Customer Reviews for

Thank You for Arguing: What Aristotle, Lincoln, and Homer Simpson Can Teach Us about the Art of Persuasion

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent guide on argumentation for todays world

Don't go into this book expecting A Treatise on Argumentation, or a Idiots guide to Rhetoric, but something somwhere in the middle and you will be pleased that you took to the time to read this book. The Pop-references fit in nicely with the latin roots that are usually...
Don't go into this book expecting A Treatise on Argumentation, or a Idiots guide to Rhetoric, but something somwhere in the middle and you will be pleased that you took to the time to read this book. The Pop-references fit in nicely with the latin roots that are usually hidden off ot the site. With the help of stories, humor, and common conversations, the text was well-rounded and fun to read. There is just something nice about reading a book that entertains you while it makes you a little smarter.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You're smarter than your family

400 pages of learning how to outwit your wife and daughter. This author really, REALLY thinks he's smart.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Removes the mystery from rhetoric

    I recommend this book if you don't know anything about rhetoric but you need to learn to be convincing. General business users will enjoy the readable and lively style. Great read for an airplane trip. Full of tips and tricks to get you off the ground, and remove the mystery, from the art of rhetoric.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Excellent guide on argumentation for todays world

    Don't go into this book expecting A Treatise on Argumentation, or a Idiots guide to Rhetoric, but something somwhere in the middle and you will be pleased that you took to the time to read this book. The Pop-references fit in nicely with the latin roots that are usually hidden off ot the site. With the help of stories, humor, and common conversations, the text was well-rounded and fun to read. There is just something nice about reading a book that entertains you while it makes you a little smarter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    One great book

    This is a difinate must have for any and all debaters or those looking for a new way to argue and win. It is a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very useful book

    I use this book as the text for my Art of Persuasion and Advanced Art of Persuasion classes taught in corporate environments. I've ordered well over 1000 copies with the vast majority of students responding very positively. The author's character does indeed infuse the book with personal family stories and he has a liberal bent that is quite clear. However his explanation and exposition of rhetoric and the persuasive arts easily outweigh the few moments of eye-brow raising as he invites us into the family. People who have not responded to this book have tended to be more conservative types who raise their eyebrows when they see words like "sex" and "seduction" in a business book. Big deal.

    If you're interested in making a better impression at the workplace while at the same time learning how to protect your children from the influences of advertising, buy this book. I also tried using the Art of WOO in my classes and it was a dud. I returned to Thank you for arguing as my text.

    A last bit of rare praise: a half dozen or so of my students have given this book to their teenagers to read...and they've actually read it. My wife and daughter have both read it - and our arguments have greatly improved!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    You're smarter than your family

    400 pages of learning how to outwit your wife and daughter. This author really, REALLY thinks he's smart.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Mwahaha ;)

    Now I can manipulate everyone! Thanks for sharing your powers of persuasion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Fine introduction to rhetoric

    Good for a basic overview of the subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    Ebook

    Beware ebook versions since these only work with nook apparently. Ipod users, you need wifi to sign into nook. So if you don't have wifi access this might just be useless. Apple's iBook's will say faulty, and it wont be readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    great read

    read it 4 times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    . . . but not with Deborah Kerr 'p.23 of the paperback'. Ooops! That was Donna Reed starring opposite Jimmy Stewart in the Frank Capra classic. But I'm sure others have already pointed this out. No argument---just the facts. Other than that, a good read so far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Thank You for Arguing: What Aristotle, Lincoln, and Homer Simpson Can Teach Us about the Art of Persuasion

    People: Don't blow your money on this waste of paper. Nothing about the author's background qualifies him as an arguing expert. If anything, with all the lawsuits in his past, he's a very poor arguer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Thank You for Arguing: What Aristotle, Lincoln, and Homer Simpson Can Teach Us about the Art of Persuasion

    I thought this book would teach you how to argue, but it was a social history of rhetoric, using gigantic ten-dollar words. I thought maybe the writer was really smart, but then I went to thankyouforarguing.com and realize that he's just an arrogant person who thinks this is the most important book ever, and he loves the way he looks because ... well, check it out for yourself. The site is awesome from a design standpoint. But Heinrich is way too arrogant for my taste.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2