Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Although many of the reviews on here say it is not Dessen's best, they have to understand that is it her first- therefore, not the most polished. But even for her first it is a good book, with developed characters and unique quirks to each one that made the people memorable. Again, it is a book worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Another great book from sarah dessen!

    This was the second book i have read of sarah dessen ,its not as good as Dreamland ,but it was still a great book,i havn't finished yet but im very engrossed in it once i start reading i can't stop. I love the way sarah dessen makes you feel like your actully there in the book ,and she gives you little things that you can relate too! all i can say is KEEP ON WRITING SARAH DESSEN ! i know one persen who will keep reading them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    beautifully written!

    That summer is the first Sarah Dessen book I read even though I had read it about a month ago,I will never forget how Sarah Dessen made the book seem so real, and so pure. I love this book! I even lent my copy to a friend she was done reading it in two days she said it was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Good

    This book was good. Nothing major happened but it was really easy to read and i finished it in like one day. It was the first Sarah Dessen book i've ever read but it wont be my last! I love her writing style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Pretty Good!

    I didn't think this was Sarah Dessens best book but it was pretty good. It's really easy to relate to the main character, Haven. Dessen always creates such interesting characters for her books and it was the same for this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Unforgettable Characters

    At first I was very reluctant to read this book, and when I started the first few chapters I was rather bored, but when she began to talk about Sumner and really develop Haven and the other characters I found I really enjoyed it. I really did fall in love with Sumner, he was my favorite character and he really came to life - I felt like I knew him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Okay

    I actually thought that it was okay but it is true if you have read some of her other books it is a little disopointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Good one!

    Even when Sarah Dessen's books aren't the best, they're still the best, if you get me. I preferred Keeping the Moon and This Lullaby but this one was still quite the read. I read this along with Someone Like You because it was combined for that How to Deal movie thing. Anyway, I can relate to Haven. She and Ashley aren't terribly close and I think they are both to blame - Ashley for being so selfish and absorbed with the wedding and Haven for not really making an effort to have that sisterly bond thing going on. She didn't HAVE to tell Lewis about the bachlorette incident. Whatever. Haven and Ashley develop more as people throughout the novel and that developmental process is what draws them closer together. I can also relate to Haven because she is at an awkward stage that I was at when I was about 13...except it was more of a fast-devolping thing. Anyway, this, for me, was a two-day read. I read it over at summer camp and soon after, girls were asking me if they could borrow it. I've read it many times since then and it is now on my bookshelf with the rest of my novels. I'd recommend it to any girl aged 12 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Fun quick-read

    My first book by Sarah Dessen was 'Someone Like You' then I went on to read 'Keeping the Moon'. I really liked her writing style, so my friend Susan recommended that I read Dessens first book 'That Summer'. I absolutely loved it. I read it within a few hours. It's not a very challenging book that you have to think about. It's more of a fun quick summer read. I love the character Haven. I think a lot of teenage girls like myself can relate to her. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to get away for awhile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    SUCH a good book!!

    This book was great- 15-year old Haven really swoops you into her world. Between her sister's hectic wedding and her awful mall job, she learns to be stronger and like herself more. One part was very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    You've Gotta read this!!

    This book is great!! It makes you feel like you are a part of the story! That Summer is happy, sad, funny,heartwarming, and shows how hard being a teenager really is for all of those who have forgotten!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    in one mans opinion

    when i started reading this, i didn't expect to like it at all. but there was something different about it. it had a much more mature and reality to it. sarah dessen is an excellent writer, and has a very natural feel for mood, dialogue, and charater. 'that summer' was about the only book i have read that I could relate to in alot of respectes. this is a great read any one who likes good literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    A Great Real Life Book

    This book is great because it tells of the real life problams that a teen can go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 7