Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Great book - You should read :)

    Okay, so I read Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen and that was my first Sarah Dessen book. After I finished that, I wanted more and more and more of this author so my mom took me to the book store and I got That Summer. That Summer really shows how a girls family can have a huge effect on her life. It also proves that a guy you might think is everything you wanted and is the only thing that can keep your family together, is probably not who he turns out to be. I would highly reccomend this to mothers of teenagers and teenagers. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Caught my daughter's interest.

    My daughter reads almost anything by Sarah Dessen, but really liked this book. Was talking about it for days to me after she finished. She was giving me little tidbits here and there about the characters and their stories. She was pleased with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    Not Her Best

    This book was really good, but it was not Sarah Dessen's best. I enjoyed the story; it only took me a couple of hours to read, but it wasn't as touching as her others. As someone who must write book reviews for school, i think this one would be harder to establish a complete theme for. I really don't know what it was i didn't like about it but i think it has to do with character development. Normally, Sarah's books have very good character development but this one i just didn't feel it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    soo good

    love sarahs books:)
    another good one
    loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    slow but steady

    this book was a little slow in the beginning but in the end very enlightening. at times i was wondering what one thing had to do with the other but it all ended working out for haven. maybe not the way i would see it going but thats what made it fun to finish. it is a perfect summer book. sarah captured everything that a person (and i) love about summer. she got the description down to a T of what summer is like for a teenager. i love sarah dessen novels and this one was definitly worth reading. it might seem hard to get into at first but the charachter of haven definitly grows in more ways than just her ever changing height. i reccomend this book to those who seek something more than just a romance novel. because it wasnt really a romance novel. and i was really pleasntly surprised. i found myself rooting for havens charchter as she came into herself and found her voice.it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    Much as i love Sarah Dessen's books this one wasnt her best. That Summer is the fifth book that i have read by her. It was pretty decent, i liked the fact that it was very realistic to teenagers and a great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    well

    okay so this book was not one of my favorites but it is a good book and it did make me laugh and cry. and thats a good thing. so if you want to read it go ahead. because you will like it.

    its a little boring and has its dull moments, then again it was sarah dessen's first novel, so you have to give it a chance.

    i did. its good. i recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    That summer review by book_worm91

    That summer was a pretty decent book. Some parts were boring but I countine to read and it got interesting towards the end. I recommend this book to everyone including Sarah Dessen's other novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    Review (That Summer)

    the book was about a young girl that was having a flash back on her summer vacation. She explained the good times and bad times. After awhile she started to talk about real life stories and hoe they impacted her in a special ways. In the beginning of the book she was describing her father's wedding with the weather lady that everyone was falling for at work.Near the end of the book it has a recap of all her summer memories and experience with life. Her sister had a great time at her wedding as well. Her mother and father never talked again but some how the mom and her ex-husband's wife started to talk and become friends. I think that this was one of the best books i read so far because it talks about reality and not fantasy. Many people had good feedback on this book before. When i saw the reviews and how long they were i thought i was going to go insane. But when i started to read i actually liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Trite While Different.

    I really really enjoyed this book. A lot of people told me that it was their least favorite of Sarah Dessen's books but I have to disagree. I've only read This Lullaby and That Summer so I can't act like I'm familiar with all of her novels. I think everyone has a different favorite of Sarah Dessen's books and so far this is mine. It was a light story, but Sarah made it feel so much deeper. Basically what I'm trying to say that it was a really, really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    That Summer- review from a 14 year old

    That Summer is a great book for girls from the ages of eleven and up. Haven, a fifteen year old girl feels stuck. She can't drive yet, and has to deal with the mass chaos and drama for her sister Ashley's upcoming wedding. With her dad off and married to his new "trophy wife" Lorna, or shall we call her the Weather Pet, Haven is the only one in her house who can keep her head, unlike Ashley and her mom. In the past, Haven and her family's life happenings seemed to have been centered around her sister Ashley's boyfriends. Ashley dated all kinds of boys, but there was one in particular that sparks Haven's memory as she remembers the summer spent with him. His name was Sumner. There was something special, different, yet cunningly unique about him. Sumner made Ashley a better person. Sumner was someone everyone loved being around. In the midst of all of Haven's dwellings on Ashley's ex-boyfriends, Sumner shows up again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great bones for a story, but no meat.

    My first Sarah Dessen book was Just Listen (highly recommended) and since reading it I have been looking for another great book by her. I have only come across "good" books by her though. This was another of those books. I think the plot was fantastic and it left you wondering throughout the entire book "what happened between Ashley and Sumner." I am sorry to say that the book was somewhat on the dry side, I think the characters should be more individulized to make the story work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    A Not So Forgettable Summer

    Young Haven just wants her family to be like it used to be. Back before her dad married his co-worker, her sister got engaged to calm, boring Louis and her mom started dressing gaudy with the nosy next door neighbor lady, but the good old days are out of reach this summer. So Haven just tries to go along and hide what she really wants while she¿s also trying to grow into her gangly, awkward teenage body. Then out of nowhere she sees her sister¿s old boyfriend Sumner, who brings her mind back to the days when everyone was happy together. As Haven tries to put Sumner back into their lives, she finds the secret as to why he left in the first place. That Summer definitely wasn¿t my favorite Sarah Dessen book. I thought that the book was boring and nothing really exciting happened. I also didn¿t like how upset Haven got, but she wouldn¿t say anything to her family and friends. What I liked about That Summer was that the author made it seem like a real family and real family dilemmas. I would recommend That Summer to teenage girls who enjoy drama. If you enjoy That Summer you¿ll enjoy the other books by Sarah Dessen such as Just Listen or Someone Like You. Although this wasn¿t my favorite book, I still think you should take the time to read That Summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A

    Definitely a good book for young girls (10-16). All of Sarah Dessen's books are fabulous! This book was a little young for my taste, but still an easy and delightful read nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    great

    that summer by sarah dessen is easy for teen girls to relate to. it is about a fifteen year old girl, Haven, whose sister is soon getting married, her dad just got married and his new wife is now expecting a child and her mom wants to move and start new. this book also talks about how Haven is spending time with her best friend who just got home from camp and she feels like she doesn't even know her anymore. Haven also looks back on that one perfect summer where everything fell into place and how now everything is a big confusion for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    summer

    i loved this book. in a way it is like many girls' lives today. i recommend it to manyyy people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Appropriate Summer Read

    This wasn't exactly my favorite from Miss Dessen but I'd recommend it to any girl who's looking for a simple summer read. (It took me about two days to read it). The thing I love about Sarah's novels is that they are all SO real. The relationships, the emotions, the hardships, they're all easy to believe and relate to. That Summer is a nice coming-of-age story about Haven, who learns a thing or two about herself and her family through out the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    A Book Unfinished

    I thought this book could have been more interesting in the beginning and stayed that way until the end.I never finished this book but I got to about the 3rd or 4th chapter it was pretty good but it started to get more interesting by the chapter. I am a fan of love stories and reality but I also enjoy Sarah Dessen's book I think they are very very good.My favorite of her books is the Someone Like You it so good well anyways I recommend this book it sounds good and everyone says that it is a really great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have to say I really enjoyed this book. Dessen wrote it with such an ease and grace. I was most impressed that this was her first book as well. I read this book in a day and it caught my attention easily. It flowed nicely and had some good points and morals that can make you think about life and love. Overall I thought this was a GOOD book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The Summer Everything Changed

    Haven is 15 years old and almost six feet tall. She¿s having a very difficult time. Her dad is marrying Lorna Queen (the girl he had an affair with), her sister Ashley is marrying Lewis (who Haven doesn¿t like), she¿s working at a place she absolutely hates, and she runs into Ashley¿s ex-boyfriend Sumner Lee. Out of all Ashley¿s boyfriends, Sumner was the best. He made everything fun and everyone happy. Ashley was madly in love with him, but on the night of the Halloween party, she broke up with him. Haven has no clue why. As she keeps seeing Sumner Lee, she starts speaking her mind more. Everyone thinks something is wrong with her. Ashley thinks she¿s trying to ruin her wedding. In the end, Ashley and Haven are closer than ever before, and it¿s all because of Sumner Lee. I liked this book because it is a real-life situation. I kept wondering what Sumner Lee was going to do next. I would recommend this book to teenage girls who like to read about relationships and teenage dramas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7