Customer Reviews for

Thank You for All Things

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kring is my new favorite author of the summer.

    This story is delightful, funny, serious, and engaging. I couldn't wait to share this book with family and friends. Kring makes the family dynamics of the McGowans relatable even if the family is nothing like your own. Through the story, it becomes apparent how the people in our lives, whom we care about, help form who we become and how we behave. Three cheers and five stars for this charming read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You must read this book!

    "Thank You for All Things" by Sandra Kring is a must-read for anyone who likes touching, thought-provoking literature that will help you reflect and make you think. The characters are colorful, funny, and relatable, and the story keeps you going all the way through. It gave me a deeper appreciation of family, friends, and healing our past. Sandra Kring has a special talent for writing children's characters in a very real, honest, and genuine way without being patronizing or making them seem like "little adults". She allows you to get in the mind of a young girl and understand things from her perspective, with dignity and humor. Set in rural Wisconsin, it's a book that anyone from a small town (or who's visited a small town) can relate to. Our book club read this book as a selection, and we universally enjoyed it. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of Ms. Kring's special offering today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GOOD ONE!

    This is a story of forgiveness and understanding. It also explores the friction between a mother's need to protect her children and a child's need to know and understand. A good one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful story

    A truly wonderful story of family trying to resolve issues, one of them being young Lucy looking for her father. Her ingenuity is to be admired, and her quest for answers unfolds a mystery at the center of the story. I look forward to reading the other books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    A superb family drama

    Eleven years old twins Lucy and Milo McGowan are both brilliant with IQs off the charts. They live with their single mom in Chicago, but whereas Lucy is curious about people, Milo is indifferent. Her inquisitiveness, some might say nosiness, has led her to declare that she will be a psychologist and a dying need to know about her unknown father, paternal grandfather and anything involving her heritage Milo couldn¿t care less about the family tree.------------- When her mom learns that her father is dying, she and her two kids travel to her hometown of Timber Falls, Wisconsin. Lucy quickly realizes her mom loathes her father and came only to help her mother. Meanwhile Lucy begins to investigate her family especially the estrangement between her angry grandfather and her relationship phobic mother. She even begins to love the crusty grump although as she learns more about the abuse of the past she finds it hard to care about him. ------------ This superb family drama hooks the audience from the moment mom and the twins go to Wisconsin. Lucy with her conclusions and eye opening revelations makes the tale work. Readers will enjoy this fine intelligent contemporary as Sandra Kring digs deep into the wider impact on others of the estrangement between a daughter and her father mostly through the eyes of the granddaughter.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Wonderful read!

    Such an engaging story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    This book touched upon how you can always learn something from sad situation. I liked how it was written from the perspective of an almost teenage girl who is very smart but still finds room to learn about life's important messages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Thank You

    Thank you for all things, a novel about love, loss, abuse and forgiveness. Sandra Kring is a great writer that brings the characters to life and each story seems to reveal a bit of ourselves. Times throughout you will cry and most certainly laugh. Story told from by an eleven year, Lucy, that struggles to find her roots, even if they are not as she has imagined them to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    Every once in awhile, you need that book that brings you back to reality. Something that reminds you of the importance of family, friends, and most of all the love that those relationships bring. For me, this book was it. I wasn't sure about such a serious topic in the voice of a twelve year old. But, maybe that's what makes this story work. Since she is a child, she sees and understand things differently than the adults do. And I think she is part of the reason that all the horrible things of the past are brought to the surface. By coming to terms with all of those events, the family is able to start the process of healing. Something I think the rest of them wondered if it was ever a possibility. The way the events of the past were laid out was bittersweet and left me in awe that this family was able to survive. I think I will be searching out more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Great read.

    I liked the balance between setting in Cambridge, history, and suspense. Kept me guessing throughout. Looking forward to reading more of Ms. Jenoff's works.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Thank You For All Things

    A gem of a book! Could not put it down, once I started reading it. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has ever had children. The main character's insight into other people's feelings and everyday events was fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2