BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

That Was Then, This Is Now

Average Rating 4.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Book

    Book review:
    That Was Then This is Now


    This is a book by the great author of the Outsiders S.E. Hinton. This takes place in the 60's. Love, lies, fights, and other mixed emotions throughout this twisted story of two friends. If you liked the Outsiders this would be a perfect book for you. Brian is a normal sixteen year old boy who has his best friend lives with him and his mom. Mark is a thief and hot wires cars to get places, while Brian is trustworthy but feels like he's fading away from his best friend Mark who he calls his brother.
    Brian meets M and M's sister Cathy who he hasn't seen since he was thirteen. They eventually start dating and get really serious together. Cathy is seriously worried about her brother who is a hippie kid that does drugs. Her father doesn't respect anything he does for him and M and M gets emotional and runs away with his hippie friends. While Cathy is searching for her brother in the help of Brian, Brian gets his own issues with his brother her is acting strange. One day Brian and Mark go downtown to a local bar to hustle for some money they owe Charlie the bartender.
    Charlie warns the two of them about hustling these two Texans. After they hustle the two Texans and give the money to Charlie they walk out the door face to face with a gun from one of the Texans. They say their going to teach Mark and Brian a lesson.
    The Texans take them to the alley behind the bar to do away with them when Charlie shows up to save them. Carrying a sawed off shot-gun. Charlie is shot in the left eye just as they leave the alley when Mark takes up the gun and shoots back at the Texans. Brian takes possession of Charlie's car and helps the search for Cathy. Mark knows where M and M is so he takes Brian there. Brian can't find M and M that day. Brian takes Cathy to the hippie house to find M and M. They find him on a bad trip on acid. They take him to the hospital and he may not be the same, says the doctor. Brian goes home that night to find pills and drugs Mark had been selling and calls the cops. Mark is thrown into custody and Brian is mixed up now. He finally breaks up with Cathy and moves on with his life.
    By:Epic Failure

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    This is a great read

    This is such a great read. I had read this in less than a week and the topic and writing was so on point. I love S. E. Hinton she is such a great author. I couldn't put this book down it was too good.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    I love it!

    I love the relashionship between the two boys. It's the only book that's almost made me cey, that's how amazing S.E. Hinton is. But I do have to say that my favorite book by her is "Rumble Fish" and than it's "That Was Then This Is Now" But then again every book by her is amazing. This one is a must read and if you like I would read all of her books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    One Great Book!

    "That Was Then this is Now" is a wonderful book. It teaches you about life, and has a very strong introduction to the story. It shows the problems two boys are facing Bryon and mark.
    The main points have a lot of suspense, for when Bryon and Mark hustled the Texans and then the Texans took the kids down an alley, and threatened them I was on the edge wanting to know what happened next. The book shows you that when you do something bad there will be consequences, and I think that the Texans were a perfect example of that. Also some of the main points were about Bryon and Mark's friendship growing apart, Mark is jealous and feels threatened by Cathy, Bryon's girlfriend
    In a lot of way this book reminded me of "The Outsiders", another one of S.E.Hintons books. They are full of suspense and feelings between greasers, the downtown punks, and the socks the uptown rich people. Both are about kids that are still growing up and are facing a lot of problems that life is throwing at them. This book is the best book I have ever read in my life.
    This book is wonderful and I know a lot of people will like and enjoy it very much. The book does an excellent job of showing friendship, and what not to do with your life. I would recommend this book to teenagers and adults. Mark and Bryon can show how life can go with bad choices; this book is more than entertainment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    amazing

    Book title and author: That Was Then, This is Now S.E Hinton
    Title of review: Review of That Was Then, This is Now
    Number of stars (1 to 5):

    Introduction
    The book is about 2 boys Bryon and Mark that tell a story of their childhood time. From people dying to meeting new people this story tells what it was like in the 70s. The two guys are brothers. After Marks parents died they Bryon's mom took him in.
    Description and summary of main points
    Bryon meets a girl while visiting his mom in the hospital. Her name is Cathy and she is M&Ms older sister. They share a close relationship. Bryon ends up falling in love with her. Mark is more in to just hanging out with his friends. He is a pretty nice kid, but he steals cars and also has a bad reputation.
    Evaluation
    What is great about this story is that it teaches great and important lessons. This book is great to teach kids about what drugs do to kids. This is one of my favorite book by S.E Hinton.
    Conclusion
    I think this is a great book and great for all ages. From the heartwarming stories to the lesson of drugs this is a great story. Every time I finished a chapter I wanted to read more. It grabs the reader's attention and you stick on to the story. Although some parts can be boring most of the time it is suspenseful and fun.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    An American Classic

    "That was then this is now," is a great book telling the story of the trials of a sixteen year old boy during the 1960's. The story takes place in a small town where two best friends Mark and Bryon live. S.E. Hinton tells the life story of these boys through the eyes of Bryon. As they grow up they start to drift apartas Bryon starts spending more time with girls instead of Mark. The main character Mark and Bryon are best friends that call each other brother. As you read this book you will find out all the hardships of their lives. When Mark and Bryon were kids they were insuperable now as they grow up Mark still acts like its old times, while Bryon is moving on and caring about more important things. Bryon and Mark help their friend M and M when he gets mugged by the Shepherd gang. They visit their mom in the hospital as well as a boy who got hurt helping this one black girl. Then Bryon sees Cathy who he hasn't seen in three years. They start dating and get very serious. Then the boys hustle some Texans and almost get shot till Charlie saves them but loses his own life. Then M and M runs away with some of his friends. You will have to read the book to find out the rest. This book is an amazing cross between light-hearted, mature, and brutal writing. This is now one of my favorite books. It very much succeeded in its purpose of getting me to think about everything in my life. I gave this book four out of five stars. It was so good in using sensory details. You feel like you're there with Bryon as he tells the story. I gave this book four out of five stars. It was so good in using sensory details. You feel like you're there with Bryon as he tells the story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Hfgvt

    This is a good book that really stands out! A good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book is totaly awesome touching

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!

    Written by S. E. Hinton the great author of The Outsiders, you immediately get drawn into the story. That Was Then This Is Now is a story about two brothers named Bryon and Mark. Mark is technically not biologically Bryon's brother, but was adopted into the family after his parents shot each other in a drunken argument. The book goes deeply into their relationship as not only brothers but best friends. That Was Then This is Now even reintroduces Ponyboy Curtis the main character of The Outsiders. I do however suggest that you read the ending in a private place for it is by far a tear jerker. Overall this is one of Hinton's greatest books and should be read and appreciated for its articulate story and detailed characters

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    that was then this is now

    This book takes place after the outsiders, and keeps Ponyboy Curtis in the book. This is a book about the transition in which the socs and greasers are finally making there differences work out. It's a story about betrayal and times changing. If you liked the outsiders, this book is a lot sadder and you might tear up a little.

    I literally almost threw my book against the wall from the ending. It was so raw and sad. I've never read a book like this in my entire life and I loved it. I could almost see myself in the book and being there when it happened. The outsiders is my favorite book, but this book is right behind it. I honestly almost cried a little in this book because it was so sad. But overall I would give this book an overall 9 out of 10 in how much I liked it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    That was then, this is now

    That was then, this is now was one of the best books i have ever read! I absolutley loved it. I think the only problem was that the story did not have any type of happy ending AT ALL. It was a very deppresing story; nothing happy except for bryon going out with cathy. FROM NOW ON, MY REVIEW MAY BE A SPOILER! Charlie was shot saving bryon and mark, m&m took acid and became mentally crazy, bryon had mark, his own brother, arrested for selling pills, and bryon broke up with cathy and she went out with bryons enemy. Then, bryon started failing in school, and he went to see mark in prison and mark tried to kill him for getting him arrested. The story was very interesting but sad, and i was dissapointed by the ending, but the book was great and you should deffinitley read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Perfect Companion to the Outsiders

    I would recommend this read to anyone who enjoyed The Outsiders. I've seen that many people had a problem with an ending, but I thought it was just right. This book is about a friendship that has lasted a long time, but one friend begins to pull away. It's an honest representation of how people change and the trials in their life that change them. If you are someone who didn't enjoy the ending, I suggest reading what SE Hinton has to say about her own writing, as it may open your eyes to the reasons behind this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Straight-forward and thought provoking!

    I first read this book when I was 11 years old It is one of those books that has stayed with me since then Those who give a bad review to this book obviously do not seem to understand the point the author is making (SE HInton is a female by the way) to teens about drug use and how it can change lives as it did for the main character

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    The Best Book Ever!

    The book talks about two boys that lived in the 60's named Bryon and Mark. Mark thinks that he and Bryon are growing a part. S.E. Hinton wrote this to influence kids about drugs and beer and how some people grow apart because of things like love, fights, and lies. Mark and Bryon grow apart because Bryon has a girlfriend that he loves dearly and Mark feels as if Bryon is ignoring him to be with his girlfriend.Bryon and Mark are growing apart because of Bryon's new girlfriend. Bryon spends more time with his girlfriend instead of spending time with Mark. This book was amazing; I could understand it really well. This book could relate to teens and young adults. Most of the things that happened in the book are things that could happen to every teen. Everything in the book was very easy to understand for me to understand. Mark and Byron were friends from the start and they were never apart. Until, Bryon got a girlfriend and stopped hanging out with Mark.Mark and Bryon are the main characters. They go through so much throughout the book. Like death, fight, drama and love. Mark and Bryon live in the 60's, and spend the week days at school and their weekends at the hospital visiting their mother.Mark and Bryon grow apart because Bryon has a girlfriend that he loves dearly and Mark feels as if Bryon is ignoring him to be with his girlfriend. Mark and Bryon are very close and then grow apart and throughout the book they have many problems.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    A Book you Won't Forget

    When I picked this book up, I thought it would be just another one of those boring novels that you have to read. Although, when I started reading it, I soon came to figure out that it wasn't boring at all. In fact it was amazing in just the few pages I read, Then I was hooked. I couldn't stop reading, and I had to be told by others to stop, but I couldn't.

    This story takes place at around the 1960's when smoking and taking drugs was cool, and if you weren't in a gang, you would be beat up. That is how Mark and Bryon in this story had to live. Although, this book really tells the life style of a kid from that time.

    This story is mainly built on friendship and love from the two friends, and other characters in the story. Through the whole course of the book it is all about the twist and surprises of Mark and Bryon's life and friendship. The book kept you guessing on what will happen next, because you never would know. That is what made this story amazing and suspenseful.

    I personally loved the book. I also think it has a good plot with a great conflict. As I said the whole story is summed up in the title "That was Then and This is Now."

    To me, it was the best book I Have ever read and I hope that other will want to read this book, because I truly believe you won't forget it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    That Was Then This is Now is an Exciting Book That Young People Will Enjoy Reading.

    That Was Then, This is Now by S.E. Hinton takes place in the southern U.S. in the 1960's and tells the story of two half-brothers, Bryon and Mark. After a fight, Bryon meets a girl named Cathy who he dates. Days later, Bryon and Mark get into a scuffle with two Texans they try to hustle in pool. Charlie, their friend and the bar owner, is killed trying to save Mark and Bryan. Later, their friend, M&M, who has smoked marijuana, jumps out of the car and is not seen for days. Days later, after Bryon and Mark shave their drunken friend Angela's head and throw her onto her front lawn, Bryon is beaten up horribly in an act of revenge. When Cathy later visits Bryon in the hospital, Bryon admits that he is in love with her. After Bryon recovers, he and Cathy find M&M, though they soon realize that he is completely confused. When they take him to the hospital, doctors say that he may never be the normal again. In the end Bryon learns a terrible secret about Mark that pulls them apart forever.
    While reading the book, I had many positive and negative feelings. First, there is a really funny character named M&M who is always staring into a bag of M&M's and saying how groovy they look. Second,the ending is really shocking and very unexpected. Finally, the book deals with real life situations including the decisions kids make whether or not to use drugs. One negative feeling the book left me with was the book's very depressing ending. Bryon's relationships with both Cathy and Mark are destroyed. Another involves the book's back cover. It states that Bryon will "discover something about Mark". That "something" doesn't occur until the final 5-20 pages of the story, which doesn't give the author enough time to explain the whole concept of what is going on. Finally, there are some very awkward parts like when M&M went berserk after taking drugs.
    Though the author speaks mostly in slang, it is done well enough to be work and sound normal. Expressions such as "ain't", "cause", "shoot" and a number of curse words are used. The author uses very simple words including "wise", "against", "hard" and others instead of big complex ones. Often her sentences appear to be run-ons. This all seems to work, however, and make the characters seem more believable. For example, the author might say "You ain't my best friend." I can imagine someone speaking like this as it makes it seem more realistic.
    Overall, I would recommend this book. First, even though the end is really depressing, it has a great surprise. Secondly, some parts are very exciting and have a lot of tension. This was the case when Mark and Bryon were about to get beaten up by two Texans. A final reason is because the plot keeps changing. One of the times this happened was during the prom when Bryon was having a nice time, and then suddenly he's rushing over to a hospital to see if his injured brother is o.k. Three similar books to this are The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, After by Francine Rose, and Taming the Star Runner, also by S.E. Hinton. Three books I'd also recommend are Hatchet by Gary Paulson, Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix, and The 39 Clues series by Rick Riordan. Hatchet is about a boy, stranded in the wilderness alone, trying to survive. Among the Hidden is about a child at risk in a place where the government limits families from having more than two children. The 39 Clues is about two children trying to unlock great riches.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Decent

    Although it was an okay book, it really was a dissapointment after reading S.E Hintons, "The Outsiders." The main problem in the book didnt occur until about the last 20 pages and just like the outsiders, it was sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Hello?

    A small light brown app with a black with on ginger paw app pad in. The brown app had a long very deep infected cut. Hello I am Thrushpaw this is my brother Coalpaw we would like to join.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Flightpath & co.

    Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Goldenstripe to Horseclan (computer)
    Goldenstripe sudd

    Goldenstripe to Horseclan (computer) <br />

    Goldenstripe suddenly rose from his spot and padded towards the High Log. He hated the idea of replacing Velvetstar, it made no sense that Starclan would do such a thing, but worrying over whether or not it was right did not change the fact that Velvetstar was gone and Horseclan needed a leader. &quot;Maybe she will come back like last time.&quot; he reassured himself as he jumped onto the High Log, although he knew this was very different than the last time. There was no way for her to come back if she had no more lives. The task of being a leader had never been a challenge Goldenstripe believed he could accomplish, but it was too late to doubt now. Calling for Horseclan to gather, the golden tom looked at the crowd of heartbroken cats with an equally heartbroken gaze. He tried to speak but he had no idea what to say. &quot;Wolfheart, Lynx, and Harikamoon took Velvetstar away, and she cannot come back,&quot; Goldenstripe meowed finally. His voice was firm but still wavering weakly. &quot;She is missed and will never be forgotten...&quot; he trailed off as tears suddenly threatened to fall again. 'You have to keep going,' he told himself coolly, inhaling a shallow breath. &quot;I will visit the moonpool tonight, and announce a deputy when I return.&quot; Having said all he felt he could, the quiet golden deputy jumped off the High Log. He avoided the gaze of anyone and returned to Velvetstar's den. ~Goldenstripe ( P. S. Okay guys this is important so make sure you read it all! I conveniently was drafted for the same job Velvetstars leaving for on Saturday (Its sort of complicated, but basically, Velvets working with this person on all their ranch responsibilities so she's working there long term, he just needs extra help for one job thats starting Tuesday that I'm also helping with) I won't have to leave until Tuesday though, and I'll be back roughly on the 23. The thing is its a cross state cattle drive so I won't have internet and we could end up finishing sooner or later. Anyways, I will try to post with my phone here and there when I get reception. And there is a good chance that Velvetstar won't be back here for a while, today she'll be gone running errands and tomorrow she's got to move all her stuff (horse, horse trailer, saddle equipment) to the new place which is an all day job. So she wants you guys to read her post at &quot;Agnes Sallet&quot; only result and also she would like it if you all could respond there so she can see them when she comes back. So Goldys gonna go to the moonpool (Lilywolf I need to talk to you at our book before then) and pick a deputy tonight. Then I'm gonna say he's really depressed to explain why he won't be around too much at first. So don't forget to respond to Velvets post, I'll be back tonight!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17