Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    That Summer

    This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
    The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
    In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    That Summer Review

    I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    It was okay

    This book was okay. It was sort of disapointing after reading someone like you and this lullaby. But it wasnt bad, just not as good at the other books by Sarah Dessen.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    I understand that this is Sarah Dessen's first book, but this bo

    I understand that this is Sarah Dessen's first book, but this book totally dissapointed me. The whole book is just about her sisters wedding and thats all, there was no relationships at all really, and her sister was really a total jerk and I didnt like the sister as a character at all. Haven is an okay character but she's pretty boring. I made myself read this book since i got it from the media center at my school. I was overall dissapointed with this book since it didnt have an interesting storyline at all. Her other books are truly exceptional and she is my favorite author, but this book was a TOTAL miss for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    OKay but it wasn't the best

    It was a great book if you like what the subject, myself i'm more of a romance reader, do NOT read this book thinking you are going to get romance out cuz your not, it's just like a sister to sister kind of book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I am obsessed wih sarah dessen and this is just another one of her masterpieces. I read this book in a day and loved it. I strongly suggest readibg this book for short read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is amazing!
    Its wonderful and truly great!
    I will read it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PRETTY GOOD!

    I liked this book. It's about 15 year old Haven who's freakishly tall at almost 6 feet and is having a lot of family issues.Her mom and dad are divorced and it's summertime and she attends her father's wedding to the local weather girl that her mom calls the weather pet(who she finds out a month later is pregnant) She has to deal with her bratty older sister(Ashley) who is also getting married that summer.She meets up again with her sister's exboyfriend Sumner(who happens to be her favorite of all her sister's boyfriends) and thinks he's the only one who can make her feel like her life is normal. She goes back in her mind to the summer that her sister and Sumner were together and her life seemed happier. Haven finds herself and learns a few life lessons that summer!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    .......

    This book was very much so a disapointment compared to most of Sarah Dessens other books. The book was very boring, but I kept reading it because I have read most of S.D. books and loved them, but this one never really got interesting at all. I was very disapointed after just finishing reading This Lullaby. It never quite got to the point and once it did I found it kind of stupid. It was not the worst book I hace ever read, but, more than likely, I would not re-read it.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    That Summer

    This book was very good! The ending was a great surprise. Overall, it is a good book as are most of her writings. I would recommend this book to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    ugh

    this book was horrible, the first Sarah Dessen book i read was The Truth about Forever and i feel in love with it, and then i read some of her other books and they were really good too but then i read this book and it was absolutely horrible it didn't even have a point to it it was one of her worst books in my opinion.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Ok book...

    This book is just an ok book... Nothing majorly special or jaw-dropping... It is somewhat boring. I read the whole thing waiting for something amazing to happen but I was let down by the time I finished the book. This was my 2nd Sarah Dessen book (The first one I read was Someone Like You). I wouldn't recommend this to my friends like I did with Someone Like You. This is one of those books that you want it to be really good and fantastic but really, it's not. If you want to read/buy this book for the first time I suggest going to the library and checking it out. That way you won't waste your money.... Sorry but it's true...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    a can't. shouldn't and wouldn't book

    I had to force myself to read the whole book. Sarah Dessen is my favorite author but this book sucks. She could have done much better than this. The concept is well but overall-- its boring. You wouldn't want to read this book if you read her other books. This is below disappointment in my book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    it was one of the worst books i have read. it just kept going on and on about how horrible her life was, and a summer along time ago with her sister old boyfriend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    i love sarah dessen

    This book was pretty good, not as good as some of her others. The middle was the best...i know that seems strange but it was kinda slow at the beginning and the end didn't really conclude anything

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Boring

    there was nothing special about this book. i really liked some of the authors previous books alot better. this one seemed to go on and on without a purpose.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Eww

    It was so boring! I mean the entire book was just her whining about her life. So her parents are divorced and her sister's getting married. BIG DEAL. Don't waste your time. Find something that's actually worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    Sucks majorly!

    If I could rate this book any lower, believe me I would. Besides the swearing, and rude unnecessary comments that the characters make- the book is pointless, boring, and leaves you with no beginning or end! There is no plot, but if you had to make up one, it would run something along the lines of 'Haven's sister is getting married. Haven sees her sister's old boyfriend. The end.' This book left me in the worst mood ever- DONT EVEN WASTE YOUR MONEY! Go spend it on something worthwhile, like...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It is captivating. I could not put it down. Absolutely love it.

    It is captivating. I could not put it down. Absolutely love it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Awesome sause

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23