperfect people with big hearts who each taught me something subtly about the Christian walk.

Each story drew me in and each story had excitement that made me keep reading. I love how she gave an epilogue at the end of the first three stories so that I was able to see their “happily-ever-after.” I absolutely loved every one of the men that the sisters fell in love with and felt a part of the extended family as well, welcomed by their mom as though I had grown up in their neighborhood and could drop by for coffee whenever I pleased.

I loved reading these stories and was sad when they were over as I had made four friends. I can’t wait to see what else Ms. Higman writes. She does a great job with fiction and nonfiction alike!

posted by Cheri5 on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I typically save the reviews of romance novels for my wife, Ann.

I typically save the reviews of romance novels for my wife, Ann. I've made an exception this time around and read this one myself. I really wanted to see what it was like again. And my conclusion? Not bad.
I like the novella concept; it keeps things short and to the poi...
I typically save the reviews of romance novels for my wife, Ann. I've made an exception this time around and read this one myself. I really wanted to see what it was like again. And my conclusion? Not bad.
I like the novella concept; it keeps things short and to the point. There's not time for lots of extra word fodder when you've less than 100 pages for four books-in-one.
One thing I liked about Higman's book was the trust in God each of her main female characters had. When life brought some crucial decision-making needs or tension, each one would find strength in God.
One thing I wish I could see more of in any book out of this genre: more stress on redemption through Christ Jesus. I have yet to see any 'Christian romance novel' lay this out clearly. It's mentioned only briefly, it's skirted around, or the authors seem to think that faith in God equals the same thing as trusting Christ as the Savior of their souls and forgiver of their sins. I'm not sure why this seems to be the case. I know it's a topic of conversation/debate among authors, but if they master their craft I would think they could work in a clear gospel message without it becoming cheesy.
So that would be my challenge. At the same time, I don't see any 'harm' in these types of books. I can certainly commend Higman's 4-part novella to you.

posted by A_Cluttered_Mind on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    I had the privilege to read yet another book by Anita Higman. I

    I had the privilege to read yet another book by Anita Higman. I have had the chance to learn from her devotional Where God Finds You (and reviewed it here previously if you want to read the review to see for yourself if it’s something you would like to read), and now I just finished her four-in-one novella collection, Texas Wildflowers. Let me just say that Ms. Higman is multidimensional.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading about these four sisters and their very different paths to love. Each was a short story but Ms. Higman has a great gift of developing each sister so that their individual personalities, interests, uniqueness, and yes, even character flaws shine through. Some of them I was more naturally drawn to as their personalities were similar to mine and I could relate personally, but that was perfect because that’s how it is in real life. I learned valuable life lessons from each. They were imperfect people with big hearts who each taught me something subtly about the Christian walk.

    Each story drew me in and each story had excitement that made me keep reading. I love how she gave an epilogue at the end of the first three stories so that I was able to see their “happily-ever-after.” I absolutely loved every one of the men that the sisters fell in love with and felt a part of the extended family as well, welcomed by their mom as though I had grown up in their neighborhood and could drop by for coffee whenever I pleased.

    I loved reading these stories and was sad when they were over as I had made four friends. I can’t wait to see what else Ms. Higman writes. She does a great job with fiction and nonfiction alike!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I typically save the reviews of romance novels for my wife, Ann.

    I typically save the reviews of romance novels for my wife, Ann. I've made an exception this time around and read this one myself. I really wanted to see what it was like again. And my conclusion? Not bad.
    I like the novella concept; it keeps things short and to the point. There's not time for lots of extra word fodder when you've less than 100 pages for four books-in-one.
    One thing I liked about Higman's book was the trust in God each of her main female characters had. When life brought some crucial decision-making needs or tension, each one would find strength in God.
    One thing I wish I could see more of in any book out of this genre: more stress on redemption through Christ Jesus. I have yet to see any 'Christian romance novel' lay this out clearly. It's mentioned only briefly, it's skirted around, or the authors seem to think that faith in God equals the same thing as trusting Christ as the Savior of their souls and forgiver of their sins. I'm not sure why this seems to be the case. I know it's a topic of conversation/debate among authors, but if they master their craft I would think they could work in a clear gospel message without it becoming cheesy.
    So that would be my challenge. At the same time, I don't see any 'harm' in these types of books. I can certainly commend Higman's 4-part novella to you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    A must read!

    I started reading this book and was totally in love with it. Four sisters who happen to find love when they least expect it. All of the sisters believe in the power of prayer and in a higher being, wish all girls could read this book. Is there a follow up to their stories? I guess it would be best to let everyone come to their on conclusions. Loved the book and should be a must read for all teenage girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Texas Wildflowers Four-in-one collection Anita Higman ©2012 Barb

    Texas Wildflowers
    Four-in-one collection
    Anita Higman ©2012
    Barbour Publishers
    ISBN 978-1-61626-595-3 (print edition)
    349 pp. (ppbk)

    Four sisters are getting older and still single. However, in each of these four stories, one of the sisters meets a wonderful man and love develops. In these easy reading, delightful stories, the circumstances and paths of each sister are different. And the man each one meets is different—and right for that woman, as they eventually learn.

    For lovers of romance stories, these are most enjoyable. And for those like me who usually don’t read romance stories, these were fun to peruse.

    Anita Higman, the author, is an award-winning writer who has had thirty-two books published. She met her husband while sky-diving and they’ve been married thirty-three years. Their first kiss apparently was in the air as they sky-dived. Four sisters are getting older and still single. However, in each of these four stories, one of the sisters meets a wonderful man and love develops. In these easy reading, delightful stories, the circumstances and paths of each sister are different. And the man each one meets is different—and right for that woman, as they eventually learn.

    For lovers of romance stories, these are most enjoyable. And for those like me who usually don’t read romance stories, these were fun to peruse.

    Anita Higman, the author, is an award-winning writer who has had thirty-two books published. She met her husband while sky-diving and they’ve been married thirty-three years. Their first kiss apparently was in the air as they sky-dived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    This book is a Four-in-One Novella Collection. Each romance is a

    This book is a Four-in-One Novella Collection. Each romance is about one of the four McBride sisters. As each of the girls grew into adulthood, their father offered to set up each girl in the business or career of her choice. It is interesting to read about each girl and the choice she made.

    Not being a fan of novellas in general, I am always amazed by a few talented authors, who are able to write characters of depth in such a short stories. Anita Higman is one of these gifted authors. I very much enjoyed this collection of characters.

    It is hard to pick a favorite sister, because each is unique and has her own charming ways. Each tries to follow God’s leading in her life—some choices made more successfully than others. The heroes, also are distinctly different—each one endearing in his own way.

    The Texas setting makes a great backdrop for these fun romances. I recommend Texas Wildflowers to everyone who enjoys God-centered stories with happy endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything¿s Coming up Rosy Rosy¿s fairy tale has turned into a

    Everything’s Coming up Rosy
    Rosy’s fairy tale has turned into a nightmare when she’s left standing at the alter. It only gets worse when her best friend, Larson, returns to tell her she should have chosen him anyway.
    But Rosy’s not ready for this – or is she?
    Review: This was a cute story but very short and mellow. It moved too quickly for me from the alter to a new guy.
    Grade: B
    Ages: 15+

    For the Love of Violet
    Violet spends her first date with Basil reminding herself of his positive points and focusing on what life will be like with him at her side only to return home to an unknown and unexpected visitor. A visitor who wants to hire her to teach him to be more romantic. A visitor who has more depth than the deepest lake – unlike the date she just returned from.
    Review: I really enjoyed Violet. This was quite an adorable romance.
    Grade: B+
    Ages: 15+

    Forget Me Not Lilly
    Rubin McCall takes Lilly by surprise one afternoon in her Rent-a-Friend office by asking if he could hire her to help him get over a past romance. Little does he know that he may never get over his first love.
    Review: Absolutely Adorable!! I LOVED this one!
    Grade: A
    Ages: 15+

    Dreaming of Heather
    Integrity. Very few have that any longer but Heather just can’t do what her firm is requiring. She won’t lie or blur the lines with her clients. Walking out and living a life of complete honesty is all she can think to do.
    But maybe complete honesty isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.
    Review: I didn’t love this one as much as the others but it was still a sweet & fun romance.
    Grade: B
    Ages: 15+

    Overall Review:
    I really enjoyed this set of novellas. They were sweet, fun, and interesting. My only problem with them was how fast they moved. I think it gives a false impression that quick romances are the norm.

    More…
    Source: Barbour Books via Netgalley
    Author: Anita Higman
    Overall Grade: B+
    Series: Romancing America

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Texas Wildflowers by Anita Higman This book is four stories in o

    Texas Wildflowers by Anita Higman
    This book is four stories in one. Each section is about one of the McBride sisters finding love. It is packed full of great Christian fiction romance.
    Everything’s Coming up Rosy - Henry leaves Rosy at the alter. She returns home to Galveston to mend her broken heart. Can she find true love? Larson has been a great friend to Rosy but can true love really be found in a great friendship?
    For the Love of Violet - While Violet may own a business that sells romance she does not knows much about romance. Morgan Jones one of her online customers hires her to help him be more romantic. But will she be the one to learn something new. The first lesson on how to live romantically takes them on a hike in the Chisos Mountains. Maybe the lessons will turn into the real deal.
    Forget Me Not Lilly - Lilly doesn’t have much confidence in herself as a counselor because she missed classes helping her sick roommate but loves helping others. As a counselor she likes to treat her patients as she would treat a friend. Ruban McCall is a new patient of Lilly’s counselor business, and he seems familiar. They share a love for the outdoors. But how can she ethically date a patient?
    Dreaming of Heather - Heather quits her job because they wanted her to be dishonest. She vows to live being honest. She meets her handsome neighbor Evan when he comes to her home in a tuxedo asking her to accompany him to a wedding. Can she overcome the fact that he is a motivational speaker and believe in him? He encourages her to follow her long lost dream of being a photographer; will she find the courage to pursue her dream and Evan?
    These books are packed with humor and clean romantic. God has a unique plan for each sister to find love. The author Anita Higman did a wonderful job of telling each story with a twist as different as each sister. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Well Written stories of four Texas Wildflowers

    I enjoyed reading all the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    It was an easy read book. I just wish the author would have kept us informed on what was going on in the other sister's lives as the books progressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1