Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Awesome sause

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Great

    This is great book but it could be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    I think this book is good its not really hooking you in so i dont recommend buying it. IT SUCKED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    PLEASE READ!!!

    I have truly loved all of Sarah Dessens books, but does every single on have an "ugly divorce"? I mean seriously! She may have had to deal with one in her life, but she doesn't have to take it out on her readers. None the less, i still love her books an they make me cry every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Great book.

    Nice book about family and relationships. Sometimes things look too difficult but there is always a way to get thru, there always is. Great message at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Want it

    Hhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Least favorite by sarah

    I loved her others like s.l.y, m.m, t.a.f, and j.l i didnt feel the typing out the title but if you want to know what they are just ask me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Never read it

    My bff said that this book was boring so i dont know if i should read it. I love her other books and so does my bff so im doubting i should read it. Will you please tell me if its a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    Ive read her other books and am excited for this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Well.....

    It is not one of the greatest books of the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Tap here:))))!!!!!

    Im reading the actual book like on paper and it is great. I can total relate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    love the book ! Click here for more info!(:

    Loved this book!(: i can realte alot to this book like go her older sister ashely because ive had alot of bf like her & boths of theyre nsmes where robert & michale for me too! So yeah i thaugh its kinda weired !(: && i realte alot to ashely because i am 5'1 && my shoe size is a size 5 or 6 and i feel like i relate lot to ashleky ihts like thid book was written about me!. But yeah i recoment this book (: so read ny revie then buy the book kk byee love yahh !! With kisses barbie (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Its an ok book but not the best book of sarah dessens

    I would maybe recommend it. Its mostly about a girl and how her mom like gets married a lot and then gets divorces and its just horrible in my opinion and also with her boyfriend and stuff uhh no sorry haha. I guess its just not my type of book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    ?....

    Is there romance i lov dessen and her romance parts it just brings the biok out soooo is there romance?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Read

    I havent rea this book yet but i read all the revies and they seen all good so i think im going to bye thubook hope i lik it thanks for all yhe good review i havent seen one bad reviewfor yhis book and no stars for less then 4 starss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    awsome

    This book was one of the best i have evr read in my life!I feel so bad for hevan when she has to mkevthe best of her new life it is just flattering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I love Sarah, hate this book.

    This book has no plot and really no point at all. Its very boring and has tons of false forshadowing. Sarah Dessen is a good writer, this book really sucked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    It was well:)

    It was good . sarah dessen is a fabulous writter:) i just expected a little romance going with boy?. But other than that it was well:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Wow loved it

    I think this book is amazing!!! When i was reading it i couldn't put it down. I think you need to read this amazing story about a girl who has a busy summer and can't really keep up with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23