BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy, silly, sweet, quirky, hilarious. Every page in this book

    Crazy, silly, sweet, quirky, hilarious. Every page in this book is action packed and you'll have no idea what is going to happen next. Go ahead and guess, you'll never be able to predict a damn thing. This was an absolute joy to read...it was like listening to your funny drunken uncle trying to give a history lesson. Delightful!

    FYI, the book was originally rejected by firms in the U.K. and in the U.S. (Fools! Fools, I tell you!)

    Read this book. If you have to beg, borrow, or steal it...do so!

    I'm serious...what are you waiting for?

    Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Minutes before a birthday party held in honor of his 100th birth

    Minutes before a birthday party held in honor of his 100th birthday, Allan Karlsson climbs out the window of his room at the nursing home. He walks over to the train station, and with no plans in his mind, he simply keeps on moving, meeting some interesting characters along the way.

    Allan has an incredibly carefree, go-with-the-flow spirit. I was fascinated to read about his many adventures, both current and past. The story was quirky, funny, with bits of history speckled throughout. Allan is a 100-year-old world traveler, after all - that's a lot of history! Allan is completely apolitical, yet somehow ends up smack in the middle of a number of major events of the 20th century. He approached his visits to foreign countries, and his conversations with world leaders, with a refreshing sort of naïveté. His complete apathy toward political matters gives the reader a strangely fresh, open-minded perspective. I found myself laughing out loud at fictional scenes such as:

    "Mao Tse-tung, Kim Il Sung, and Marshal Meretskov discussed the matter [of Allan's vacation] among themselves. Cuba popped up as a possibility, and the gentlemen concluded that you could hardly imagine somewhere more capitalist."

    I feel the character of Allan taps into a hope and fear that many of us have likely mulled over. Is it possible to experience a high quality of life as we live our final years? Will we be able to live according to our own whims and desires, or will we be stuck obeying a scheduled life in a nursing home? Do people in nursing homes ever think about escaping?

    "Allan told the man that his name was Allan, that he was exactly one hundred years old and spry for his age, so spry in fact that he was on the run from the old age home."

    From that sentence on, I found myself cheering Allan as he ignored and broke the rules to follow his own desires. Good for him, going on the run like that. And what pluck, sneaking out the window only minutes before a birthday bash that included the mayor and the media! I was charmed by the great happiness Allan found through simple things such as good food and plenty of spirits: "Allan felt so comprehensively satisfied that he began to be almost afraid of dying."

    This is an entertaining read that is quick without feeling mindless. I can see myself reading it again in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Hilarious Romp Through the 20th Century

    The Hundred-Year-Old Who Climbed Out Through the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson is a fictional book which follows the adventures and mis-adventures of its protagonist. So far this book has been translated to 29 languages and has been a best seller in many countries.

    Allan Karlsson’s health is good, so good that to his dismay he is facing the horrors of putting up appearances for this 100th birthday. Leaving the mayor, the press, his friends and the bane of his existence – the nurse – behind, he escapes moments before the big celebration. When a young man asks Allan to keep an eye on his suitcase at the train station, the centenarian steals it and sets the ball rolling on a month long chase involving the police, the underworld and a handful of accomplices.

    Parallel to the escape, Allan’s long life is revealed to the reader. As it turned out, Allan is not just an old man with a suitcase, but one of the most influential persons to ever walk the face of the earth in the 20th Century. Alas, through the comedy of life, Allan is only remembered for his age.

    The Hundred-Year-Old Who Climbed Out Through the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson is a hilarious romp through the 20th Century. The book is very enjoyable and doesn’t take itself seriously.

    The book’s characters focus on lampooning the espionage genre and parody the mystery/chase genres as well. The important people Allan Karlsson, the protagonist, has met and influenced (Truman, Churchill, Mao, Lenin and more) shines a light on their dark side rather than the pillars of world affairs we have built them to be. Allan’s contribution to the Manhattan Project doesn’t get bypassed either.

    While I did get the feeling that the book was very much influenced from Forrest Gump and/or Woody Allen’s Zelig. Allen Karlsson is the eternal optimist, half way through the book it is clear that nothing will happen to him, but it is how he gets out of trouble and his unbelievable luck and improbable coincidences which makes the book so entertaining and endearing.
    The characters are not as well defined as they could be, but I still enjoyed this book very much, especially since it doesn’t take itself seriously.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    An international "Forest Gump".

    My daughter found this and asked if I was the man. Ipicked it up , read it straight through. I am obviously not him, but don't I wish I were! A GREAT read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Absolutely a must-read

    I read this book based on a review from a friend. This is a GREAT book full of historical reference wrapped with wonderful wit and suspense at every turn waiting to see what would happen next. You leave feeling that life is not that bad and that whatever will happen will happen - based on the personality of the book's main character. A wonderfully uplifting and very funny story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Wonderful book

    Wonderful book. It has very funny and sensible comments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Very fun and unswedish book.

    This is a bizarre tale with a wonderful ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Fun Read

    Very fun & easy read full of unlikely coincidences. Great beach or holiday read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    If You Are In the Mood for Whimsy

    This book reminded me of the Woody Allen film "Zelig". Alan, the 100 year old man, reflects on his life meeting historical figures. These people mean nothing to Alan but that doesn't stop him from giving advice based on his career as an explosives expert.

    I enjoyed Alan's meeting with historical figures who followed his advice, especially his job at the Manhattan Project where he meets Harry Truman and they have a liquid lunch together. I smiled a lot reading this book. If you are in the mood for whimsy, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Karmyn

    Back..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Wiwwhd

    Dbdjej

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    AMANDAS LAAT MESSAGE TO YOU

    YOU KNOW WHAT? DO WHATEVER YOU WANT! IM GLAD THIS IS RP BECAUSE CLEARLY YOU DONT BELIEVE OR LOVE ME! *SHE THROWS THE PEARL RING TO HIS FEET* AND TAKE YOUR FU<_>CKING RING BACK BECAUSE NOW IM NOT SURE I TRUST YOU TO BELIEVE ME! *SHE STARTS CRYING AND LOOKS AT HIM* Bye, Jonas. D':

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Jonas

    Im locked out of there. MEET ME AT" FORGIVE ME, LEONARD PEACOCK"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    This book is positively HILARIOUS! It has smart humor and never

    This book is positively HILARIOUS! It has smart humor and never disappoints. Would love to read more by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Highly recommend, funny and light.

    This is a fun read. You will be laughing out loud. Marvelous for summer relaxing get
    away. Our book club read it and now my husband is reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    It pretty much makes you want to smile a little. It's not like i

    It pretty much makes you want to smile a little. It's not like it's chock-full of life lessons, it's more like riding along on the adventure...I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Too much fun.

    Alan has to be Forrest Gump's old-world uncle. The story of Alan avoiding his dotage is a great one. The translation is well-done. I enjoyed the time spent reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    An original and off-beat read that's quirky and entertainingly f

    An original and off-beat read that's quirky and entertainingly funny.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I lost sleep last night to finish reading "The 100-year-old

    I lost sleep last night to finish reading &quot;The 100-year-old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared,&quot; a brilliant, ridiculous, amusing, fabulous read. No wonder it's a best-seller worldwide!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Who thought a historical fiction could be so funny?

    Great book! Funny and witty! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2