BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 100

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book is incredible. I will have to admit that there were so

This book is incredible. I will have to admit that there were some snoozer parts in there. I just finished it and just about screamed of irritation because there is a second half to the book. I should have known. now I will have to wait for the next to come. yay....I LO...
This book is incredible. I will have to admit that there were some snoozer parts in there. I just finished it and just about screamed of irritation because there is a second half to the book. I should have known. now I will have to wait for the next to come. yay....I LOVE waiting.
word of advice...don't read it until the second book comes.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Clifhanger you say i say where is the second half of my book?

Getting into the characters and liking it more or less then. BAM! Acnowledgements..... um where did the rest of the book go? Oh you split it up to make a sequal how kind of you to give us some time to prepare for the second half, and bonus yall, we get to pay for the pr...
Getting into the characters and liking it more or less then. BAM! Acnowledgements..... um where did the rest of the book go? Oh you split it up to make a sequal how kind of you to give us some time to prepare for the second half, and bonus yall, we get to pay for the privelege. Aint that thoughtful.

posted by 4349606 on October 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Clifhanger you say i say where is the second half of my book?

    Getting into the characters and liking it more or less then. BAM! Acnowledgements..... um where did the rest of the book go? Oh you split it up to make a sequal how kind of you to give us some time to prepare for the second half, and bonus yall, we get to pay for the privelege. Aint that thoughtful.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Great Book

    This was truly a great book, I could not put it down- literally. I got it at 10 in the morning and finished at 5 at night. It was good, the plot was really interesting and futuristic. I loved the settings, characters and plot. The only thing or things I absolutely hated about the book is the ending and the fact the next book isn't out and the let downs on some of the characters. But the characters certainly made a very interesting book and plot. Overall, this book was a 4 throughout the book but the ending for somethings made it a 3. But if you are thinking of reading this book, read it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    This book is incredible. I will have to admit that there were so

    This book is incredible. I will have to admit that there were some snoozer parts in there. I just finished it and just about screamed of irritation because there is a second half to the book. I should have known. now I will have to wait for the next to come. yay....I LOVE waiting.
    word of advice...don't read it until the second book comes.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    TeamBellamy;)

    WOW! I was skeptical of reading this because I have started watching the tv version of the 100( a must see, but you have to go into it with an open mind because the two versions are COMPLETELY different), but I am sooo glad that I did. The author chose to show the thoughts and feelings of the characters from each point of view,which I thought was very unique and indepth. The whole story is about a group of teenage convicts who are chosed to go down to Earth to test and see if it is habitable( they are the test trials in a desperate attempt to save the human race). Once they land they have to fave their fears of the unknown, and they have to struggle to survive. The whole story is a tornado of emotions with a certain love triangle that will leave you wanting more. . .
    Clarke- The daughter of two doctors with big secrets that lead to their deaths and also leaving Clarke alone with only her guilt and anger. She is one of the chosen convicts to have the " privledge" to go down to earth with her ex- boyfriend Wells, a new stranger who tempts her to let go of herself (and open up to him) named Bellamy, Bellamy's sister Octavia, and her best friend who gets injured in the crash to Earth. All the while a girl named Glass escaped to stay on the spaceship for her love Luke. But as Clarke struggles to let go of her past, she can't stop being as serious as she is and the emotions that she carries around just make you want to cheer her on.
    Bellamy- The stranger who shot the Chanceler to escape onto the ship to earth for his sister. Bellamy has led a hard life for a 20 year old, he has had ro raise his sister( who wasn't even suposed to be born because of the law saying that each person can only have one child), and now he is on Earth a planet he has only ever heard and read about. On the outside he is the fierce brother that would do ANYTHING for his sister, but on the inside he is a romantic almost in a rough poetic type of way. He was hurt once by a girl and is afraid to open up again, but Clarke just might change that. . .
    Wells- The typical nice guy who is son of the Chanceler. He broke a law just so he would be forced to be one of the 100 so that he could be with Clarke. Once on Earth he tries to restore order to unwilling people who don't want to be under rule again, all the while he is trying to win Clarke over. I have mixed feelings about Wells, he tries so hard to make up for his mistakes with Clarke, but everything he does just turns jut wrong. He seems too much of a pushover for Clarke who is strong and independent. If I was Clarke I would want Bellamy. . .
    Glass- A girl who has struggled through a relationship for the love of her life Luke. She was convicted and forced away from him, yet things change since the 100 leave because she escaped the drop by hiding. Her mom sees that she gets pardoned, but what will happen once Luke learns why she was convicted in the first place. . .
    I really reccomend this book, and I give a two thumps up to the author, amazing story!!!
    #teamBellamy;)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Its okay but left me bored

    Unlike many books, I find that the tv series may out do the book. I was forcing myself to read it and did not care much for the characters.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Anon

    This book is amazing! It has...action, adventure, and romance. There are a lot of characters to keep track of, but each one has so much personality it isn't difficult. The story line is about a huge space station housing the remnants of Earth's population after a nuclear war destroys the planet. Now, the station is falling apart and there aren't enough resources left to keep all the inhabitants alive. Not sure if Earth is habitable, a group of 100 kids who are criminals are sent to down to the surface to see if they can survive. I highly recommend this book. It is a syfy Lord of the Flies in Land of the Lost. A tv series of the book was just launched, so far the book is better. Jp

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Amazing!!!!!

    Some people that are leaving coments think that the ending sucked, but i personally don't. I think the book is well put together and well written. It shows four different characters points of views in depth and describes the characters at the same time. I Truly LOVED THIS BOOK and think it is one the best i have ever read. If you like romantic, mystery,drama, and action all in one then this is a book for you! I definitly recommend it and think you should buy it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    I love novels set in the dystopian genre, so when I saw the adve

    I love novels set in the dystopian genre, so when I saw the adverts on television for the TV adaptation of this book, I knew straight away that I had to read it.

    The dystopian elements are what drew me into this story, but it was the emotional elements and character development that kept me engrossed in the book. I really enjoyed the way that Keira Cass made almost half of this novel flashbacks to the past and half in the present day, as I loved getting little snippets of information about the characters pasts and the reasons for their current situations little by little so that in the end the characters that I really liked I began to see in a less than flattering light, and the characters I was unsure of, I began to really care for.

    As soon as I started reading this book I had one hope for the story, and that was to see Clarke and Wells reconnect and move on from the trauma of their past, so I was so disappointed to see the author take the story in another direction, particularly as I felt that Wells was being painted as the bad guy too often, when in fact he was doing everything he did out of love for Clarke. Sadly, I think it was Clarke’s storyline, the one that I originally was most invested in, is the reason that I couldn’t give this book 5 Stars. Everything that Clarke did I began to feel angry about, and the introduction of Bellamy and the spark of connection between the two made me feel desperately sad as to the way the story was being taken, which made me begin to view these two characters, originally ones that I really liked, with annoyance.

    However, that being said, the other storylines in this novel were in my opinion executed perfectly. I loved Glass, and she became the character that I rooted for above all the others, which was in a way a bit disappointing, as I was looking forward to seeing the action on earth, but due to my issues with the characters, I was more invested on the goings on in the ship. Luke was such a great character, and I loved seeing him and Glass reconnect. I felt far more emotionally connected to this couple than I did to the idea of Clarke and Bellamy, and my heart broke for Glass when she escapes the ship to earth only to discover that Luke had moved on with an old friend of his. This storyline was one that kept me on the edge of my seat and my mouth was hanging open at the end in shock. HOW COULD IT END WITH THAT!? The author did a great job at pulling me into the world and leaving me reeling with the secrets of the past.

    Overall this was a really unique novel and one that I did enjoy, however I felt a bit let down with Clarke’s storyline, and in the end didn’t feel much of a connection with her, as I thought her affections seemed to jump around like a yoyo, making her seem a bit unrealistic. Nevertheless I shall read the next book in the series, and I really hope I grow to love Clarke as much as I hoped I would.

    4 Stars.

    *Review copy was kindly provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Do Not Waste Your Money On This Book

    The television series based on this book (kind of) is one of my favorites. The book - - truly a waste of money. The ending was absolutely one of the worst I've ever encountered.

    Watch the series. Don't read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Hi

    It was beautifully writen. Diving into the characters past was amazing and thrilling. This book wil be placed in my top ten favorite books. IT IS A MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Good book.

    Ended too soon, but open for next book in serirs. 100 youths convicted of various crimes are sent back to earth as an experiment to see if humans can return after centuries away. Good backround stories of main charscters, life on the space ark, new earth and arks failing systems. Looking forward to next book. TV series based on book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Great!

    Great story..better than the show can't wait for the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    Very Good must read book

    Very Good must read
    book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Amaziiiiiiiinnnnngggggg!!!!!!

    I need the next book. NOW!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Very interesting book, but it has only 223 pages, not 352.  Way

    Very interesting book, but it has only 223 pages, not 352.  Way too expensive for the number of pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    The 100

    Soon to be a CW TV Series, The 100 follows a group of 100 delinquents in the dystopian future where no one has been on Earth for a while. There should be another installment coming soon. This reminds me of Divergent, The Hunger Games and the Lord of the Flies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed THE 100. The premise

    Pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed THE 100. The premise reminded me a lot of the Across the Universe Series (Beth Revis), but with a much cleaner execution.

    I actually watched the entire first season of the TV series before deciding to pick up the books. I had the opportunity to review both books in the series via NetGalley this fall--completely regret not taking them up on the offer. But also glad to have given this author the sale.

    I loved the multiple character viewpoints and the way they all wove together to tell a truly compelling story. I adore the tv show, but I have to say I enjoyed the book even more.

    We were left with a seriously ridic cliffhanger. So glad I don't have to wait for the next book to publish to continue the story. Can't wait to read the next book in the series. If you're a fan of YA Sci-Fi with some romance, you'll love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2014

    My book was only 223 pages long, not as the stated 352 pages...b

    My book was only 223 pages long, not as the stated 352 pages...buyer beware

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Map

    Res 1-- here<br>Res 2-- camp<br>Res 3-- you decide<br>Res 4-- Mordor<br>Res 5-- the shire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2014

    I'm a regular reader of YA dytopian; I think it makes me thankfu

    I'm a regular reader of YA dytopian; I think it makes me thankful for my own cushy life to read stories of a future that has humanity hanging onto the last thread of hope. This is the exact place we find the characters in The 100.




    I give the author points for concept: in the aftermath of a nuclear war, the human race has survived by fleeing to a ship in space for several hundred years. They long to return back to Earth, so they send a team of 100 back to the surface to see if the planet is yet capable of maintaining life. Great story for setting up conflict and action.




    The story loses something, however, in that most of the characters are criminals, and not very likeable. Those who aren't downright diabolical are a bit on the whiny side. They are faced with very real survival issues, yet seem to be primarily concerned with their love lives. Given the extreme circumstances, I would have expected more emphasis on basic needs: food, water, shelter. Those things are mentioned, just not highlighted as much as is realistic considering what they are facing.




    There are several characters sharing the spotlight, and lots of time frame jumps. These two factors make for a story that feels very serialized; it's no wonder it's been made into a television show, because it reads very much like one, moving from one scene to the next with the plot arc stretching out into a slow climb. This made for pacing that I felt was a bit slow in places, though readers who stay with it will really love the last fifty pages or so- I loved how things picked up and moved at the end.




    Fair warning to readers who are trying to stay away from love triangles. The drama of it was a little much, and the emotional push and pull was unnecessary and in the end just made one of the characters, who could have been a great heroine, seem foolish and immature. I found myself disappointed that I wasn't able to connect to her as much as I was hoping for.




    There are details about the return to Earth, such as the rediscovery of sunsets, birds singing, and rain storms, that are really well written. There's definitely enough good material to drive a great sequel- and that's my next read. I hope the author capitalizes on the potential, and gives us a story that we can thoroughly enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4