Customer Reviews for

That Bird Has My Wings: The Autobiography of an Innocent Man on Death Row

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Silverstar

    (I think you. And we have no medcat.) Snowpaw I'm gonna do the ceremony tonight. I'll include Muddypaw too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    great

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Jay of high skies.

    The little kit cried put in hunger and pain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Must read

    Couldnt put it down,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Rabones says;

    Beautifully and simply written. A powerful and important story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    MUST READ!

    That Bird Has My Wings
    Jarvis Jay Masters
    281 pages

    This is a book that someone should read due to the hardships that the main character, Jarvis, has to go through. The struggles are similar to those of several other people and reading this book allows the audience to see life in a different perspective. I really enjoyed the fact that the author went chronologically through his life but continued to make references to the past. He also used a cause and effect method, showing decisions that were made along with instances from the past that could explain the reasoning. His descriptive way of writing made the book enjoyable to read the whole entire time as-well. The author didn't do anything that detracted from the content of the book. There are several reasons why I enjoyed this book so much. Having the author as the main character was what intrigued me the most because I was able to see the experiences he had with the emotional side to them. This book is appropriate for people probably 15 and older. There are some specific instances where the situation would be more appropriate for an older audience because of the use of drugs, violence and language. Reading this book changed my outlook on all prisoners and life in general. Every person has a story and every person has to face different challenges, instead of labeling them all as "prisoners" or "bad people", it's important to take the time to see as to why they are in that position. This book made me realize that deep down, each individual has potential and the surrounding people can either bring it out or hide it. Either way, there is a story behind every person and this story is one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely Well-written Book

    I just finished reading this book and it is clearly the best book that I have read this year. This book is written with so much intimacy and clarity, I felt as if I were on the journey with Jarvis. My heart ached with his as he recounted abuse and setbacks from those who should have fostered his growth and development. My heart soared and swelled with his as he shared memories of family and special times with friends. I rooted for him with every page, and I envied him as he discovered that true freedom is a state of mind, not location. I am inspired to live in every moment appreciating the ability to be present. Well done Jarvis Jay Masters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    In That Bird Has My Wings, Jarvis Masters takes us on his life's journey, from cute, smart, and talented young boy to the gates of San Quentin. It's a heartbreaker, a must read for those who want to understand this process, and a compelling story

    Jarvis Master's writing makes me laugh out loud and break into tears. He writes intimately of his life, first as a child neglected and abused by parents involved in selling drugs, then as a child in a loving foster home, followed by an abusive home and then years in the California junvenile system, which hardened him and left deep scars. Finally, inside the walls of San Quentin, his heart opens again. In his first book, Finding Freedom, we learn of his journey of transformation. Now, in That Bird Has My Wings, he shares his exploration of his childhood with us, revisiting places that had been hidden inside. It is not an easy journey, but it is well worth the read. It is one of those books that makes a difference, touches deeply, and leaves us changed from the experience of reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1