BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thankless in Death (In Death Series #37)

Average Rating 4.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Love the j d robb series

J d robb series are full of suspense and romance and you just can't put the book down highly recommended

posted by 2007945 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Old-Style J.D. Robb

THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this ser...
THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this series that toned down the violence somewhat, I was unpleasantly surprised that Robb had suddenly dialed it back up to maximum.

Also, Robb (a pseudonym for Nora Roberts) is again lazy about detail. One non-spoiler example: Robb makes a point of developing the parents of the killer and their friends as Jewish (which was a welcome novelty in her books). But then there is mention that the victims' families are planning a memorial for them on Saturday. Some quick Internet research would have yielded the factoid that even secular Jews would not schedule a funeral for Saturday, if for no other reason than no rabbi would officiate at one on Shabbat. (And these characters are depicted as caring about their traditions and heritage).

For the most part, THANKLESS is a competent installment in the series with some nice moments (such as the return of Nixie from SURVIVOR, one of my favorites in the series). But, for whatever reason, this installment feels like it was dialed in.

posted by 2191851 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Love the j d robb series

    J d robb series are full of suspense and romance and you just can't put the book down highly recommended

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Old-Style J.D. Robb

    THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this series that toned down the violence somewhat, I was unpleasantly surprised that Robb had suddenly dialed it back up to maximum.

    Also, Robb (a pseudonym for Nora Roberts) is again lazy about detail. One non-spoiler example: Robb makes a point of developing the parents of the killer and their friends as Jewish (which was a welcome novelty in her books). But then there is mention that the victims' families are planning a memorial for them on Saturday. Some quick Internet research would have yielded the factoid that even secular Jews would not schedule a funeral for Saturday, if for no other reason than no rabbi would officiate at one on Shabbat. (And these characters are depicted as caring about their traditions and heritage).

    For the most part, THANKLESS is a competent installment in the series with some nice moments (such as the return of Nixie from SURVIVOR, one of my favorites in the series). But, for whatever reason, this installment feels like it was dialed in.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Again, excellent book. I don't know how she does it book after b

    Again, excellent book. I don't know how she does it book after book after book. Sat down and read it one sitting.  Recommend to anyone who loves JD Robb/Nora Roberts. Now to just until the next one comes out.......

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I was very disappointed in this series' latest book.  I've been

    I was very disappointed in this series' latest book.  I've been reading this series from the beginning and in the last couple of books the characters don't seem to be going anywhere.  Roarke and Eve are rehashing their childhoods in every episode.  Eve doesn't seem to be maturing into the wife that Roarke needs.  Still fighting dressing properly, how ridiculous!   I'm not sure that I will be reading the next unless their is more depth than this recently book.  Sorry Nora, I love your books! and have read every one!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    One of the better books in this series.

    Lots of emotion in this one. I enjoyed it. And Eve bought Peabody a present.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    A Dying Series

    Only for die hard I'll read anything by J D Robb fans. I have read and own all the In Death books and have been noticing a downward trend in the last few books but this one really hits rock bottom. Although set in the future except for mention of glides, androids etc as far as the story is concerned it could be present day New York. The strong point of all the In Death books has been the interplay of characters and the continued development of the characters such as Peabody and McNabb, Charles and Louise. This is no longer the case and the books have become boring police procedurals. There is of course the obligatory sex scenes with Eve and Roarke( these have gotten really old really fast) and the gruesome crime scenes. Ms Roberts really needs to either end this series or perk it up with interesting new characters. Don't believe I'll be buying any more of these books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Sorry Nora-- have gotten predictable!

    I own all J. D. Robb books, including the novellas. This series used to be my favorite for tge ages, including James Bond, Sherlock Holmes, etc. However, Nora has gotten entirely predictable. Only between 1/2-3/4 of the material is new. The remainder is cut & paste from preceding books regarding Eve's childhood tramas, Roark's childhood trama, Roark's previous life of crime, etc. Also, Eve's character is in her early 30's but never matures. She balks at dressing like an adult, allowing anyone to even hint that she's "Mrs. Roark," performing "wifely" duties other than in the bedroom (why did she agree to marriage?), etc. At first Eve's quirks were believable, even endearing, but as time passes, most people mature & accept what life has thrown their way & move on. Eve only grows more selfish & childish. The only thing she accepts is Roark's constant help in closing her cases. She grows more childish in all other adpects of her relationship with Roark outside the bedroom.

    Also, Nora wants her readers to believe that Roark is the ultimate man, i.e., rich, movie star looks, has the"Midas" touch, well honed combat skills, impectible taste, immense ego, etc.; yet, continues to be unruffled by a wife who consistently refuses to verbally acknowledge he is her husband; if accidently is referred to as Roark's wife, immediately corrects her title to, " Lieutenant Dallas," even in social introductions. Get real. If EVe doesn't do some fast growing up, I'm going to quit buying & reading this series. It's getting boring as well as predictable.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    The same Nora Roberts, getting tired of this series as each book

    The same Nora Roberts, getting tired of this series as each book becomes less and less entertaining. it seems Nora just slapped this one together, plot not very original,same characters, the book was predictable, characters stilted and I read a lot of her book, but will think twice next time before continuing in this series. Perhaps it's time to give it up Nora on this series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Having problems with this one

    I have read everyone of this series, but this one is bothering me tremendously and the cruelty and torture is mentioned in greater detail than is normal even for this series. That's saying something considering the bizarre and revolting criminals we've seen in this series. Normally can't put them down but having to take long breaks between this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Amazing

    The range of emotions this writer manages to evoke in this book are amazing. Love this series and these characters so much im glad this is more than romance although i am constantly thrilled with the way the very married lead characters marriage is kept central and important...looking forward to many more to come!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    As usual another great JD Robb novel!

    As usual another great JD Robb novel!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Loved it

    A great read as always

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    JD Robb delivers another winner in the In Death series.  

    JD Robb delivers another winner in the In Death series.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I enjoyed the book. It was fun to read, and I am sorry that I fi

    I enjoyed the book. It was fun to read, and I am sorry that I finished it within two days of buying the audiobook. I have been a fan of this series for over a decade now, and I enjoy the relationships 
    in the series. I will re-read the other books, and maybe buy more audiobooks. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    I absolutely loved this book. Read it in under 24 hours. Had if all; action family emotion. This has just been added go my list of favorite In Death books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    love the series, enjoyed the book, and now I can't wait for the

    love the series, enjoyed the book, and now I can't wait for the next! Write faster!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Best one yet

    So much better than the last one

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Another Winner!

    I continue to be enthralled with J. D. Robb's (Nora Roberts)additions to her "In Death" series. The characters and stories remain fresh, even after all this time. Can't wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Excellent read

    J. D. ROBB never disappoints. I'm look forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Thankless In Death

    An excellent story. An In Death series book is as always exciting, filled with suspense, whit, love, and above all characters new and old that you to want to know. I cannot wait for the next book in the series. Keep them coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15