Customer Reviews for

That Certain Spark

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Great book!

    I always enjoy Cathy Marie Hake's books. They are moving, relevant stories with off the wall characters that will make you laugh out loud while reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    My daughter loved it!

    My teenage daughter highly recommends this book and this author. Quote: "That Certain Spark made me laugh, cry, happy, and it was inspirational."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Not great -i do not recommend

    I was really disappointed in this story. There was nothing interesting about the characters, and i did not like the banter between the two lead characters. It wa s just preachy in a talking at you way.
    Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Wonderful

    I have always enjoyed reading Cathy Marie Hake's books. My mom intruduced them to me a few years back. She is funny and thoughtful and has a way to bring you back in time to where the book takes place. I laugh hard when I get to a funny spot and my husband wants to know what I'm laughing at. And its a book, author, and set that I will pass on to my daughter and tell all my friends about it.
    Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    That Certain Spark Delivers Romance And Tension With Style

    I had the privilege of interviewing Cathy Marie Hake, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for her new book, "That Certain Spark", Book Four in The Only In Gooding series published by Bethany House. I wish there was a town called Gooding so that I could move there and meet and live with the amazing residents of that town, that's how good a story teller Cathy Marie Hake is.

    This time Ms. Hake returns us to Gooding when siblings Enoch and Taylor Bestman arrive to take up their positions as Veterinarian and Physician. The town does not have a problem accepting Enoch but there is real controversy over Taylor. See Taylor is a woman doctor and this is a practically unheard of thing in 1892. The story is about how Taylor goes about trying to get the town to approve her so that she can stay despite the fact that she has a four year contract. Then there is the additional romance that blossoms between Taylor and the Blacksmith, Karl Van der Vort.

    Ms. Hake is a master with names that have double meanings. The name of the town is Gooding which means there is good in the town. Taylor really is the Best man for the role of physician despite the fact that she is a woman; there are all these little additions that heighten the reading of the book. Then there is the title is that certain spark the spark between the town and Taylor Bestman for her to be physician or is the spark the romance between Karl and Taylor or is it something else. That is for the reader to decide. I just want the reader to come into this book knowing there are deep treasures to be found if only someone would look.

    I recommend this book highly and am highly looking forward to the next book in the series.

    If you missed the interview for "That Certain Spark" and would like to listen to it and/or other interviews with Cathy Marie Hake please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    4th in Only in Gooding! series is enjoyable romance

    That Certain Spark by Cathy Marie Hake is the fourth book in the Only in Gooding! series. Twin siblings, Enoch and Taylor Bestman, come to Gooding, Texas to take on the roles of veterinarian and doctor, respectively. Unfortunately, the townsfolk missed the note in her recommendation that Taylor is a woman and they aren't ready for a lady doctor in 1892. Including the blacksmith Karl, even after she saves his leg from amputation. Even though he doesn't agree with her chosen profession, he finds himself drawn to Taylor's strength and beauty, especially after she comes under attack from someone who wants to frighten her away. Meanwhile, Enoch has fallen head over heels in love with widow Mercy who runs the local boarding house, but their happy ending is threatened when she discovers something terrifying. Hake balances just the right amount of romance, humor, faith, and suspense in this enjoyable read. She handles Mercy's health crisis with a great deal of compassion and tenderness. Taylor is a delightful character full of spunk and intelligence, and the reader won't blame Karl one bit for falling in love with her, nor Taylor for falling for Karl's gentle strength. The only flaw was Taylor's discovery of the wrong-doer which didn't ring true and the revelation that exposed him seemed just strange. Aside from that, Gooding, Texas is a town I would love to visit again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure and Romance in Gooding, TX

    Readers won't be disappointed; sparks certainly do fly in Cathy Marie Hake's newest book. We find ourselves in the pleasant little town of Gooding, TX, the place that acts as the setting for many of Ms. Hake's stories. Taylor and Enoch Bestman have signed contracts to serve as the town's local doctors. Taylor is the medical doctor, and Enoch is a veterinarian.The twins aim to rescue Gooding from a serious shortage of good medical care. But will they? Upon the Bestman twins' arrival, townspeople learn that Taylor is a woman. Some of the residents are happy about this fact, but others, including the mayor, are not. Seems Mayor Cutter overlooked the portion of Taylor's paperwork indicating that she is indeed, a woman. Taylor sets out to prove her worth and skill. Her first test involves saving Karl Van der Vort's life. Karl and his brother Piet are the local blacksmiths who are surprised to find a woman doctor in their midst. Karl, especially, doesn't think it's proper for a woman to work as a doctor, but cannot deny Taylor's skill, and more importantly, his debt to her for saving his life. Karl wrestles further with his feelings as he admires Taylor's spunk, and finds himself with feelings for Taylor. How will Taylor respond? Will sparks fly between the two? And what of the sparks that fly between Taylor, the mayor, and the others opposed to her practicing in town? Hake provides an entertaining journey with unexpected events and colorful characters. True to the title, That Certain Spark really does make a difference in the resident's lives. I enjoyed reading this; can't wait to see what Ms. Hake cooks up next. I hope it finds us in Gooding once again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1