Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    it was pretty good!

    probably my least favorite of sarah dessen's, but still pretty good, since her others are REALLY GOOD!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll appreciate it...

    Sarah Dessen is absolutely amazing. Shes one of my favorite authors, if not my all time favorite. This book was a bit slow, most of her books are, but this one was especially slow considering its length; it's about 200 pages long. The story didn't really begin to unravel till the end. However, there were some very lovable characters, I fell in love with Sumner's character and Haven was lovable too. I didn't like the book much while I was reading, but I really liked when I reached the end. There are some messages that you'll appreciate. The book isn't so much about what happens, as it is about the message it portrays. Overall, it's a pretty good book but you will not enjoy it if you like suspense and drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    eeeeeh.

    eeh. this book was okay. Sarah Dessen is... wow; indescribable. she's just beyond-belief amazing. i love her. but this really isn't her best work. my favorite book so far was Dreamland and Just Listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    that summer

    I recently read That Summer for a project for school. I was very excited to read this book because I heard the author Sarah Dessen was a very good writer. Tomy surprise I was let down by this book. I thought it would be a little more interesting. The book, overall,was very realistic, but it needed a better climax or a twist in the story. It is not the kind of book that you can't put down and keep reading. I think the best age to read this book is around ages thirteen to sixteen year olds, most likely girls.I think they would like it because the main character Haven is fifteen years old. Haven finds out who she really is and matures during the book due to the kind of situations she gets put in. This book also would be greatly recommended to a teen that is dealing with a divorce and/or a parent reamarrying. I think it would help them relate to how they feel. I don't think this is the kind of book you are able to have a big group discussion about, it was almost predictable. It was an easy read, the book went by very fast. the vocabulary and writing style was definately fit for a teenager. I really don't think I will re-read this book in the future. I do want to read more books by Sarah Dessen. I hope I get a better outcome of her other books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    That Summer

    Haven is having trouble dealing with everything that has been going on in her life lately. Her father is getting remarried, her sister is also getting married, and her mother is thinking about selling the house she grew up in. Then one night Haven runs into Sumner, one of her sister's ex boyfriends. Seeing him reminds her of how great her life used to be when he and her sister were dating. Haven finally finds out why they broke up and realizes that things aren't always as they seem. I liked the book but it was a little boring compared to Sarah Dessen's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Who am I?

    Haven¿s parents are divorced and her father is getting married to Lorna Queen. Her older sister, Ashley, has been dating Lewis Warsher for a while. They are soon to get married also. There is just too much going on for Haven, who is just sixteen and can¿t accept the fact that she is six feet tall and still growing. She can¿t figure out who she is anymore and is determined to figure that out. With Ashley and Lewis fighting over that wedding and Lorna cries every time something goes wrong, she can¿t stand it. In the mall during her break where she looks, she meets up with one of Ashley¿s ex-boyfriends, Sumner Lee. Haven meets up with him everywhere and tells Sumner Lee all her problems in life and Sumner gives her advice. When her dad and Lorna finally get married, things start to calm down. By Ashley¿s wedding, she has found the good qualities in Lewis, and she learns that Lewis and Ashley love each other and she doesn¿t want to ruin that. Some things I disliked about the book That Summer were that there was no suspense in the book. At the end of a chapter, I could put the book down. It wasn¿t like I couldn¿t stop reading it or it was a must read. Some things I liked about the book are that she was sixteen and that is close to my age and I could see where she was coming from. Some things that happened to her also happened to some people I know and me also. Another thing I liked is the romance part. I really enjoy a book with romance and this had some in it. The cover of the book really catches my eye. I love looking at the cover and I try to picture myself there. Some other books Sarah Dessen has written are: Someone like You, Keeping the Moon, Dreamland, This Lullaby, and The Truth about Forever. She is a fairly new author with a good imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    Fair

    THAT SUMMER published by Penguin By Sarah Dessen Group (USA) Inc. 1996 $7.99 ISBN 0-14- 240172-2 Haven¿s summer is off too a bad start. Her father is getting married to the women he had an affair with, while still married to Haven¿s mom. On top of that, Haven¿s sister is getting married to the polite but bland Lewis Warsher, who Haven thinks has taken her old wild fun- loving sister and replaced her with a more mature and subdued sister. This has been hard for Haven, but she¿s hoping the arrival of her best friend from 4-H camp will take her mind off the marriages at home. However, when Haven¿s best friend comes back she has changed, and not to Haven¿s liking. Haven, being somewhat of a shy girl, who feels that even though she¿s six feet tall, and still growing, is transparent to everyone, is used to her best friend being similarly reserved and goody-goody. To her surprise, Casey, her best friend has come back as somewhat of a bad girl, smoking and on the phone with her long distance boyfriend 24/7. This makes it even harder for Haven. Then Sumner comes along, Haven¿s sister¿s ex-boyfriend from years ago. He still seems to have his old charm, but will that be enough to keep this teen fiction¿s Haven from falling into despair? This is the fourth Sarah Dessen book I¿ve read. I¿m recognizing similarities in all of her books, typically designed to capture the interest of teenage girls, who may have similar concerns of their own. The elements of a typical Sarah Dessen book are that there is a girl who has issues of some sort, and a boy comes into her life and changes everything. In this book, she carried that out by telling a story about a girl who is having a rough time with her family and her best friend, but her sister¿s ex- boyfriend comes and helps her through it. That Summer engaged me because it left me hanging, as I didn¿t know what was next in the girl¿s life. It had me turning the pages, hoping to find out if the crisis of the moment would turn out okay. Even so, if you read more than one of her books, they may become tiresome, because they are all so similar. I¿d say that this book would be best read by young teen-age girls, because even though the main character is older (sixteen), the book is a simple read. Was That Summer a classic book of great literature? No. But was it a fun, easy, creative and recreational read? Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    An okay book

    After reading 'Someone Like You' and 'Keeping the Moon' i have to admitt that i was a little disappointed in this book. i thought the plot was sort of boring especially for a Sarah Dessen book. it deffinatley isn't one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Not the best Sara Dessen has written but still good

    I enjoyed this book a lot. Although I have read better by Sara Dessen, I still thought the book was descent. The ending was kind of strange, but the plot was very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5