BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thanks to My Mother

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    Thanks to My Mother!

    This book was absolutely amazing! I read it in a matter of two days because I just couldnt put it down. It's a great story of an eight year old girl named Susie Weksler, and her family and their struggles during the Holocaust. I am so interested in the history of the Holocaust and I have read many books about it, but never have I felt so much emotion while reading one as i did this book. It shows great strengths of a mother who is willing to do anyhting for her daughter so that she can survive, and I got out of it a great message, that no matter what, keep fighting through hard times, dont give up because in her case you can lose your life, and giving up will get you no where. I think that who ever is as interested in the Holocaust as me or anyone for that matter, should read this book because it really shows a great reality of what the Holocaust was like and what many children and families went through during this time. The concentration camps, starvation, forced labor, and brutality, and it makes you appreciate life and what we have and what we should be greatful for because compared to the life of these people in this book, and time, we have it so much easier. My rating is a 5!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    Wonderful Book

    This is a wonderful book. It gives a first hand account of the Holocaust through a young girl's eyes. Her mother helps her live through concentration camps, ghettos and loss of family members. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in World War II or the Holocaust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    A great book!!

    I think that thanks to my mother is a great book and i would recomend it to all!! If you are jewish then this book is a MUST read!! So to all who reads this rating please tell everyone you know and read this book!!! <(*_*)>

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    Excellent book!

    This book was excellent! I came across it without ever having heard of it, and I loved it! It tells the story of Susie Weksler, a Jewish girl living in Vilnius, Lithuania, during World War II. When the Nazis invade, she and her family are made to live in a ghetto. They are deported to concentration camps a couple of years later and Susie survives, because of her mother's bravery. I recommend this book very much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    I am in awe. I would like to say that I am the same kind of moth

    I am in awe. I would like to say that I am the same kind of mother as she is and I would do all the same things that she did.......but I can't because I was never in a situation where I had to make those kind of decisions. This story is a story of strength and endurance. And alot of LOVE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Thanks to My Mother - Read it!

    Thanks to my Mother was a terrific book written by Schoschana Rabinovici. She lived and survived through the holocaust at only 8 years old with the aid of her Grandfather, Aunt, Uncle, Step dad, Step sister and her Mother. The stories depicted in the book were very agonizing and shocking to read. Imagine what it would be like to know that your life could be taken away from you at any moment. While it is sad and heart wrenching, I found myself thoroughly hooked on her book and to hear the stories of perseverance in the worst of circumstances. Throughout this book, I was constantly amazed at Schoschana's will to live and her Mother's protective nature. It also struck me that there were everyday hero's in the darkest of places and events. There were several messages throughout this book but, the most common one was when Schoschana's mother often made a point that even when life is rough, you still have a choice on how to act, look, and behave. Also, according to her mom, if you give up on your actions, looks, or behavior, the difficult situation your in will become harder to survive. Schoschana learned throughout the experience that her mother was tenacious, courageous, and a survivor. Throughout this book, there were also pictures that made the stories so much more realistic. I had many likes about this book; it’s such a great read. The only dislike that I had was that the book ended! I highly recommend this book because, personally, I learned so much more about what life was like in concentration and work camps. I recommend this book for people who enjoy learning about the history of the holocaust and love reading about survivors. I finished the book in a day’s time with such a big sense of appreciation and gratitude for my life and the simple freedoms I take advantage of everyday. To see life go from normal to devastating was shocking. Along with this book, I also read The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz, also highly recommended! I over all give Thanks to My Mother 4 stars. You definitely want this in your book collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    A book that we should all read!

    Let us never forget! I could not stop reading this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thanks to my Mother

    Thanks to my Mother was written by Schoschana Rabinovici who lived through the holocaust. What a agonizing tale it was to read.Imagine what it would be life to know that your life could be taken from you at any moment if you made even the quietest noise. While it is sad and heart wrenching. I found myself thoroughly hooked on her book to hear the stories of trying to stay alive in the worst of circumstances. I was amazed at her will to live and her Mother's ideas and protective nature. It also struck me that their were and are everyday hero's in the darkest of places. Meaning when life is terrible and in this case it was really terrible you still have a choice on how to act and behave. She learned that her mother was tenacious, courageous, and a survivor.I highly recommend this book because I learned so much more about what life was like in concentration camps. I recomend this book for people who enjoy learning about the history of the holocaust.I feel it was my duty to know and learn of their struggles so it would not be forgotten. I finished the book with such a big sense of appreciation and gratitude for my life and the simple freedoms I have everyday. To see life go from normal to that was totally shocking. I recomend this book for people who enjoy learning about the history of the holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Thanks to my mother

    I loved this book, and I still do! I read it alot... it is a very compelling book and very in depth. I would defonitely say that this book is better than any Anne Frank Diary entries. Thanks to my Mother is a great book, and my pages are worn and ripped from reading it soo much. I felt everything she felt... and understood and learned so much more in that book than any other Holocaust book. I hope everyone learns from it. Its a great book no matter what! I had read this book at my school for out Reading Classes... I think all teachers should use this book- ONLY this book- to learn both the harshness for men, women, and children in the Holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1