Customer Reviews for

That Night on Thistle Lane (Swift River Valley Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    ThornClan territory

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Welcome to Emberclan!

    Backup camp) main camp next res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    What is next? Really enjoy the Swift River Valley stories. O

    What is next? Really enjoy the Swift River Valley stories. Only wish they were listed in order, so they can be purchased that way. Have to keep referring back to some I have already read, & for some reason my library on my NOOK has disappeared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    LOVED IT!

    Intriguing; mysterious; romantic. Carla Neggers does an excellent job of character development and providing a historical background and plot to her stories. Loved it! LA-TXN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Can't get enough

    Just love Swift River Valley stories. Typical stubborn New England people just wanting to stand on their own feet without someone helping them. Pheobe, her family and friends are prime examples. I know because I grew up in Vermont where you learn very quickly that is the way and family will be there if you need them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Thistlefang

    "Thanks! It was.....nice to speak to you. Valour."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Envy

    I guess that's it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Good book!

    Pretty good book if you are reading the series. Not one u just cant put down but pretty good .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Not her best work.

    Usually a big fan of Carla Neggers. Was a bit disappointed in this book. It seemed to drag. The plot was predictable and slow. I have enjoyed her other books more than this particular one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    That Night on Thistle LaneĀ  a fun read, an imaginative mystery

    That Night on Thistle Lane 

    a fun read, an imaginative mystery and a sweet romance - full review can be found at BookTrib and RomanticReadsandsuch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Wonderful story! Don't miss this one.

    Carla Neggars is an amazing author and she has truly out-done herself with this book. It follows up on Secrets of the Lost Summer, but it stands alone as well. It has mystery, suspense, of course a love story, and more all set in an amazing part of the countrty. Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    good read.

    I have read all of Carla Neggers books. She keeps you interested to continue ready for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    I was very excited to receive an ARC of Carla Neggers new book &

    I was very excited to receive an ARC of Carla Neggers new book "That Night on Thistle Lane." I wasn't sure what to expect as I have only read one of her other books before this one. 




    When I first started reading the book I was a little unsure if I was going to like it as the beginning was a little hard to get into and the chapters seemed a little to long. But as soon as I got past the first couple chapters I was hooked. The book starts of with the main character Phoebe discussing the fashion show with her sisters and friend Olivia that they are  going to put on at the local library in Nights Bridge. From there you learn about a secret place in the attic of the library where she found when old hollywood type dresses that she thought the town should see and be part of the fashion show. The secret place she finds plays a big factor in the book as is used a lot through the book and even involves a little mystery. The other main character Noah becomes part of the book when Phoebe sneeks into a local charity ball put on by Dylan. I thought it was interesting how she initially has them meet not knowing each others name but just dancing. From the Charity Ball I really think the book took off it just took a while in my opinion to get there. It was nice to how she wrote in the characters from the last book Dylan and Olivia into the story and also she had another love story going on between Phoebe's sister Maggie and her husband Brandon. 




    All in all I thought the book was great romance and mystery and the only reason I didn't give it higher than a 4 is due to I felt the chapters were a little to long for my liking in parts and also because it took me longer to get into the story. I am defiantly glad that I stuck with the book because I am interested to see who Carla will right about next in this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was really hoping for more from this one. Even though the firs

    I was really hoping for more from this one. Even though the first book in the series didn't really do it for me, this one looked promising. There was a librarian involved! And a hidden sewing room! And old fashioned clothing, some of it patterned after dresses in movies! In the end, though, it left me with an overall feeling of...meh.




    Much like with the first in the series, while reading this one I kept feeling as if the novel was hovering on the edge of being pretty good but it just never quite got there. The characters stubbornly felt like characters throughout, not achieving the status of actual people to this reader. I just couldn't connect. The drama wasn't there (Seriously--I missed their first kiss. When it came up in Phoebe's thoughts, I actually had to page back and find it), and I never really bought into Phoebe and Noah's initial attraction, let alone their "love" for each other. I kept checking the progress bar on my ereader, and not in the yikes-how-will-they-resolve-this-in-the-time-that-is-left kind of way but in a jeesh-how-much-more-of-this-is-left fashion. The big reveal at the end wasn't, really. The characters figure it out behind the scenes, and I still didn't quite understand how they did it, and nor did I care all that much. It just ended up feeling a bit silly and anticlimactic. I actually found myself somewhat more interested in Brandon's (Phoebe's brother-in-law) love life than the main characters', but I'm pretty sure that was only because he was a former hockey player, and I'm just so darn glad that the season is back on track....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Character development

    I am on the first pages and sad the author forget that olivia had dark hair in the first book, yet was "fair haired" in the second. I like to get lost in the story which is rooted in descriptives. Now, i am just lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    That Night on Thistle Lane by Carla Neggers 4 STARS I enjoyed

    That Night on Thistle Lane by Carla Neggers
    4 STARS

    I enjoyed being back in Knights Bridge,Mass. The story is fun,hint of mystery,couple of romances going on,good friendships and community. Thier is one love scene in it.

    Engaging plot and characters.

    Librarian Phoebe O'Dunn has found a secret room in the library that is full of old dresses,materials just like the person left it 40+ years ago. So far Phoebe is enjoying the secret and as not told even her sisters about it.

    Phoebe decided based on the old costumes that it would be fun to have a antique fashion show at the library.
    Her friend Olivia's fiance Dylan has bought a lot of tickets to a charity masked ball that is to benafit neonatal intensive care unit at a Boston hospital. Phoebe tells Oliva and Maggie that she has the dresses that will be perfect for them. They both try and get Phoebe to come but she refuses to do so.

    Dylan has made millions working with his friend Noah in his company that just went public a few months ago. Noah,Dylan and some of his buddies spent the last view days hiking and now they were going to a masked ball.

    Noah Kendrick is smart, graduated early from MIT. started his own company and now that he was worth billions and his company has gone public is not sure what he will do in the future especially now his best friend is moving from the west coast to a small town near Boston. He is tired of people liking him for his money. Hopes he does not get recongized at the charity event that Dylan is dragging him to. Then he sees her at the ball.

    Phoebe decides to go to the ball but does not let anyone know she is thier. Dylan asks her to dance and they do a few tims even kiss. Dylan sees someone he needs to figure who he is and why he has been following him. Dylan asks her to wait right thier for him. They have no idea who each of them is. Phoebe runs into her soon to be ex-brother in-law who recongizes her. Brandon agrees not to say a word to anyone that she is thier. When he finds she is leaving to drive back home alone tells her to call him if she has a problem on the way.


    Phoebe on her way out over hears a conversation that she figures is about her mystery man and wonders what that is about. The more she thinks on it the more she thinks he should know about it.

    Dylan is upset that his Princess is missing. He wished he had not left her alone at all. He is not going to leave it alone. Especially when he thinks that Oliva might know more that she saying about that.

    I enjoyed this book and the book before it with Dylan and Olivia story in it. Would love to read more books from Carla Neggers in the future.

    I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
    01/23/2013 PUB Harlequin HarlequinMIRA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2