Customer Reviews for

That Summer

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

That Summer

This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this o...
This is the first novel Sarah Dessen ever published. It's very short but its a good read. It shows Sarah's style of writing pretty easily. She really dipitcs how a teenage girl thinks and the problems and struggles that goes on in our minds. Like all of her books this one has debth which is very unlike most chick teen novels. There is always a lessen learned at the end of the book.
The bad thing about this book is that it's very quick. I could give a quick overview in about 5 minutes and you would know the whole book. Nevertheless it's a good day read.
In lyrical and unforgettably graceful prose, Sarah Dessen's first novel is at first glance a dull and unsatisfying story, but the closer you read into it, you begin to see the connections and truths and metaphors hidden within every sentence. The characters are deep and dimensional, and though the plot is rather cliche at first, Sarah Dessen takes us to new heights. A story built solidly, spectacularly, and beautifully.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

That Summer Review

I was very disappointed with this book. I stopped in the middle, it was so boring. This book does not keep you awake so I think you shouldn't read it. Take my advice!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I am obsessed wih sarah dessen and this is just another one of her masterpieces. I read this book in a day and loved it. I strongly suggest readibg this book for short read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    That Summer

    This book was very good! The ending was a great surprise. Overall, it is a good book as are most of her writings. I would recommend this book to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It is captivating. I could not put it down. Absolutely love it.

    It is captivating. I could not put it down. Absolutely love it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Awesome sause

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    PLEASE READ!!!

    I have truly loved all of Sarah Dessens books, but does every single on have an "ugly divorce"? I mean seriously! She may have had to deal with one in her life, but she doesn't have to take it out on her readers. None the less, i still love her books an they make me cry every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    Ive read her other books and am excited for this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Tap here:))))!!!!!

    Im reading the actual book like on paper and it is great. I can total relate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    ?....

    Is there romance i lov dessen and her romance parts it just brings the biok out soooo is there romance?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Read

    I havent rea this book yet but i read all the revies and they seen all good so i think im going to bye thubook hope i lik it thanks for all yhe good review i havent seen one bad reviewfor yhis book and no stars for less then 4 starss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    awsome

    This book was one of the best i have evr read in my life!I feel so bad for hevan when she has to mkevthe best of her new life it is just flattering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Wow loved it

    I think this book is amazing!!! When i was reading it i couldn't put it down. I think you need to read this amazing story about a girl who has a busy summer and can't really keep up with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Loved it!

    I read this in 6th grade and i still remember it in 9th! It was and amzing story! All of sarahs books leave an imprint on me. My motto is: if you read a story and a year later you still remember the characters and the plot, it was worth reading. That means it either imprinted you emotionally or mentally, and really thats all i could ever ask of a book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great

    This book is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Good fir going on eighth grader?????

    I was watcging a video of macbarbie07s on youtube where she recommended tons of good summer reads and she said this was a good one so i dont know... should?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Good

    Ya... lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Is this a romance book or what?

    Can somebody answer my question?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Stargazer

    I absolutly loved this book!!!!! I was extremely good and i cant wait to read more books by sara dessen!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good book

    This is her first book so i didnt expect for it to be as good as it is. I'm not reading it on my nook, but still. I reccomend it to people who like romantic and challenging books. I'm only 11 but i LOVE sarah dessen!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Great Book

    Truly a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    my opinion...

    I think this was a really enjoyable book! It made me feel a variety of emotions, which is always a good thing. The only thing I complained about was its kina predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9