BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

That Perfect Someone

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

exciting historical romance

When they were children, their fathers contracted for Richard Allen and Julia Miller to marry. However, almost a decade ago, Richard unable to deal with his martinet father fled the Earl and the marriage contract for the Caribbean. There he became Jean-Paul the French...
When they were children, their fathers contracted for Richard Allen and Julia Miller to marry. However, almost a decade ago, Richard unable to deal with his martinet father fled the Earl and the marriage contract for the Caribbean. There he became Jean-Paul the French treasure hunting pirate.

His betrothed Julia plans to end the contract that she believes will never be consummated by her fiancé; not that she wants to wed the rogue. Richard sneaks back into England on business and meets married Georgina Malory (see Gentle Rogue). At a masked gala he outrageously flirts with Georgina, which angers her spouse James. To keep the raging Malory from skewering him, he impulsively kisses another beauty, Julia. She thinks she has found That Perfect Someone in the Frenchman while he marvels at how fickle he has become. When she learns who he is, she ends their relationship until he is captured and placed on a transport ship for criminals. Now she must rescue the man she loves who abandoned her nine years ago, but vows not to marry Richard as she insists she loves Jean-Paul.

Although somewhat similar in tone to Gentle Rogue, That Perfect Someone is an exciting somewhat linked Malory family historical romance. The gender war between the lead couple once unmasked is a delight as each hates most the fact they don't hate one another but love one another; mindful of Julia Stiles as Kat reciting her sonnet in Ten Things I Hate About You (as Kat said: "How do I loathe thee? Let me count the ways") to the Heath Ledger character Patrick. Fast-paced fans of the Malory brood loose connections will enjoy this fun battle of the sexes.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Little Disappointed

The book is well written. Flows well, glad Ms. Lindsey toned down the bickering between James and Tony, but. The story line is OK, contract engagement since childhood, Richard rebels, blah, blah, blah. That's pretty much the story, blah. The characters were sort of...
The book is well written. Flows well, glad Ms. Lindsey toned down the bickering between James and Tony, but. The story line is OK, contract engagement since childhood, Richard rebels, blah, blah, blah. That's pretty much the story, blah. The characters were sort of boring, the plot was sort of boring and the final plan to save themselves from the marriage was, well just plain stupid. I've been disappointed in Johanna Lindsey's last few books; they're missing her usual flare. If you've read all the other 'Malory' books I would recommend reading this one to keep up on what's happening. If you're new to Lindsey and the whole Malory gang I don't think I would start with this one.

posted by ILikeReading on August 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting historical romance

    When they were children, their fathers contracted for Richard Allen and Julia Miller to marry. However, almost a decade ago, Richard unable to deal with his martinet father fled the Earl and the marriage contract for the Caribbean. There he became Jean-Paul the French treasure hunting pirate.

    His betrothed Julia plans to end the contract that she believes will never be consummated by her fiancé; not that she wants to wed the rogue. Richard sneaks back into England on business and meets married Georgina Malory (see Gentle Rogue). At a masked gala he outrageously flirts with Georgina, which angers her spouse James. To keep the raging Malory from skewering him, he impulsively kisses another beauty, Julia. She thinks she has found That Perfect Someone in the Frenchman while he marvels at how fickle he has become. When she learns who he is, she ends their relationship until he is captured and placed on a transport ship for criminals. Now she must rescue the man she loves who abandoned her nine years ago, but vows not to marry Richard as she insists she loves Jean-Paul.

    Although somewhat similar in tone to Gentle Rogue, That Perfect Someone is an exciting somewhat linked Malory family historical romance. The gender war between the lead couple once unmasked is a delight as each hates most the fact they don't hate one another but love one another; mindful of Julia Stiles as Kat reciting her sonnet in Ten Things I Hate About You (as Kat said: "How do I loathe thee? Let me count the ways") to the Heath Ledger character Patrick. Fast-paced fans of the Malory brood loose connections will enjoy this fun battle of the sexes.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    A Little Disappointed

    The book is well written. Flows well, glad Ms. Lindsey toned down the bickering between James and Tony, but. The story line is OK, contract engagement since childhood, Richard rebels, blah, blah, blah. That's pretty much the story, blah. The characters were sort of boring, the plot was sort of boring and the final plan to save themselves from the marriage was, well just plain stupid. I've been disappointed in Johanna Lindsey's last few books; they're missing her usual flare. If you've read all the other 'Malory' books I would recommend reading this one to keep up on what's happening. If you're new to Lindsey and the whole Malory gang I don't think I would start with this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Malory, Malory, Malory

    What can a girl say? From Anthony to Derek and Regina to Georgina, this is a family that any reader wants to be a part of. These historical romances create escapes which Lindsey makes smooth and easy to follow. Each story makes you want to see who experience what next, and what role will the "elders" play? Who will stir the pot? Will Tony and James spar over something? All of Lindsey's books I recommend again and again to my friends when they need to relax. Her books are hot bubble baths with candles relaxing. I have read this author for nearly 20 years, have every book published and have read most of them several times. Her books are just that good. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Wow what a wonderful story!!!

    This was such a wonderful story. I couldn't put it down. If you are a Johanna Lindsey fan, you will not be dissapointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I finished this in 2 days!! I never finish anything!! Now, that's saying something!!! I should add, when I bought this I wasn't aware that the Malory books have a long history and somewhat chronological order to them, and I was not aware that it's probably best to start somewhere in the beginning rather than near to the end of the long series of books, but with that said, at least this review is completely unbiased and not based on how I felt about any of the previous Malory books, whereas sometimes other reviewers REALLY like to compare and contrast this book to previous publications in the Malory lineup, which I think is totally unfair, because this is a GREAT story, with GREAT characters, and a PERFECT read!! If the Malory books that came before this are better, like some people like to say, then I CAN NOT WAIT to start reading them, because I do not know how they can get any better!!!! You won't be disappointed with this book, I guarantee it!! =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    I really enjoyed this latest Malory spin. I have always Johana again I read straight though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Fun!

    It was a fun story to read -- The Malory's never disappoint. It was one of those books you don't put down and until your done. This one didn't leave you wanting more either as it finished up nicely!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    A must read

    I couldn't stop reading this and didn't care if I only got 3 hours sleep for work the next day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Once I started reading, I literally could not put it down. It is always great to spend time catching up on the Mallory family and friends. Can't wait for the next one to come along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed

    I am glad Ms. lindsey is still inspired to write about the Malory clan. This book is about two people detesting one another, yet having a strong sensual attraction. The element of the unexpected came at the end. I hope Ms. Lindsey continues to write more Malory series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Loved it.

    I enjoyed this book a great deal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    excellent read

    relateable characters, funny, sweet storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Addition to the Malory series!

    I always enjoy Johanna Lindsey's books particularly the Malory characters. Laughter, romance, excitement this book did not dissapoint. Well done...loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An absolutely great read

    I read this book in ten hours. It was great. The characters were believable, connected, it felt very real. The plot was a new one and I have read alot of historical romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I love all of Johanna Lindsey's book. This one was great. I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Good read

    Not my favorite in this series but still couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    Not as good as her other work. I was slightly disappointed and w

    Not as good as her other work. I was slightly disappointed and would hardly consider it part of the Malory series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Highly recommend the entire series

    The entire series is terrific! I hope she writes more in this series... anxiously waiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    As useual this is a great read by Johanna Lindsey

    True to Form Ms Lindsey put a wonderful picture to her writing
    since I read a book aday and had just reread all her books that
    I have, only missing 2 older ones and the newest one. She is one of a few that I held onto when I downsized my library from 900 to 300 books and have now had to gone to and E-Reader in order to contiue to purchase more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Honeypaw

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18