Customer Reviews for

13 1/2 Lives of Captain Blue Bear

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Grand Adventure!

    This is the most entertaining book I have ever read. It is intelligent, witty, and a grand adventure. Incredibly well written and well worth every penny. Moers' highly imaginitive writing style is a conglomeration of Shel Silverstein, JK Rowling, and Douglas Adams. I have read a lot of books in my day but this is the first one I recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I ADORE this book! It is almost like thirteen separate books in

    I ADORE this book! It is almost like thirteen separate books in one because each life is totally different. From Minipirates to a carnivorous island/plant, from talking waves to saving people's lives at the very last possible second as a profession, from a school where the students are only accepted if they are unlike every other life form on Earth to a city inside a tornado inhabited by 100+ year old men, from a nomadic desert tribe who pursue a semi-stable Fata Morgana to the artistry of creating dreams from within a giant cyclops's brain, from a megalopolis full of the wildest creatures, buildings, activities, and jobs to an element that is capable of thought, this book is absolutely insane and amazing and random and fantastic and my favorite book in the universe! I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a very entertaining, very whimsical, very awesome book. Now always remember that KNOWLEDGE IS NIGHT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A funny fantastic journey through a crazy little imaginary world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whimsy

    Moers creates a whimsical travelogue that is not so much Rowling as it is Silverstein and Adams. It's light reading filled with good humor, fanciful characters and fabulous places to explore. It's not epic fantasy, it's not action driven. It's about a blue bear discovering his world. It's adult in its satire and in some of its inventions, thus a younger reader may not have the vocabulary or insight to fully enjoy it, but adult fans of whimsy and fantasy will have a ball. Highly recommended.

    It had me at "mini-pirate".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    I've Read It Seven Times

    I bought this book three years ago and have since read it seven times. Each time I read it it just keeps on getting better and better. The characters, the plot, the origionality, everything, is just incredible. Walter Moers is wonderfully talented and my favorite author, I own all of his novels, (this, Rumo, City of Dreaming Books, and A Wild Ride Through the Night) and intend to, in the next few days, purchase the latest zany Zamonian adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    Highly recommend Walter Moers. The first Zamonia story that foll

    Highly recommend Walter Moers. The first Zamonia story that follows an intelligent Blue Bear around the imaginative world of Zamonia. 
    Insanely creative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Excellent!!!

    One you'll read again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Adorable, whimsical and funny book. I can only describe it as h

    Adorable, whimsical and funny book. I can only describe it as half adventure-magic tale, half parody, something like Alice-in-Wonderland and Sindbad mixed with Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. The hero, a blue (!) bear tells the reader the tales of his fantastic adventures on the mythical continent of Zaminia. As an example, what would you say about giant carnivorous plant masquerading as an island full of gourmet foods to fatten up its unsuspecting castaway? Or about the life in the eye of the most terrible storm where is , of course, there is the most serene calm which makes even the time itself to stand still? It is written in the delightful whimsical language ( kudos to the translator!) and illustrated in the funniest way . B&N really should show the examples of text and pictures to possible buyers. Word of caution : the book is full of words like " gastropode" , "stratospheric", or "horticulture", so the vocabulary may be too much for the younger readers. I ended up writing the explanations for difficult words on the side of each page for my 10 yrs old daughter - and even rather enjoyed doing it. I grade the books as Buy and Keep (BK), Read Library book and Return ( RLR) and Once I Put it Down I Couldn't Pick it Up ( OIPD-ICPU). This one is a BK .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    A Great Journey

    Walter Moers has to be a genius if he could create such a grand book as the 131/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear. This book is a throw back to children's books we've all read with illustrations that guide the story along. But don't let this fool you, the plot,characters, and overall uniqueness of this book makes it an instant classic. Walter Moers takes the reader on a Journey as fantastic and wonderful as any adventure story that proceeded this book. He has created an entirely new world with new ideas that hook it's reader once they are in the midst of its grandeur. With this book, the reader will experience new life forms and a new way to think about the world and their position in it. Besides all these grandiose details I have stated, I believe there is no other book out there as funny, charming, and just a plain fun ride. Schools across America and the world should add this to their curriculum and I would venture to guess our literacy rates and our youth's interest in learning would sky rocket. PLEASE READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    My new favorite book.

    This is the most entertaining book I have ever read. It is intelligent, witty, and a grand adventure. Incredibly well written and well worth every penny. It's like Shel Silverstein had a creativity child with JK Rowling and Douglas Adams. I have read a lot of books in my day but this is the first one I recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Marvelous and Engaging

    This book is really quite fun to read. It moves along well, and has pictures interspersed through out. For anyone who hasn't quite outgrown the joy of seeing pictures of what you are reading. Very plot oriented, but worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!

    I loved this book! It was very funny, and I could never put it down! I would recommend this to everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Litterally, a little bit of everything.

    This book is amazing. There isn't really much else describable about it. It is a book, with it's yellow cover and seven hundred or so pages that looks more than a little like a phone book, but despite it's daunting size, will keep you reading from cover to cover(if only there were enough hours in the day.) This is the memoir written by the aged Captain Bluebear about his first 13 and 1/2 lives, starting shortly after birth and ending half way after his 13th life. I have never spent so much time in sheer joy, grinning from ear to ear at every page. Pictures and excerpts from Nightengale's Zamonien encyclopedia really add to the atmosphere. This book is really funny, witty, but it also has heart, and deeper truths to it, a real rarity. There are pirates, aliens, man eating islands, travel to other demensions, life in a volcanoe, Atlantis, school (Professor Nightengale has five brains), Alpine mountain imps, dinosaurs, congladiators, giants...I could go on and on and on for seven hundred and some odd pages. Every life topic, including living in a crummy apartment is covered in this book in a unique way. Bluebear may be the most untrustworthy narrator who ever existed, but he tells his story so well that I do believe him... In short, please read this book, I promise, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2