Customer Reviews for

Thank You for Smoking

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    A Good Read

    Nick Naylor, the protagonist in Thank You for Smoking, is the kind of character you love and hate; you don't like what he does, but you sympathize with him and want him to be happy. I always think the sign of a good writer is someone who can make an unlikeable character a likeable character at the same time. I would say this book is for a reader who is looking for an interesting, somewhat informative novel that focuses on the cigarette and tobacco industry, some of the lies they tell, and sales and marketing in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    so funny

    this book had me laughing every step of the way. it follows a tobbaco lobbyist doing the tasks given to him like lying to millons on larry king show or bribing a man dying of lung cancer from tobacco. it keeps you interested every step of the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Truth vs. What you'd rather believe

    Not as awesomely mind-blowing as I expected it to be but very good. There was a typical 80s conspiracy novel/Disclosure style to it with the good-guy-and-his-woman-friend-he ¿gets-close-to-and/or-hooks-up-with-vs.-the-evil-boss-and-his-squeeze- who-tries-to- seduce-good-guy archetypes. His vocabulary was just right as far as mood and context. I really loved his word play and the sarcasm was awesome. The scene where tobacco lobbyist Nick Naylor finishes telling people, with a flourish, that tobacco is in no way harmful, then picks up his son for a movie marathon and lights up in the living room only to have his son admonish ¿Daaaaad¿¿ and he, defeated, goes on the terrace to smoke instead? Awesome. Totally caught the hypocrisy of the tobacco situation perfectly. Mind you I did think Nick was a bit of a dumb slut for reasons that will be clear if you read the book. My response was ¿Seriously, dude?¿ That was another aspect that reminded me of Disclosure a bit. I loved the way Nick kept referring to himself as a Nazi. I thought it was well-used and made Nick just sympathetic enough to be interesting. As much as reviewers said this ¿laughed at the sanctimony of their do-gooding opponents¿, I didn¿t really see it. I thought the novel more pointed toward extremity and established that everyone knows what the right answer really is with ¿sensitive issues¿ politics on the issues are a matter of fashion and neither side really has the right answer. I also loved the emphasis on selective ignorance the tobacco corporate heads bemoaning the fact that ¿now everyone wants to be so d**n healthy¿ and his insistence that they can continue to lie about tobacco products not being dangerous ¿it¿s just marketing!¿ and the risky likelihood of getting to the point where everyone¿s differing agenda makes them oblivious to the difference between the truth and lies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is truly amazing. The writing style and smart, political humor is amazingly written! Nick Naylor is my idol, he truly represents everything that i ever want to become. He is such a perfect little backstabber! It Is a must read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Thank You!!!

    I'm a big fan of satire and sarcasm so Christopher Buckley was right up my alley. I'm also big on media studies so I really enjoyed reading about Nick Naylor and the blantant lies he tells regarding smoking. It's really embarassing that our society believes everything it's told... but hey, it made for a very entertaining novel. I liked the details about modern society (of couse meaning like 1995 when the book was published). I haven't seen the movie but I kind of feel like it couldn't top the book. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Must Read

    I have yet to see the movie, but this book is wonderfully entertaining. I loved every bit of it. It was funny, sassy, and just plain wonderful. I actually wanted Nick to come out on top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Outstanding Novel

    I read Thank You For Smoking and I found it to be an entertaining novel with good amounts of black humor. The novel follows a lobbyist who's talent is talking and uses it to it's full potentional whenever possible. Buckley uses a mesh of black humor while at the same time writes a interesting story of backstabbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Well-deserved indictment of tobacco industry

    A romping, satirical and well-deserved indictment of the tobacco industry and its media spinsters, featuring a few real-life celebs in selected scenes to give it a nice touch of authencity. A must-read in any no-smoking lounge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Maybe I Didn't Laugh Out Loud on Every Page...but.

    I certainly did laugh out loud quite a bit. In actuality, it was probaby too short and time could have been spent building on Nick's relationship with the MOD squad. The deft ability of the protagonist to make lemonade out of lemons coupled with irreverance make this a very good, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Pretty Good-Make sure you skim

    The story of this book is excellent, but in many sections of the book it becomes very slow(I even skipped pages sometimes!) Definitely worth buying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    laughter and more laughter

    the more you read the more you begin to think about how funny America is and how it really works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    What would you do to pay the mortgage?

    Buckley does an excellent job using real-life dialogue. The characters are so hilariously stereo-typical that you'll probably bump into one of them today. The book is a laugh-out-loud read and makes you think twice about what you would do to pay the mortgage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Hilarious

    Every page contains a five minute fit of laughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1