Customer Reviews for

The $100 Startup: Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Two years ago I was lost and really had no idea where I was taki

Two years ago I was lost and really had no idea where I was taking my life; a college student at the time I was kicked out for a semester for bad grades. While trying to ease my self-pity I browsed barnes & nobel (sorry amazon) and saw Chris's first book "The A...
Two years ago I was lost and really had no idea where I was taking my life; a college student at the time I was kicked out for a semester for bad grades. While trying to ease my self-pity I browsed barnes & nobel (sorry amazon) and saw Chris's first book "The Art of Non-Conformity". Feeling like an outsider already I decided to buy it and see where it would take me. Needless to say I couldn't put it down and finished it in 9 non-stop hours; it literally changed my life and my way of thinking. From that point I decided I would find a way to become location independent so I could travel the world while self-educating myself.

The result: Two years later I'm making $3,000 a month and completely location independent. Some would scoff at the earnings of only $3000 a month but think of it like this - this is $3000 making my own hours, not having a boss, and being able to work in fun places like Santa Cruz, Boliva (which I did this past winter). I'm also two years in to my own "self-college", teaching myself literature, spanish, and business.

The "$100 Start-Up" is perfect for those wanting to achieve this goal. I wish I had this two years ago because it is thorough, limits the fluff, and gives you ACTIONABLE steps to get things done. It is possible, and Chris has done an amazing job of giving you a blue-print to get there.

Bottom Line: Chris changed my life and he can change yours; buy this book and never look back.

posted by GeoffreyW on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended--- shallow, not well thought out.

Oh, it is of some value. While I was reading it I did make some notes about how I might adapt some of the approaches of the people whose businesses are discussed in the book to the business that I intend to start up. There are some things that I probably would not have ...
Oh, it is of some value. While I was reading it I did make some notes about how I might adapt some of the approaches of the people whose businesses are discussed in the book to the business that I intend to start up. There are some things that I probably would not have thought of by myself. The book "Platform..." by Michael Hyatt covers some of the same ground but is better in that it provides more specifics.

The main value of $100 Startup is in the sketches of the various micro-businesses that have succeeded. Unfortunately the sketches are just that--- really brief.

The author emphasizes the necessity of "launching" a new product in a vigorous and planned way. The reason is that your best prospects are members of your pre-existing repeat customer base (which could simply consist of people who regularly visit your website). You don't want to make a lackluster presentation of a new product to them because that will turn them off and they will ignore your further exhortations. That discussion may be of value to you as it is in some depth and the author provides some specifics as to how to proceed.

To get to it you'll have to wade through a first chapter that starts with a pitiful attempt at poetry by "Maya Angelou" (actual name Marguerite Ann Johnson) and has a facing page with a drawing of a man riding a bicycle with a mattress on the back. Incredibly, the story of the mattress on the bicycle is about one of the author's heroes, a nut from Portland, Oregon who, to seek collective salvation of some kind by being "green", delivers the mattresses that he sells to customers who ride their bikes to his store for free... on the back of a special bicycle. Yeah. Really. That's a good thing to do in a little town like Portland where it never rains and there are few cars on the roads.

If you look at the reviews on Amazon you'll see that this guy Chris Guillebeau is presented as a genius. I can explain that. It's "logrolling". Google "logrolling free online dictionary" and take a look at the second definition: "The exchanging of favors or praise, as among artists, critics, or academics."

Michael Hyatt and Chris Guillebeau endorse each other for business reasons, as favors to each other. That's how I got stuck with this book. Don't believe it? Buy Platform. Hyatt spells it out how you have to seek endorsements prior to launching your book. There are many groupies/wannabees who, for whatever reason, hang on to characters like Michael Hyatt and Chris Guillebeau. Those are your commenters.

posted by Mike41 on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Two years ago I was lost and really had no idea where I was taki

    Two years ago I was lost and really had no idea where I was taking my life; a college student at the time I was kicked out for a semester for bad grades. While trying to ease my self-pity I browsed barnes & nobel (sorry amazon) and saw Chris's first book "The Art of Non-Conformity". Feeling like an outsider already I decided to buy it and see where it would take me. Needless to say I couldn't put it down and finished it in 9 non-stop hours; it literally changed my life and my way of thinking. From that point I decided I would find a way to become location independent so I could travel the world while self-educating myself.

    The result: Two years later I'm making $3,000 a month and completely location independent. Some would scoff at the earnings of only $3000 a month but think of it like this - this is $3000 making my own hours, not having a boss, and being able to work in fun places like Santa Cruz, Boliva (which I did this past winter). I'm also two years in to my own "self-college", teaching myself literature, spanish, and business.

    The "$100 Start-Up" is perfect for those wanting to achieve this goal. I wish I had this two years ago because it is thorough, limits the fluff, and gives you ACTIONABLE steps to get things done. It is possible, and Chris has done an amazing job of giving you a blue-print to get there.

    Bottom Line: Chris changed my life and he can change yours; buy this book and never look back.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Not Recommended--- shallow, not well thought out.

    Oh, it is of some value. While I was reading it I did make some notes about how I might adapt some of the approaches of the people whose businesses are discussed in the book to the business that I intend to start up. There are some things that I probably would not have thought of by myself. The book "Platform..." by Michael Hyatt covers some of the same ground but is better in that it provides more specifics.

    The main value of $100 Startup is in the sketches of the various micro-businesses that have succeeded. Unfortunately the sketches are just that--- really brief.

    The author emphasizes the necessity of "launching" a new product in a vigorous and planned way. The reason is that your best prospects are members of your pre-existing repeat customer base (which could simply consist of people who regularly visit your website). You don't want to make a lackluster presentation of a new product to them because that will turn them off and they will ignore your further exhortations. That discussion may be of value to you as it is in some depth and the author provides some specifics as to how to proceed.

    To get to it you'll have to wade through a first chapter that starts with a pitiful attempt at poetry by "Maya Angelou" (actual name Marguerite Ann Johnson) and has a facing page with a drawing of a man riding a bicycle with a mattress on the back. Incredibly, the story of the mattress on the bicycle is about one of the author's heroes, a nut from Portland, Oregon who, to seek collective salvation of some kind by being "green", delivers the mattresses that he sells to customers who ride their bikes to his store for free... on the back of a special bicycle. Yeah. Really. That's a good thing to do in a little town like Portland where it never rains and there are few cars on the roads.

    If you look at the reviews on Amazon you'll see that this guy Chris Guillebeau is presented as a genius. I can explain that. It's "logrolling". Google "logrolling free online dictionary" and take a look at the second definition: "The exchanging of favors or praise, as among artists, critics, or academics."

    Michael Hyatt and Chris Guillebeau endorse each other for business reasons, as favors to each other. That's how I got stuck with this book. Don't believe it? Buy Platform. Hyatt spells it out how you have to seek endorsements prior to launching your book. There are many groupies/wannabees who, for whatever reason, hang on to characters like Michael Hyatt and Chris Guillebeau. Those are your commenters.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    The best book on creating and growing your own business I've eve

    The best book on creating and growing your own business I've ever read! I've been looking to make myself more financially independent from my day job, and this book has provided me the tools and the inspiration I needed to start a side project. My first website is all ready up, and I'm working on developing my first product. At first I thought about doing something to just make a little extra money on the side, but now I'm actually thinking I could do something to replace my day job. I recommend this for everyone.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Great inspiration if you want to start your own business

    I don't buy a lot of books, but I'm glad I bought this one. I've been thinking about starting my own business and this book felt like a coach on the sidelines encouraging me and making me believe it's possible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Continuous self promotion loop-topic wholly undeveloped

    Words and more words of self promotion, undeveloped, -- A paperback scam--all promotion, no value in product!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    A Must Have!

    This is one of those books you'll read at least 10 times in your life, it's that good! The book is worth it alone just for the stories, they really inspire you!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great book!

    I learned a lot from this book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Amazing read - perfect for those that dream about escaping the m

    Amazing read - perfect for those that dream about escaping the mundane and chasing yor dreams. Absolutely love his advice about how we internally wait to take the plunge because of internal fears, etc. The key is - don't way - just do it and he offers advice from hundreds of proven entrep that back up his advice. Best book on this topic I have read to date. Thanks Chris,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Waste of time

    Ok, finished, not impressed. The book claims irs stories are all folks who started business with less then $1,000 most understanding $100. FALSE. Full of success stories but no substance. Almost no useful info. Out pf 271 pages maybe one good paragraph. No better than all of tei s#!t load if other wasteful books out there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This book was a revelation. It completely changed my life, for t

    This book was a revelation. It completely changed my life, for the better. The stories he tells, the advice and instruction he offers, are so simple that it's hard to believe I hadn't put all the pieces of the puzzle together before. A real eye-opener. I just read it last month and I've already got my new life plan underway. Still working my "real job" for a while longer, but have already started my own business on the side and am working some other angles. My goal is to be completely free of my "real job" by the end of 2012. I've never read a more inspirational book that also offered real, solid, valuable real-world advice. I highly recommend this book to ANYONE ready to make a major change in their life, and become independent of "the man."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Another winner!

    Great follow up to the Art of Non-Conformity. I enjoyed AONC more, but I picked up this book because I'm working on a start-up. It is a quick, easy read with a lot of great insights and anecdotes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    I really love this book. I think that is has some great informat

    I really love this book. I think that is has some great information that I have not found in any other business start-up book around. I have found information that I feel like i can really use to make things happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    This book was everything that I had hoped it would be. There are

    This book was everything that I had hoped it would be. There are stories from those who have been through opening one or multiple businesses and Chris does a great job of putting those stories in at the right places in the book. He shows throughout the book that he didn't just write this book based on his opinions and experiences like some authors do, he has done tons of research and talked to a lot of people who have experience which allows him to apply his principles to different industries and be able to connect with the reader's interests. This book was very motivating and it is one that I will definitely keep going back to. I am looking forward to finding a way to open my own business and be my own boss and have the freedoms in life that I think that we should all be able to enjoy. I will definitely be reading more of his books in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Alena

    Be back on at 9:00



    Love your girl(NOT LITERALLY)
    ALENA NICHOLE WALDREP

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2