Customer Reviews for

Thank You, Mr. Falker

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For the troubled reader, or former troubled readers...

    This book nearly always brings me to tears. The autobiographical nature of the book, the difficulty so many children have with reading, and the portrayal of how cruel children can be all get me emotional when I read this to my class. I was a struggling reader as a child, though no one ever tormented me in a way similar to Patricia Polacco's main character. I always read this book to my class each year because of my experiences, and as a way of reassuring my students that we aren't all perfect at everything we do. I want all of my readers to feel comfortable that it's okay to struggle a bit with a text, and that they are supported in my class by all members of our learning community. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

    Thank You, Patricia Polacco for bringing a voice to so many who've struggled with reading. I'm so glad you decided to write. My own struggles inspired me to get my reading specialist credential, and a masters degree in teaching reading. I'm sure this book will inspire many more children and adults to stick with reading until it clicks for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Touching

    This book is about a girl who struggles with reading for longer than any teacher or parent would want to see. The illustrations show the emotions of the characters and are extremely colorful. This is a great read aloud book for children just starting out on their reading journey or children who have struggled or are still struggling. It is also a feel good book for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Mr. Falker is the best!

    Thank you Mr. Falker is about Patricia and Mr. Falker. In school Patricia has a problem. She didn't know how to read and the other kids were making fun of her. My favorite part was when she opens up a book and discovers she can read a paragraph by herself. I would recommend this book to teachers, students that struggle with reading, good readers, and fans of Patricia Polacco. This book is heart-warming. I give it 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Gotta Read!!!!

    I thought Thank you, Mr. Falker was a great book. I wouldn't say it was a terribly sad book because it was happy at the end. It was sad when Tricia thought she was dumb. It wasn't fair for people to hurt Tricia in such a way that it would make her feel dumb. At the time in the book it made me stop and think how it would make me feel if someone called me dumb. I know I would't like it. It was amazing how Mr. Falker could help Tricia, and make her be able to read. It is so cool how Patricia Polacco started out not being able to read, and how well she writes books now. I enjoyed reading Thank you, Mr.Falker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    An EXTRAODIARY Book

    I thought this book was extraordinary. It was sad but had some good parts too. The beginning of the book was a surprise because I learned that she could not read. The middle was very sad because Trisha found out she was different from the other kids. In the end, her fifth grade teacher, Mr. Falker, helper her with reading and she never forgot what her grandpa taught her about the honey even though he went up to the stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    A very touching book!

    I think this book was extraordinary!!! It was very powerful and it was good about describing her life as a child. Trisha, the girl in the story, had a disability so she couldn¿t read or write. Everybody teased her because of that, but later in the book she overcomes that disability with the help of her fifth grade teacher, Mr. Falker. I recommend this book to anybody that likes reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Outstanding!!!

    This is a great book! It gives a first hand account of what it is like for a child to go through school with a reading challenge like Dyslexia. I highly recommend it for all parents to read to their children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    I cried

    I did not expect to get emotional reading this children's book to my daughter that she got from her school library. If you remember that kid that was teased or were teased yourself you will feel for this girl and the triumphant end is totally surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    A childhood classic for the new generation...

    A girl in my class two years ago read this book to our sixth grade class and I fell in love with it! It was really inspirational! I think that even though this is a picture book, It is as strong as the thickest novel! It really has an amazing message too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Worth the Read

    Patricia Polacco is a master. Her stories always strike a chord in my heart, but this is especially touching as a fictionalized account of Patricia's own shame and struggle with learning disabilities. Another theme of this book not to be overlooked is the devastation of childhood bullying. A must for teachers, but wonderful for any reader of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Where's the editor?

    As most people have mentioned, this book is powerful and moving. A former teacher myself, I see the value of telling a story about learning disabilities and how good teachers can help students overcome them. But with that said, the writing still isn't very good. There are many awkward passages, and Patricia Polacco immediately dates the book by setting it when it happened, however many years ago that was. Just because it's autobiographical doesn't mean it can't be modernized to appeal more strongly to today's children. The dialogue is also badly forced and rarely sounds natural. So, a mixed review is appropriate. The story is worth four or five stars, but the words themselves are worth one or two. That's a shame, because this could have been an immediate classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Great Teacher Book

    This is an outstanding book. My student teacher's last day with my class, we read Thank You Mr.Falker. He started to cry.I just really really love this book. Go to the library and check this book out. Hopefuly you will buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    Good

    It was good. I enjoyed this book through the eyes of my son Ben--inspirational!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    awsome

    wen i was in 5th grade we had a librarian come to our school and read to us wen she brought out the book and i saw the cover i thought omg wat does she think she is doing we are in the 5th grade not 1st and then wen i heard her read it i started to cry. U have to check out this book it is awsome. and also dont judge a book by its cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Thank you, Patricia Polacco

    On one of my mother's numerous visits, she insisted that we go to Barnes and Noble because I HAD to read this book by Patrica Polacco. She dragged me to the kids section (I am now 21 years old), sat me down, and stood over me while I read it. Well, the tears started to flow! The universality of her story is incredible. It applies to all ages and can inspire those having difficulty reading and those who take advantage of their skill. I have always found joy in the worlds that books create, and Thank You, Mr. Falker captures that joy vividly. Thank you, Patricia Polacco for writing this inspirational tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Unbelievable

    This book was given to me by my daughters principal to read. She warned me, yet I still was unprepared for the tears that I would shed. When the little girl makes it to 4th grade and is still unable to read it is heartbreaking, then when she moves and meets an amazing teacher that works with her and teaches her to read, it is heartwarming. This book was so so moving that I recommend it for anyone of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    Inspiration to both kids and adults

    In Patricia Palacco's Thank You, Mr. Falker the author created a story that was very heart touching. This story was one that many regardless of age could make a personal connection too. The story triggered feelings of helplessness, sadness, frustration,hope, and happiness amongst many other feelings. I found that i was able to make a persoanl connection to this story because i have had many struggles in my life that i have overcome through the guidance of believing and also support of family and friends. This story helped me to realize how important my role as a teacher in the lives of each student is. We the teachers are the molders of our Lawyers, Doctors, Presidents, Vice President, and the list goes on and on.... (Teachers Role- is just not a respected profession even though we wear many different hats in the lives of these kids.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    Patricia is an awesome writer.

    This book was read to me and the 2nd through 3rd grade staff of my school. As a teacher, myself, I feel she has captured the true essence of teaching and caring. I must say, I cried. It is a great read aloud book and one that must be added to your collection at school and at home. This one's a keeper!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    Great Staff Development Book

    What a wonderful book to read to your teachers! The story of a teacher who makes a difference in the life of a struggling student. My staff loved the book - and now it will be sold out at the bookstores near our school! Try it, you'll enjoy the story for a long time to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2