Customer Reviews for

Thankless in Death (In Death Series #37)

Average Rating 4.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Love the j d robb series

J d robb series are full of suspense and romance and you just can't put the book down highly recommended

posted by 2007945 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Old-Style J.D. Robb

THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this ser...
THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this series that toned down the violence somewhat, I was unpleasantly surprised that Robb had suddenly dialed it back up to maximum.

Also, Robb (a pseudonym for Nora Roberts) is again lazy about detail. One non-spoiler example: Robb makes a point of developing the parents of the killer and their friends as Jewish (which was a welcome novelty in her books). But then there is mention that the victims' families are planning a memorial for them on Saturday. Some quick Internet research would have yielded the factoid that even secular Jews would not schedule a funeral for Saturday, if for no other reason than no rabbi would officiate at one on Shabbat. (And these characters are depicted as caring about their traditions and heritage).

For the most part, THANKLESS is a competent installment in the series with some nice moments (such as the return of Nixie from SURVIVOR, one of my favorites in the series). But, for whatever reason, this installment feels like it was dialed in.

posted by 2191851 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    The same Nora Roberts, getting tired of this series as each book

    The same Nora Roberts, getting tired of this series as each book becomes less and less entertaining. it seems Nora just slapped this one together, plot not very original,same characters, the book was predictable, characters stilted and I read a lot of her book, but will think twice next time before continuing in this series. Perhaps it's time to give it up Nora on this series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Wow. The last few books in this series have been misses for be,

    Wow. The last few books in this series have been misses for be, except for New York to Dallas. I don' t know what it is but they are definitely different in writing style and tone than the books earlier in the series. I won't buy anymore of these titles. I'll wait to check them out of the library. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    I have faithfully followed this series since it began (re-readin

    I have faithfully followed this series since it began (re-reading books over and over and over) and love the characters JD Robb created. I've noticed some changes in the past few books but this one was a massive disappointment. There was NO development in any of the characters (especially Eve & Roarke), none whatsoever (who doesn't change in some way when in a relationship??) - it was like they've hit a plateau or something, it was extremely distressing. I will end up doing what I've never done with a book from this series, donating it to the local library because it doesn't belong with the others that I enjoy so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    2060?

    The story is set in the year 2060 which took away my pleasure of reading. I don' t get all the modern lingo. No suspense since you immediately know who the murderer is. I probably will not finish this book. I have read better from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    George the inanimate object

    No. No. Nooooo!!!!! D:

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    not recommended

    Really bad! This book contains no mystery, the killer is know from the very start. The book describes his torturous killings in great detail, violence for the sake of violence!
    I only read about 1/5th of the book, it ended up in the trash, first time I have ever thrown book away, it felt good to do it!
    I see the authors name on many book covers at the book store, now I know to stay away from any book with that name!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    I was so disappointed in this book! I'm a huge fan I have all th

    I was so disappointed in this book! I'm a huge fan I have all these books in hardback and on nook. The last two seem like another writer wrote them. In this one I truly felt like one of the deaths truly was caused by Dallas. The villain was boring as well. All around badly done!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    A real disappointment! I've read all of the In Death series and

    A real disappointment! I've read all of the In Death series and this one makes me think it should end if this is what we can expect in the future. We knew the killer from the start so no real detective or deductive work involved. Also like others I find Dallas' lack of development frustrating. Robb should put in a little more effort or just put it to bed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    definitely not "thankful" and definitely "hopeful" that Dallas returns to form in the future

    If you're not a fan of the series and this is the first book you've read, it depends on what type of book you enjoy whether or not you'll like it - it's not a bad read, just not a Dallas/Roarke and Co. read, but I warn you that if you like this book, you might be disappointed in earlier Dallas books as you won't find the same style in any of the previous. That said, I was waiting, as always, for the next in my favourite series...and I still am because this was not the Eve Dallas I've read...from the moment Eve Dallas, super-intuitive cop of the future, *misses* something so basic that even I was saying "well, next step is...", this book left a great deal to be desired for me - each of the characters seemed two steps off from their usual selves, as if even they weren't particularly interested in this book. I won't give away any storyline by detailing the "miss", but if you're a fan of the series, I would imagine you'll not only spot the moment, but will also feel the same disbelief, as well as a lack of involvement that pervades this book. And if you're one of those of us who have been there from the start, you're probably hoping, as I am, that the "old" flavour of this series returns in the next and that this was a rare miss. Except for addressing one question (again, no spoilers, you'll know if you've read the series what the question is), this did not "build" on any relationship or add anything to any character as every other book in the series. And that lack of development combined with the lack of interaction and rapport that has made this series so enjoyable made this a very sad Death for me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Can't even finish this book.  I've read every one in the series

    Can't even finish this book.  I've read every one in the series and all of Roberts' previous books. 
    Way too much graphic detail in this one and not enough suspense as you know the killer from the beginning.  
    If this is where the series is going, maybe it's time to end it.  Also, I agree with another reviewer in that Eve and 
    Roarke need to move to a different level in their relationship. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I have been enjoying the Roberts/Robb books for many, many years

    I have been enjoying the Roberts/Robb books for many, many years, but this one is just too gruesome to complete reading. I certainly won't be buying any more books in the her Death Series after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Starkit

    She cried. Knowing her father was right.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Not too happy

    This is the first time I bought a book I could not add to my library. I don't care to load books directly to my nook because I don't like to have too many books on it at a time. I like to pick and choose. I would have waited for this book to come out in paperback and bought it that way if I had understood. Oh well. No more nook books for me

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1