Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    ugh

    this book was horrible, the first Sarah Dessen book i read was The Truth about Forever and i feel in love with it, and then i read some of her other books and they were really good too but then i read this book and it was absolutely horrible it didn't even have a point to it it was one of her worst books in my opinion.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    a can't. shouldn't and wouldn't book

    I had to force myself to read the whole book. Sarah Dessen is my favorite author but this book sucks. She could have done much better than this. The concept is well but overall-- its boring. You wouldn't want to read this book if you read her other books. This is below disappointment in my book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    it was one of the worst books i have read. it just kept going on and on about how horrible her life was, and a summer along time ago with her sister old boyfriend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Eww

    It was so boring! I mean the entire book was just her whining about her life. So her parents are divorced and her sister's getting married. BIG DEAL. Don't waste your time. Find something that's actually worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    Sucks majorly!

    If I could rate this book any lower, believe me I would. Besides the swearing, and rude unnecessary comments that the characters make- the book is pointless, boring, and leaves you with no beginning or end! There is no plot, but if you had to make up one, it would run something along the lines of 'Haven's sister is getting married. Haven sees her sister's old boyfriend. The end.' This book left me in the worst mood ever- DONT EVEN WASTE YOUR MONEY! Go spend it on something worthwhile, like...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    I think this book is good its not really hooking you in so i dont recommend buying it. IT SUCKED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I love Sarah, hate this book.

    This book has no plot and really no point at all. Its very boring and has tons of false forshadowing. Sarah Dessen is a good writer, this book really sucked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Not very good

    I was excited to read the book because I can relate to it but it was very disappointing. It seemed like it served no real purpose and had no transitions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Really bad, ends on a horrible note

    It started out sorta good but then the end was super confusing and depressing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Comment by Yo

    jeeze, writing nonsense is really immature... Yo, you fail.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh.

    I personally didn't love this novel.
    Sarah Dessen has written many novels, many of which are sitting on my shelf waiting to be read, but I did not enjoy THAT SUMMER.

    The story follows a bland girl whose father is marrying his mistress after divorcing her mother and whose sister is getting married to a boy who has tamed her wild side. The weddings and their plannings are just stressful and uninteresting to read about and the entire time I was left waiting for something juicy to happen. I was majorly disappointed when I realized Sumner (her sister's boyfriend during a perfect summer years ago, mentioned in the book summary) was much too old for the main character and clearly wasn't getting back with the sister.

    Overall I was left completely unsatisfied and craving something interesting the entire time.
    Maybe I was just excited for a steamy love story (which this was absolutely NOT) and that's why I found the book lacking, but either way I just found the book boring.

    However, I'll be reading the other Dessen books on my shelf and be sure to give them true reviews as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What?!

    What happened with this book! The beginning, middle, and end were exactly the same, NOTHING HAPPENED. It was soooo boring, but I forced myself to finish it to make sure there were any surprises, but there wasn't. The big drama on what happened when Sumner and Ashley was nothing. I was so disappointed in Sarah Dessen. I'm glad this wasn't the first book of hers I read, or else it would be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2