BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    That Summer

    This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
    The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
    In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is amazing!
    Its wonderful and truly great!
    I will read it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PRETTY GOOD!

    I liked this book. It's about 15 year old Haven who's freakishly tall at almost 6 feet and is having a lot of family issues.Her mom and dad are divorced and it's summertime and she attends her father's wedding to the local weather girl that her mom calls the weather pet(who she finds out a month later is pregnant) She has to deal with her bratty older sister(Ashley) who is also getting married that summer.She meets up again with her sister's exboyfriend Sumner(who happens to be her favorite of all her sister's boyfriends) and thinks he's the only one who can make her feel like her life is normal. She goes back in her mind to the summer that her sister and Sumner were together and her life seemed happier. Haven finds herself and learns a few life lessons that summer!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Great book.

    Nice book about family and relationships. Sometimes things look too difficult but there is always a way to get thru, there always is. Great message at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    love the book ! Click here for more info!(:

    Loved this book!(: i can realte alot to this book like go her older sister ashely because ive had alot of bf like her & boths of theyre nsmes where robert & michale for me too! So yeah i thaugh its kinda weired !(: && i realte alot to ashely because i am 5'1 && my shoe size is a size 5 or 6 and i feel like i relate lot to ashleky ihts like thid book was written about me!. But yeah i recoment this book (: so read ny revie then buy the book kk byee love yahh !! With kisses barbie (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!

    I really loved this book! Haven was such an amazing person and I really did enjoy the flashbacks that involved Sumner. This book was really warm-hearted and I really enjoyed reading it on the beach :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Pretty good book

    That summer was a great book. I absolutely love sarah dessen. Even though this wasnt one of my favorite books by her i think everyone should try to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Cute, quick read.

    I read this nook in a matter of hours. It was cute and i enjoyed it for the most part. I found mysrlf feeling bad for the main character a lot, and disliking the others. But overall it was good and sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Okay

    Haven thinks back to when things were good while she and her family deal with her dad's remarriage and her sister's upcoming wedding. Heard a lot about Sarah Dessen's books. After reading this, I thought the book was okay. Not bad or anything. I liked the writing style, the pace and setting. I'll definitely read the other books. Recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Liked

    Like it but not like her others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Awesome

    Very juicy and the way the author writes it makes you want to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    That summer

    This book was very hard to get into at first, but once you get near the end it gets better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Good

    Im 11 and i really dont like reading but Sarah Dessen is my favorite author and i thouht this book was really great and so are all the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    :)

    Wasn't sure at first but glad I stuck to it. Cute book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    For teens everywhere!!

    I am absolutley in love with this author!:) She combines heartbrake, love, family, friends, and everything else that teenagers can totally relate to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Easy read!*

    That summer was an easy read.. I would recommend it..!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Pretty+good.

    Considering+that+this+was+my+first+Sarah+Dessen+book%2C+I+loved+it.+But+after+reading+her+others%2C+that+big+tie+around+%22loving+it%22+turned+to+%22liking+it%22.+Its+good%2C+not+the+best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sarah Dessen Delivers Again.

    The way that this story came together was fantastic. It was such a short story but you really got a lot out of it. Haven thinks back to the summer where Ashley's boyfriend Sumner Lee goes to Virginia Beach with her family. It was the last time that they were all happy together as a family and Haven clamps onto the fact that Sumner was there with them and so when she meets up with him again, she clings onto him. Not in a love me, choose me kind of way but in a big brother kind of way where she wishes that Ashley would have stayed with him so that they could have hung on to the happiness that they had back in the day.

    Yeah, it doesn't work that way. Life doesn't work that way and watching Haven come to realize that things aren't always what they seem and that sometimes, you just have to move on was an enjoyable roller coaster. I enjoyed getting to know Haven and I enjoyed this story, it's another good one from Dessen and fans of her stuff will enjoy this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    Ehh..

    It was an alright book. An overused plot. If you read more books by Sarah Dessen, you'll probably agree this wasn't her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7