Customer Reviews for

Thankless in Death (In Death Series #37)

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Love the j d robb series

J d robb series are full of suspense and romance and you just can't put the book down highly recommended

posted by 2007945 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Old-Style J.D. Robb

THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this ser...
THANKLESS IN DEATH is a throwback to Robb's early IN DEATH books in sheer gratuitous gruesomeness. The murders are unremittingly stomach-churning, although the victims are developed well (and not just convenient bodies). After quite some time of installments in this series that toned down the violence somewhat, I was unpleasantly surprised that Robb had suddenly dialed it back up to maximum.

Also, Robb (a pseudonym for Nora Roberts) is again lazy about detail. One non-spoiler example: Robb makes a point of developing the parents of the killer and their friends as Jewish (which was a welcome novelty in her books). But then there is mention that the victims' families are planning a memorial for them on Saturday. Some quick Internet research would have yielded the factoid that even secular Jews would not schedule a funeral for Saturday, if for no other reason than no rabbi would officiate at one on Shabbat. (And these characters are depicted as caring about their traditions and heritage).

For the most part, THANKLESS is a competent installment in the series with some nice moments (such as the return of Nixie from SURVIVOR, one of my favorites in the series). But, for whatever reason, this installment feels like it was dialed in.

posted by 2191851 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    JD Robb delivers another winner in the In Death series.  

    JD Robb delivers another winner in the In Death series.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I enjoyed the book. It was fun to read, and I am sorry that I fi

    I enjoyed the book. It was fun to read, and I am sorry that I finished it within two days of buying the audiobook. I have been a fan of this series for over a decade now, and I enjoy the relationships 
    in the series. I will re-read the other books, and maybe buy more audiobooks. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Thankless In Death

    An excellent story. An In Death series book is as always exciting, filled with suspense, whit, love, and above all characters new and old that you to want to know. I cannot wait for the next book in the series. Keep them coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    highly recommended

    JD Robbs characters are funny, unique,and very entertaining. There is plenty of suspense and action, but also, good descriptive scenes. I look forward to each book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Very good read

    I've read a number of customer reviews about this book and one or two stated Eve needed to grow up . I disagree heartily; after reading this installment I do see where Eve is making progress. What these readers don't realize is this series has only covered just about 2 or 3 years. I find Eve is coming into her own and look forward to future stories. The only complaint I have is to see more of her personal life. I miss Mavis most of all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    In comparison to the rest of the In Death series, this one comes

    In comparison to the rest of the In Death series, this one comes off as very mild.  Between the Thanksgiving preparations for Roark’s family’s arrival from Ireland and Lt. Dallas’s investigation into a murder spree being perpetrated by someone Eve identifies early on, everything is fairly predictable.  But I still thoroughly enjoyed it.




    As far as villains go, Jerry Reinhold is pretty lame.  He leaves his crime scenes with so much obvious evidence that he could have just left a note saying he did it.  What made the story interesting was how long he managed to stay just a few steps ahead of Lt. Dallas and the Scooby gang.




    The best part of this story that I really enjoyed are the scenes involving Roark’s family, especially the football match in the front yard.  The commendation ceremony was a wonderful addition too.  As always, the interactions between Dallas and Peabody are a hoot, especially when it involves girly things.




    Some things I missed not having in this story were major fights with Summerset, no major interactions with Mavis and Bella.  No Trina either, much to my disappointment.  Peabody and McNab were a lot tamer too, unfortunately.




    Although many of the elements from this series that I have come to love and expect were not in this story and it is much tamer than previous installments, I still really enjoyed it.  I love seeing Eve and Roark evolve both as a married couple and as professional partners working cases together.  Their chemistry and banter get better with each book.  I would really like to see some character development with Summerset; perhaps a romance for him, even.  That could be a lot of fun.  I highly recommend this book and the entire series to fans of romantic suspense and police procedural thrillers.  The plots and characters draw the reader into their world for a visit and make it very hard for the reader to ever want to leave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Let me start by asking you: Who doesn¿t get sick to death of nag

    Let me start by asking you: Who doesn’t get sick to death of nagging?
    I sure know about a woman who had a never-ending list of criticisms and demands that made me want to disappear into a dark,
    swollen cloud somewhere, anywhere but being around her. I never seemed to get a break, even when I became an adult.
    Sad to say - but that actually happened to me and the constant nagger was my mother (God rest her soul).
    It does make a person want to shut the nagger’s mouth. What is it about a lot of women that want to whine and nag?
    Thank God I learned a long time ago to be the opposite of my mother.In this intriguing novel, “Thankless in Death” Jerald Reinhold didn’t think it was his fault he lost his job ...
    it wasn’t his fault he dropped a few thousand in Vegas and had debt piled up on his credit cards.
    His rich mother and father were his enablers by giving him the authority to do anything without having to face the consequences
    of his undesirable actions. The parents finally wise up and decide to quit making excuses for their adult son’s contemptible
    behavior, and finally refuse to help him. They kick him out and encourage him to be a man standing on his own two feet and
    doing the right thing for once in his life.One day, Jerry snaps - he stabs his mother to death when she was making lunch for him. He hadn’t planned to do it,
    but he picked up the knife she used to cut his sandwich and shoved it into her belly. In his sick mind - he loved the sound
    the blade made as he jammed the blade into her - over and over. He loved the look of shock on her face - the way her hands
    slapped weakly at him. Even after she fell to the floor and stopped moving - he continued stabbing her. When his father comes
    home he uses a baseball bat to bludgeon him to death.Can this very smart killer be stopped before he decides to take vengeance on everyone he thinks has wronged him?Jeannie Walker (Award-Winning Author) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    Disturbing, but good

    As usual, the criminal and his crimes are extremely unpleasant; but also, per usual, Dallas is more than up to the task, and her interaction with Peabody, Roarke, and the usual cast and crew, as well as Roarke's Irish relatives in town for Thanksgiving, make for an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good JD Robb book

    Liked it especially in the parts having to do with relationships. More graphic than previous ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Nari

    Wings sound pretty cool.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Not her best :(

    Well difinately not J.D.'s best work. Although I enjoyed knowing who the killer was in the beginning I just couldn't get into this book. I certainly hope she goes back to writing as before or I don't see me purchasing any more of her books. I'll just wait until my library purchases them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Enjoyable as always

    I love the regulars and it was a good story, although a bit unusual in that you knew who did it at the start. Not her best, but still enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Thank less a little below par

    Maybe it is just because I have read all 37 of the IN DEATH series but I am beginning to find them too predictable and repetitive. I still enjoy them, just not as much. I wish she would add some new running characters or make some changes in her formula to move things along a bit more. I still read through them in one setting but it takes a lot less time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    love all her books in this series!

    This was allot better than the last in this series. I think it is time for J.D. Robb to think about her having a baby and fitting more of the friends back into the series. Love her and her books. I love her writing as Nora Roberts too. I do recommend this series to anyone. I have collected the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Another great book from one of my favorite authors.

    It's nice to see Dallas warming to people. She has lost some of her hardness, except when it comes to murder. If you're a fan, you'll love it as much or more than her other books. It was nice to once again be involved in the lives of characters we've learn to care about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Solid book

    Enjoyable writing by Robb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I have read every one of J.D. Robb's books. They are always a qu

    I have read every one of J.D. Robb's books. They are always a quick read. I love the characters and the way the author has developed them throughout the series. Usually I am also enthralled by the plots. This time, however, I felt there was more violence than there needed to be. I would have been more satisfied with less. Nevertheless, still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    worth it

    One of the last books was short, missing half the people we look for, and seemed formulaic. Had me worried. THANKLESS isn't like that. This book has all the plot twists, characters, laughs we've come to love. Very satisfying, enjoyable read. I'd love to see a 600 page In Death adventure focusing much more on the characters. Thanks, Nora.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Always nice to visit with old friends.

    JD Robb , even after 36 previous novels, still delivers an entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Recommended

    Almost as good as previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3