Customer Reviews for

That Certain Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    I love Irene Hannon's Suspense novels so i was excited to see sh

    I love Irene Hannon's Suspense novels so i was excited to see she had switched it up a bit and written this book, "That Certain Summer".




    "That Certain Summer" is one of those books that you will get so involved in the characters, so much so that you just want to sit down and have a "talk" with them! LOL But just as in our lives, we know that God is in control and we have to stay out of HIS way because after all, HIS way is not just the BEST way but the ONLY way! 




    This is a book of letting go, forgiving ourselves and others, and coming to learn that our past, however hurtful it was, can also be a gift to learning the life lessons and that our future can be sooo much more than you ever dreamed possible. New Beginnings are on the horizon! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Sweet book

    Loved this story! Especially enjoyed seeing the sisters discover themselves and each other. Really good read! Review by CherishD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a huge fan of Irene Hannon and LOVE her Christian romantic

    I am a huge fan of Irene Hannon and LOVE her Christian romantic suspense books. I was not sure how well I would like That Certain Summer. I consider it to be more family drama than romance. I was drawn in by the characters and read the story in less than 24 hours...
    You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    That Certain Summer A Novel by Irene Hannon Two sisters as diffe

    That Certain Summer A Novel by Irene Hannon
    Two sisters as different as night and day. Karen was the responsible wife, mother and daughter who tried to please everyone. Her marriage has fallen apart, her daughter is angry and wants her parents back together and her mother is mean, criticizing and controlling. It’s no wonder she feels hurt, lonely and dowdy. Val has been MIA for years, she’s running from her past and her criticizing mother. She is the beautiful talented daughter with a secret that has brought great guilt to her life. These two sisters come together to care for their sick mother for the summer. What they find is greater than either ever imagined for themselves. After being distant since childhood they develop a closeness as never before. I fell in love with them and their guys. I enjoyed watching the characters faith grew and developed as the story unfolded. The characters are well written brining hope, forgiveness, and romance for the sisters. I have loved Irene Hannon suspense books for awhile but this is my first contemporary romance I have read by her. I give it five stars and can’t wait to read another by her. I want to give a high-five to the author and publisher for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Two sisters who have never been close--what will a summer caring

    Two sisters who have never been close--what will a summer caring for their mother bring?  I have a sister that I am very close to and so, this book was very special to me.  Karen and Val connect in a way that they have never experienced before.   Their mother is quite difficult and they find themselves working together to get her through rehab following a stroke.  Meeting for a weekly shopping trip and coffee gives the sisters a chance to talk and resolve issues.  Being a caregiver of our parents is not easy, and I think many will find moments that they can relate to in Irene Hannon's book.   Throw in romance and you have the makings of an incredible read!  
    This was the first book I have read by Irene Hannon but it won't be the last! 
    I won a copy of this book in a giveaway from Revell Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Could'nt put it down! Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    That Certain Summer will touch your heart... That Certain Summer

    That Certain Summer will touch your heart...
    That Certain Summer
    By Irene Hannon

    This new offering from Irene Hannon will tug at your heartstrings and involve in the lives of 4 people who are going through struggles in their lives.  This is not one of Irene's suspense novels but there is nothing lacking in That Certain Summer as far as the story or the depth of the characters is concerned.

    Karen and Val are brought back together after their suffers a stroke.  Karen has always been the capitulating daughter and wife.  Val has lead a carefree glamorous life as a singer.  Or so they've believed...

    But no one's life is as it appears and this summer they are both about to discover who the other one is.  Both Karen and Val made choices when they were younger that has had an affect on their lives up to the present day.  But some choices have a lasting affect only because we let them and we cling to the guilt because we don't believe we have been forgiven by God and we can't or won't forgive ourselves.

    But Val and Karen's summer of healing involves more than just themselves as they have dealings with two men who are going through times of upheaval in their own lives.  Scott was the lone survivor of a crash that killed his future as far as he is concerned.  David has just moved to Washington with his young daughter Victoria.  

    Can healing come from reaching out to others and not focusing on ourselves and our own troubles?  Travel to Washington and discover the truth for yourself!  We all have a certain summer that changes our life and this one may change yours.  Be sure to have a box of tissue nearby - you will need it (in the last third of the book!).  

    That Certain Summer touches on the issues of divorce, remarriage, abortion, and death in non-judgmental and a loving Christ centered way.  This would be a book to share with anyone dealing with any of these issues.
     
    I was provided a copy of this book by Revell in exchange for my honest review.

    Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Irene Hannon in her new book "That Certain Summer" pub

    Irene Hannon in her new book "That Certain Summer" published by Revell Books takes us into the lives of Karen Butler and Val Montgomery.

    From the back cover: Two very different sisters . . . an unexpected homecoming . . . one unforgettable summer

    Karen and Val are family-yet they're anything but close. Karen has carried the burden of responsibility for her aging mother ever since her sister left town years ago to pursue a career in theater. But Val had other reasons for moving away-as well as a secret to keep-and coming home has never been an option . . . until their mother suffers a stroke.

    Reunited in their hometown, Karen and Val must grapple with past mistakes as they care for their ailing mother. When two handsome men enter the picture, the summer takes on a surprising new dimension. As their lives intersect, can each of them learn how to forgive, let go, and move on? And strengthened by the healing power of faith, might they also find the courage to love?

    With her trademark compelling characters and heartwarming hope, award-winning author Irene Hannon pens an inspiring true-to-life tale of complex relationships, the search for forgiveness, and the life-changing process of finding love.

    Just so you know, yes, Irene Hannon is famous for writing thrillers however this is not one of them. That does not mean, however, that "That Certain Summer" is not equally terrific. It most certainly is, just no killers are running around and no one's life is in danger. This is all about the relationship between two sisters and how they have to reconcile when their mother has a stroke and Karen needs help from Val. Ms. Hannon has taken on issues of how we care for our aging, and needy, parents, divorce and romance after divorce and abortion. "That Certain Summer" deals with forgiveness, reconciliation and moving forward with your life. This is not a fast read, however Ms. Hannon has given us much to think about. Ms. Hannon is an excellent writer and has given us wonderful characters that live and breathe and that we come to care about as we root for their success.

    If you missed the interview for "In Harm's Way" and would like to listen to it and/or would like to hear the previous interviews where we discussed the first and second books of The Heroes of Quantico series please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring

    When you feel you know the characters (or people just like them), then the author has done an excellent job in my opinion. Author Irene Hannon has done just that with the characters in her latest contemporary romance, THAT CERTAIN SUMMER. This is a story of faith, hope, and enduring life’s daily trials, along with the unexpected complications and hardships. Karen and Val are sisters, but have never had a close relationship. Val left town years ago to pursue a theater career leaving Karen to shoulder the burden of caring for their aging mother. The dream of stardom wasn’t the reason Val left, she has carried a dark secret that has kept her from returning home. When their mother suffers a stroke, Val is forced to return to her hometown. As the two sisters reconnect, they discover a bond they had never had before while dealing with a mother who is far from ideal. During the summer as they deal with their own problems, they encounter new relationships that could change their lives forever. Their mother’s physical therapist, raising a daughter on his own, connects with Val only to feel her pull away. An injured musician takes over the church choir and Karen’s world is turned upside down. Can forgiveness lead to peace, understanding and love? These characters are engaging and realistic, their situations plausible. The evolving relationship between the sisters is inspiring and moving. The tension and strain between mother and daughters resembles true life. Author Irene Hannon has created characters you will cheer for. While the faith-based story has elements of mystery you can guess, the path to resolution has a few twists along the way. The outcome may seem a bit cheesy, but will leave you filled with hope and the knowledge life is never quite as it seems. Hannon shows people often present false fronts when dealing with others and miracles come in many forms. Readers will be pulled in quickly and feel as though they are a part of the community. THAT CERTAIN SUMMER is a fascinating read that will inspire hope and better family understanding. FTC Full Disclosure - I requested this book as part of a blog tour for the author and it was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1