Customer Reviews for

That Old Ace in the Hole

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    It's so good I've reread it several times.

    Excellent story. It's so good I've reread it several times. Very well written, in the same style as The Shipping News.

    The negative customer reviews seem very childish. Perhaps they expect the action of a comic book and have no interest in descriptions. Too bad, for them, this book has no pictures. Just words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Yawn...

    I very much enjoyed The Shipping News. This book I did not. I found it to be slow and tedious. Nothing happened. but, then, if nothing is going to happen in a book, it may as well be in rural Texas, I suppose. I always say life is too short to read bad books. This is a good few hours of my book reading life gone and never to be retrieved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    over written

    Shipping News was genius. That Old Ace in the Hole (like the title) didn't make the grade. The sentences were extremely overwritten, too embellished, which made it a chore to read. My mind kept wandering off the page, it wasn't riveting, kind of wandered from character to character. Proulx definitely does her research and her characters are well described but it dulls down the plot and becomes boring once you're into the second chapter. I didn't finish it, too much work. I will stick to her short stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    About 200 Pages Too Long

    Because I live in Texas, I looked forward to more of Annie Proulx's beautifully descriptive writing. I thoroughly enjoyed her character development in Shipping News. Unfortunately, I found Ms. Proulx's writing in That Old Ace in the Hole to be more like a black hole -- painfully plodding and dull. Despite my determined fortitude, it seems that the end will never come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Not as good as her other novels, but good enough

    Ace isn't as good as Proulx's other novels, but it is still pretty good indeed. Proulx is deft at description and character development. If you enjoy plot, however, pick up something else -- like Larry McMurtry as another reviewer above suggests. Indeed, I figured out the plot at a point in the first twenty pages. That said, her characters here are not as well defined as Shipping News or Postcards. Nor is the sense of 'place.' Ace felt like a good draft of the novel I would expect of Proulx, but not quite finished. However, that is comparing Proulx to Proulx. Comparing Proulx to most modern authors and she still remains among the best at writing style, syntax, character development and place description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Gave Up After 100

    I'm sorry, but I either just plain don't like Annie Proulx's writing or just don't 'get' it. Her characters are overdrawn losers with ridiculous names (Tambourine Bapp? Come ON!) who are not the least bit believable (I LIVE in Texas -- I've never met anyone even remotely like these folks). The one thing Proulx did manage to capture by way of her sleep-inducing prose, was the totally dismal nature of scenery and life in West Texas. My advice -- don't waste your time. Read Larry McMurtry instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Enchanting

    I loved this story with it's wonderful descriptions of the Texas landscape and the colorful and caring characters. The reader of the novel, Arliss Howard is exceptional and brings the characters to life. If there is an award for the readers of books on tape, he should get the prize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    A DEFT AND ABLE READING

    Arliss Howard, who directed and starred in "Big Bad Love" (2002), gives a deft and able reading to Annie Proulx's latest tale set in the great southwest, the panhandles of Oklahoma and Texas. Howard's take on the slight twang and pacing of voices native to this part of the world is on target. A Pulitzer Prize winner for "The Shipping News," novelist Proulx can paint a character inside and out with the best of them. Such is the case with our narrator, Bob Dollar, whose parents dropped him on a Colorado doorstep when he was 8-years-old. He grows into manhood a bit unfocused and unchallenged. Bob does land a paying job with Global Pork Rind, a company that dispatches him to the hinterlands in search of large sections of land, ranches, that can be bought by Global Pork and converted to hog farms. He is cautioned that most take a dim view of hog raisers for neighbors so he must be very circumspect in looking around. He comes upon Woolybucket, Texas (don't you love that name? Welcome to Woolybucket! But, I digress. No five, four, three, two or even one star motels there, so he rents a dilapidated bunkhouse from a widow, LaVon Fronk, and hires out to Cy Frease, proud proprietor of the Old Dog Café. There's a lot to be learned for Bob - beyond the historical documents that LaVon has stashed in her house. The locals aren't dweebs or ineffectuals; they're a proud lot who want to hold on to their land no matter what. Does Bob get their land or does their land get to Bob? Listen to this tale rich in portraits of working class America and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1