BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 13th Tribe

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read! You cannot miss this one!

The 13th Tribe, by Robert Liparulo is one of the most original story ideas of our time from an author who knows how to deliver the perfect mix of fast-paced excitement, nail-biting suspense, and well-developed characters. The depth of the characters had me cheering on ...
The 13th Tribe, by Robert Liparulo is one of the most original story ideas of our time from an author who knows how to deliver the perfect mix of fast-paced excitement, nail-biting suspense, and well-developed characters. The depth of the characters had me cheering on the antagonists in places and grieving with the protagonist. Even in places where the outcome was inevitable, I was astonished by the twists and turns it took to get there. The settings were varied and rich, from ancient idolators to modern techno weapons, from the dusty corners of Egypt to the underground catacombs of Paris, the imagination of Robert Liparulo delivers, once again, a fascinating and adventurous tale.

posted by LaDonnaCole on November 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give

When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give this book 1 or 2 stars only.

It was because the first few chapters were very confusing to me. Too many characters were introduced. For example Jagger who works as Security which has a prosthetic arms. In ...
When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give this book 1 or 2 stars only.

It was because the first few chapters were very confusing to me. Too many characters were introduced. For example Jagger who works as Security which has a prosthetic arms. In the beginning, I had the impression that he was something like Robocop but something just does not ring true/logic. How many would hire people with prosthetic to be the Head of Security?

This and add on with various member of the Tribe and introduction of their higher technology- invisible cloak and what not made me lot track of the story. I was not sure how to view the story - futuristic? Sci-fic? Moreover, their unique names of the Tribe members like Creed, Phin, Elias and the most confusing was Arella who happens to be neaveh; who happens to be the word "heaven" spelled backwards; made my head spin.

In the beginning, it was not specified how many are they in the Tribe and their ages. Thus, I was quite surprised when there was kids in the Tribe too. Ageless.

Another thing was the mysterious plan "Agag" by the Tribe. The plan seems rather complicated to me and at parts quite technical which I have difficulties in following.

I was getting tired reading this but half way through the book, the story starts to grow interesting as the pace picks up. Am glad I was able to go through the book.

I love the unexpected twist in the end of the story. I liked this book well enough but I think this is one of those books that I would read once only.


I received this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson Publishing, in exchange for an honest review .

posted by smallkucing on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give

    When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give this book 1 or 2 stars only.

    It was because the first few chapters were very confusing to me. Too many characters were introduced. For example Jagger who works as Security which has a prosthetic arms. In the beginning, I had the impression that he was something like Robocop but something just does not ring true/logic. How many would hire people with prosthetic to be the Head of Security?

    This and add on with various member of the Tribe and introduction of their higher technology- invisible cloak and what not made me lot track of the story. I was not sure how to view the story - futuristic? Sci-fic? Moreover, their unique names of the Tribe members like Creed, Phin, Elias and the most confusing was Arella who happens to be neaveh; who happens to be the word "heaven" spelled backwards; made my head spin.

    In the beginning, it was not specified how many are they in the Tribe and their ages. Thus, I was quite surprised when there was kids in the Tribe too. Ageless.

    Another thing was the mysterious plan "Agag" by the Tribe. The plan seems rather complicated to me and at parts quite technical which I have difficulties in following.

    I was getting tired reading this but half way through the book, the story starts to grow interesting as the pace picks up. Am glad I was able to go through the book.

    I love the unexpected twist in the end of the story. I liked this book well enough but I think this is one of those books that I would read once only.


    I received this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson Publishing, in exchange for an honest review .

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    A work of art

    Robert Liparulo has out done himself this time. The 13th Tribe is a work of art, a masterpiece. It is a heart pounding read, full of twist and turns, along with that shocking light bulb moment on the very last page. The 13th Tribe is everything the reader would want it to be. Liparulo is a master of characterization. His characters are written so well, their development smooth and natural, and they truly move the story along with as much speed as the plot does. Pick up the 13th Tribe and enjoy the ride. You will not be disappointed

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read! You cannot miss this one!

    The 13th Tribe, by Robert Liparulo is one of the most original story ideas of our time from an author who knows how to deliver the perfect mix of fast-paced excitement, nail-biting suspense, and well-developed characters. The depth of the characters had me cheering on the antagonists in places and grieving with the protagonist. Even in places where the outcome was inevitable, I was astonished by the twists and turns it took to get there. The settings were varied and rich, from ancient idolators to modern techno weapons, from the dusty corners of Egypt to the underground catacombs of Paris, the imagination of Robert Liparulo delivers, once again, a fascinating and adventurous tale.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is my kind of book, from immortal vigilantes to a father tr

    This is my kind of book, from immortal vigilantes to a father trying to protect his family; from catacombs and a monastery; to cutting edge high-tech. This is also the first Robert Liparulo book I've ever read. I lucked into an Advance Reader's Copy. I was so engrossed in this story, I hurried to buy a copy of the book when it came out, just in case any new details were added in final edits! As a matter of fact I bought a couple copies to give away - and that is my highest praise.
    I found myself caring about Jagger, Beth and Tyler and unable to fathom how they'd survive another page, let alone escape The 13th Tribe. As merciless as The 13th Tribe seemed to be, I found myself caring about them too, and could relate to their motives, surely after so many centuries on earth the temptation and opportunity to take justice into your own hands would be too much...
    This is one of those stories where you don't want to say too much and spoil the story for the next reader. It has many twists and turns and it would make a good movie... A really good movie. I'm looking forward to the next book of the series already. I am a Liparulo fan now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    I am going to say this right now: Robert Liparulo’s latest

    I am going to say this right now: Robert Liparulo’s latest thriller is an amazing novel.

    The daring premise about a tribe of immortals that have roamed the earth for 3500 years drew me in quite quickly. My mind suddenly went to how Robert would take the idea and create a full-length novel. I can definitely say that he did not disappoint. He takes opportunities that I did not even think about, dropping hints, and making the book full of great twists that results in a novel that I plowed through as quickly as I could.

    Jagger Baird, the main character of this novel and hopefully for the entire series is an enjoyable character who has secrets of his own that even surprise him. Robert has written a character that lets the reader identify and sympathize with without much effort.

    My favorite characters in The 13th Tribe were the members of the Tribe. Their logic is twisted, and you can’t help but feel sorry for them as they try to gain God’s forgiveness. However, you also can’t help but want to separate their heads from the shoulders.

    Go on ahead and pick up a copy of this book. I dare you. Just be prepared to be drawn in quickly and have your mind blown by twists and turns that make your head spin.

    Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. All thoughts and opinions are mine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Whoa - hold on tight!

    I am always looking forward to seeing what Robert Liparulo will come up with next, I have read almost every book he has written and his Dreamhouse Kings series is absolutely amazing. This book does not disappoint me at all! A Biblical fiction type scenario that is brought into the present and is then racked with espionage, danger, assassins and mystery. Oh, and I can't even begin to hint at the twists and turns in it - no way - you have to experience them yourself! If you like speculative fiction (a little fantasy, a little sci-fi and a lot of interesting) then you must read this book. For me it is a keeper - I was discussing it with my husband and told him I now want to go back and read the account of the golden calf in the Old Testament. That is a good book, one that drives you into the Word.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Once you start this one, you won't be able to put it down! Whe

    Once you start this one, you won't be able to put it down!


    When Moses went to the top of Mt. Sinai to receive the 10 commandments from God, he left the Israelites behind with Aaron. After some time the people began to complain that it was taking too long and perhaps Moses wasn't coming back after all. They convinced Aaron to make them a golden idol to worship and Aaron complied. The men, women and children began to worship the golden calf that Aaron had created and when Moses returned, the Bible states he was furious and broke the tablets in anger.

    When confronted with their worship of a golden calf, Moses told them to repent and those that refused were killed. This is the basis for latest novel,The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo. We all know about the 12 tribes of Israelites, but in this fictional novel based on the biblical story, there is a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals for their sin and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice.

    Now they have become a vigilante tribe that takes matters of sin and justice into their own hands as they have survived for generations. Believing at some point that what they are doing is approved by God, they will stop at nothing in the hopes that God may find favor in what they are doing. Unfortunately for them, they fail to see that they are wrong and that God is the one responsible for handing out punishment, not them. Now in the 21st century they are planning the ultimate in vengeance willing to take the lives of sinners and innocents to accomplish their purpose.

    Caught in between them is Jagger Baird who is heading up security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai and finds himself immediately involved with the 13th tribe who now believes that he must be eliminated as well. What they fail to understand is that Jagger is a former army ranger and when they involve his wife and son, he will stop at nothing to save them and the millions of lives that now hang in the balance.

    I received The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say, I couldn't put this one down. To me, this merits an outstanding book when I will sacrifice sleep to see how it ends. I love how Robert blends biblical history along with a modern twist to a group of immortal people who believe they are God's avengers to the injustices of the world. I couldn't wait to see how this one would turn out! It's action-packed, edge of your seat, thrill ride from beginning to end and rates a 5 out of 5 stars! For those of you that love story lines like Indiana Jones, this will be a must have for you! Now I am going to be picking up other thrillers from Robert to add to my Christian library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Oasis in the Desert; Truly Life-changing; Engages On Every Level!

    So often we, as humans, get caught up in the endless cycle of always trying to be good enough¿always trying to earn both God's and others¿ favor by being perfect. It¿s a vicious cycle, an arid desert. A barren wasteland empty and void of any true life.

    But Robert Liparulo¿s The 13th Tribe¿and God¿s message to us through it¿is like an unexpected oasis in the all-consuming heat. A source of hope, salvation. Grace. And once you venture in¿once you throw caution to the wind and dive head-long into its icy depths¿the experience is both immensely shocking and utterly numbing. But, slowly, and surely, your body begins to adjust. You realize the pool isn't so bad after all. It's refreshing. Amazing. In fact, you realize, this is where you've belonged all along, and you simply can't fathom your life before jumping in.

    That's the kind of experience this story elicits. The kind of shock the world needs.

    This is, truly, home.



    The 13th Tribe is, by far, Robert Liparulo¿s best work to date. The story is both visceral and heart-wrenching, a tale chalk-full of both staggering plot twists that will leave your mouth gaping and some of the most genuine and convincing characters I have ever read. They¿coupled with the subtle, but staggering, spiritual truth Liparulo weaves seamlessly into his tale¿are the reason the story is so powerful, so moving. The reason it is, truly, a masterpiece.

    The 13th Tribe engages on every feasible level¿intellectually, emotionally, spiritually. A reader cannot take this journey without being utterly changed. I certainly couldn't.

    And that is something I am eternally grateful for.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Liparulo is at the top of his game.

    (I was lucky enough to be able to get my hands on an advanced readers copy of The 13th Tribe; thus, the early review.) Robert Liparulo has truly outdone himself in this latest offering. I've read all of his books, and his craft is improving with each novel that he pens. I'll be honest; after reading one of his first novels, I was hesitant to read a second one. I had the opportunity to read a second novel for free, however, and am glad that I did so; Liparulo has quickly become one of my favorite authors. The 13th Tribe is quite possibly his most ambitious novel to date, taking readers across the globe in this high-tech thriller. Many books claim to have unpredictable plot twists, but very few actually live up to that claim. The 13th Tribe is one of those few. Yes, one or two plot twists are foreseeable for the astute reader, but I can almost guarantee you that you will never guess the events of the final pages. With believable characters, a solid and fast-paced plot, and underlying threads of Christian history and the true meaning of redemption, this is not a novel to pass up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Russet

    can i join? My name is Russet fur of howling wolf (Russet) and i am a preyhunter. Large redish ginger tom with black flecks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Flash

    Works on getting the room set up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Buckle Your Seatbelts

    Here it is: Robert Liparulo has just set up the next great supernatural Christian fiction series! Unlike many other series, it's not one dimensional based on a singular super character. Robert does that and so much more. Each of the main characters can stand on their own at the center of this great story. Together they form a compelling group of people each on their own journey to self-discovery and redemption.
    Combining with the strong characters is a rich set of storylines. On one side is a family seeking restoration and healing after a tragic accident. On the other is a supernatural family seeking restoration and death after a tragic decision.
    Liparulo manages to incorporate enough technology to be credible and not too wonky. He uses enough spiritual truth to make the reader's spirit sing, but not have to reach for a concordance. He has enough action that makes it hard to put down. And the ending is so twisty and surprising you won't see it coming until you are run over by it!
    I recommend reserving your copy today and making room for the rest of the series to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Liparulo to Date

    At the foot of Mount Sinai the children of Israel made a big mistake. It's true Moses had been gone 40 days after he headed up the mountain of God, but an all out rebellion culminating in the unbridled worship of a golden calf was unforgiveable. God's justice was swift, and according to the newest novel by author Robert Liparulo, it resulted in the creation of a "13th Tribe," a band of immortals banished from the presence of God for their sin at Sinai. Living throughout the millenniums, they form a vigilante posse determined to win God's favor back by bumping off evil villains throughout the ages. Present day Mount Sinai is where mere mortal Jagger Baird, former Army Ranger and executive bodyguard, now finds himself. A glorified security guard for an archeological dig, he's moved his family to this "God forsaken" land to try to heal, both physically and emotionally from a traumatic event which cost him his best friend, his best friend's family, and his arm. Angry with God and struggling with the concept of divine justice, Jagger longs for peace - but when the Tribe invades the sanctity of St. Catherine's monastery at the base of Sinai in an unholy fire fight, Jagger's plan to get his life together literally goes up in smoke. With his wife and young son in danger at the hands of the Tribe, Jagger goes on a quest to save them, and to save the world from a terroristic plot designed by the 13th tribe to prove to the Almighty that they have earned his forgiveness. Liparulo, as always, knows how to pack a punch, and in The 13th Tribe there's no lag time in this tale of vigilante justice, supernatural-style. The Tribe, decked out in the latest stealth tech., doesn't hold back on its pursuit to rid humanity of moral undesirables; and Jagger is a tough yet spiritually wounded hero struggling with the question of where is God when tragedy strikes. The 13th Tribe is a definite page turner with a worldwide scope. From the deserts of Egypt, to the catacombs of France, to the shores of North America, Liparulo delivers another fever-pitched suspense novel that doesn't disappoint. But the most impressive aspect of his newest novel is its spiritual depth. It challenges concepts of justice, mercy, redemption, and forgiveness. In the midst of explosions, knife fights, and doomsday plots, Liparulo makes you stop and examine yourself. With its high-octane intensity and thought provoking spiritual overtones, The 13th Tribe, the first in The Immortal Files, in my opinion, is the best Robert Liparulo novel to date.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Amazing tale based on history and with a unique setting and many

    Amazing tale based on history and with a unique setting and many unexpected twists.  The characters were exceptional and the action was non-stop.  You won't be disappointed with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Robert Liparulo in his new book, "The 13th Tribe" Book

    Robert Liparulo in his new book, "The 13th Tribe" Book One in The Immortal Files series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Jagger Baird.

    From the back cover: Immortal vigilantes from the time of Moses have planned the unthinkable. But how can you stop what you cannot see?

    The battle didn't start this year...or even this millennium.

    It began when Moses was on Mt. Sinai. Tired of waiting on the One True God, the twelve tribes of Israel began worshipping a golden calf through pagan revelry. Many received immediate death for their idolatry, but 40 were handed a far worse punishment--endless life on earth with no chance to see the face of God.

    This group of immortals became the 13th Tribe, and they've been trying to earn their way into heaven ever since--by killing sinners. Though their logic is twisted, their brilliance is undeniable. Their wrath is unstoppable. And the technology they possess is beyond anything mere humans could imagine.

    Jagger Baird knows nothing about the Tribe when he's hired as head of security for an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. The former Army Ranger is still reeling from an accident that claimed the life of his best friend, his arm, and his faith in God.

    The Tribe is poised to execute their most ambitious attack ever and the lives of millions hang in the balance. When Jagger's wife and son are caught in the crossfire, he'll stop at nothing to save them. But how can one man stand against an entire tribe of immortals?

    Jacob, also called Israel, grandson of Abraham, had twelve sons who founded the twelve tribes of Israel. Mr. Liparulo has conceived a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice. Somehow this punishment has driven them insane and they believe that if they punish sinners God will find favor with them and reverse His punishment, which, of course, is not going to happen. It has been thousands of years and now, Jagger Baird, comes into contact with them in his role of head of security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. These immortals target him and millions of others while taking Baird's wife and son hostage. Now the battle is on: one man against immortals! "The 13th Tribe" is a thriller, which simply means that everyone is in grave danger from, practically, the beginning. Mr. Liparulo has given us a really clever story, some of the best villains ever created and a complex, one-armed hero. "The 13th Tribe" is full of twists and turns that will keep you flipping pages to find out more. I do not recommend starting this book late at night as you will have to sacrifice sleep in order to finish it. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. What a terrific beginning to this series and I am looking forward to the next book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Not bad

    It has a good plot and the characters are well written, but it is fairly slow paced. There are some sci-fi elements but they don't play a big part in the story, seems more like an afterthought while revising it. And the "suprise" at the end - not really suprising if you understand the story as it progresses. Overall a good read but one you will be able to put down and pick up again later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    WOW!!

    I had read the dreamhouse king books but didnt know wht to expect from his adult writing. Prepare to be blown away! Liparulo is an amzing author! And just wait until the final page you will never expect the twists and turns he throws at you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Ariesia

    Cool! I have three dogs. One is a baset hound named Hank. One is a begle named Cassie and the other is a Newfondland named Hersheys. She smiles at him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Haden

    My temple is huge. You can barley see the ceiling. At one end is a statue of me but it does not even come close to touching the ceiling. It has a square hole in the chest with a throne floating in it. The throne is mohogany with dimonds embedded in the arms. The walls and ceiling are made of a transparent dark blue stone. At the other end is a pair of double doors made of white granite. The handles are gold. There are white pillars from floor to ceiling. Outside there are all kinds of animals. When you look back, the temple looks much smaller than inside. There are also different landskapes like ice; grass; desert; lakes; a forest and in the distance you can see a mountain. There is a small building in each landskape. The buildings match their suroundings perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Cassie

    Poked he head in. "Whoa"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5