BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 13th Tribe

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read! You cannot miss this one!

The 13th Tribe, by Robert Liparulo is one of the most original story ideas of our time from an author who knows how to deliver the perfect mix of fast-paced excitement, nail-biting suspense, and well-developed characters. The depth of the characters had me cheering on ...
The 13th Tribe, by Robert Liparulo is one of the most original story ideas of our time from an author who knows how to deliver the perfect mix of fast-paced excitement, nail-biting suspense, and well-developed characters. The depth of the characters had me cheering on the antagonists in places and grieving with the protagonist. Even in places where the outcome was inevitable, I was astonished by the twists and turns it took to get there. The settings were varied and rich, from ancient idolators to modern techno weapons, from the dusty corners of Egypt to the underground catacombs of Paris, the imagination of Robert Liparulo delivers, once again, a fascinating and adventurous tale.

posted by LaDonnaCole on November 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give

When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give this book 1 or 2 stars only.

It was because the first few chapters were very confusing to me. Too many characters were introduced. For example Jagger who works as Security which has a prosthetic arms. In ...
When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give this book 1 or 2 stars only.

It was because the first few chapters were very confusing to me. Too many characters were introduced. For example Jagger who works as Security which has a prosthetic arms. In the beginning, I had the impression that he was something like Robocop but something just does not ring true/logic. How many would hire people with prosthetic to be the Head of Security?

This and add on with various member of the Tribe and introduction of their higher technology- invisible cloak and what not made me lot track of the story. I was not sure how to view the story - futuristic? Sci-fic? Moreover, their unique names of the Tribe members like Creed, Phin, Elias and the most confusing was Arella who happens to be neaveh; who happens to be the word "heaven" spelled backwards; made my head spin.

In the beginning, it was not specified how many are they in the Tribe and their ages. Thus, I was quite surprised when there was kids in the Tribe too. Ageless.

Another thing was the mysterious plan "Agag" by the Tribe. The plan seems rather complicated to me and at parts quite technical which I have difficulties in following.

I was getting tired reading this but half way through the book, the story starts to grow interesting as the pace picks up. Am glad I was able to go through the book.

I love the unexpected twist in the end of the story. I liked this book well enough but I think this is one of those books that I would read once only.


I received this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson Publishing, in exchange for an honest review .

posted by smallkucing on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Snow that lies in drifts

    "Thank you" she said dipping her head

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    To star

    This is rosestar. Do u no any toms i can mate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Gust

    "Hopefully, Pebble will be just as great a leader." She meowed sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Fall of autnms leaves

    Flicked her ear and returned o her opst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    A she cat

    *pads in and sets a kit on the ground the kit mewls febbly*his name is fire that comes at dawn there is a prophecy that he will save his adopted trib*she walks out and the kit opens his eyes*kit:where am I?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Rember

    Gathring at super tonight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The 13th Tribe is my first book by Liparulo and it blew me away!

    The 13th Tribe is my first book by Liparulo and it blew me away! It’s an
    awesome story about people struggling to understand God’s plan, both for
    the world and for them each individually. (Hey, you know that recurring
    question about why bad things happen in a world that a good God
    created–am I the only person who’s sick of trying to tackle that
    monstrousity of a discussion? It’s just so hard to understand or explain
    and there are so many BAD answers out there, and it’s so easy to hurt
    feelings, plus maybe you aren’t really all that sure about it
    yourself…Anyway, back to the book.) Liparulo tackles that head-on in
    this amazing tale populated by awesome character, thoughtful discussion,
    carefully plotted backstory, and twists so crazy you will have to stop
    reading to process them! At one point I literally sat up and was like,
    “NO WAY!” The 13th Tribe is, hands down, so far my favorite book of
    2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Interesting and engaging read

    Interesting and engaging story. I recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Couldn't put it down! Interesting take on a biblical event. Gets your attention right from the start and holds it all the way through the unexpected twist at the end. Looking forward to the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book is going to twist and turn you like never before. It takes from the Bible and makes it current in a way you won't expect. Be prepared to never stop reading until the very end and still be wanting more. I can't wait for more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great Action Read

    I wasn't sure I'd like this book at first as it took off rather slow. I stuck with it and was glad I did. By the middle I was caught and definitely hooked. It had a lot of action and surprises to the very end. Of course I'm glad it's by a author who resides in my great home State of Colorado! I will read more by Robert Liparulo for sure. Thanks Barnes & Noble for great reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    There is more of a Christian theme here than many of the other n

    There is more of a Christian theme here than many of the other novels, but it is not preachy, just full of the true meaning of Christmas. I'm happy to run across this treasure and know that there are more of them in store for me. Highly recommend this book for holiday reading!
    he 13th Tribe is a story of a group of immortals (the titular Thirteenth Tribe), cursed to roam the earth for all eternity as punishment for turning away from the god of Moses at Mount Sinai and instead worshiping the golden calf. They seek out vengeance against those they perceive as sinners as a twisted attempt to win back God's favour. Caught in the middle is the unlikely named Jagger Baird, a former Army Ranger with a prosthetic arm and a (stereotypical) chip on his shoulder.


    The foot of Mount Sinai the children of Israel made a big mistake. It’s true Moses had been gone 40 days after he headed up the mountain of God, but an all out rebellion culminating in the unbridled worship of a golden calf was unforgiveable. God’s justice was swift, and according to the newest novel by author Robert Liparulo, it resulted in the creation of a “13th Tribe,” a band of immortals banished from the presence of God for their sin at Sinai. Living throughout the millenniums, they for...


    Drawing a unique picture of the events that transpired when Moses received the Ten Commandments from God, Robert Liparulo's novel The 13th Tribe presents a thrilling premise which merges biblical history with modern technology.
    Jagger, still recovering from an accident which left him with an artificial arm, is suddenly thrown into the fight of Immortals, the 13th Tribe, who are trying to appease God by punishing sinners, thus trying to earn forgiveness and consequently mortality again.
    Of course an intriguing plot isn't enough to make a novel stand out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The 13th Tribe The Immortal Files by Robert Liparulo Since the

    The 13th Tribe
    The Immortal Files
    by Robert Liparulo


    Since the time of the Ten Commandments and Israel's betrayal of God at Mt. Sinai a group of immortals has walked the earth. Taken from the twelve tribes this group of 40 were punished with immortality. They became known as Israel's 13th Tribe. Forbidden from entering the Land of Promise they are forever seeking to earn God's forgiveness and entry into Heaven, even if they have to kill every sinner that walks the planet to atone for their sins.

    Jagger Baird is a broken man since an accident claimed his best friend, his arm, his memory, and his faith in God. Hoping to heal and restore his relationship with his wife and son, Jagger takes a job as head of security at an archaeological dig at Mt. Sinai.

    But soon the Tribe and Jagger are locked in a battle that may cost Jagger everything he still has. When the Tribe tracks one of their own to the Monastery of St Catherine's Jagger, Beth and Tyler get caught in the middle. With Beth and Tyler's lives hanging in the balance Jagger must rely on the help of Owen a man whom he has just met.

    But who is Owen and how does he know so much about a secretive group of immortals bent on ridding the earth of evil? Can something in Jagger's forgotten past help him save his family and stop the Tribe? Or will the Tribe achieve their objective and kill millions in a single act of retribution?

    Throughout it all Beth remains firm in her faith in God. She shares her belief with members of the Tribe, but can they find the love of God and His freely offered gift of mercy to all.

    The 13th Tribe is an exciting, thoughtfully written book. Too many try to earn the gift that God offers to us freely. What about you? Have you opened your hand and accepted His gift?

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Amber

    I agree to the last post. They wil see when christ retirns

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    (In The 13th Tribe) Back when Moses met God on Mt. Sinai, the p

    (In The 13th Tribe) Back when Moses met God on Mt. Sinai, the people of Israel sinned and created a golden calf to worship. Thousands were killed, but 40 were dealt a much different card- the curse of immortality on earth. Over time, the seriousness of their curse settles in, and they will do anything to earn salvation. Eventually this group who dubs themselves the 13th tribe turns to killing sinners in the hope that they will please God enough to earn their salvation.

    Jagger Baird has recently been in a horrifying and traumatic car accident. He lost his arm, his friends, and his love for God. In an attempt to start over, he and his family move into a monastery by Mt. Sinai. Being a security guard for an archeological dig, Jagger is on the lookout for anything suspicious. Unsuspecting, Jagger finds just that; and much, much more.

    When I first saw the current cover of this book, I instantly pictured an epic clash of ancient Greek immortals with Einstein knowledge, therefore also possessing weaponry and technology a century before their time. And then my mind went wild with the idea, and basically by the time I started the book, it was like I had already seen the movie. Except... they were two completely different things.

    I would like to address the whole immortality deal because in novels, immortality can mean several different things. These immortals are not "deity-grade" immortals. That is to say, they can still be injured. To give you an idea of the type of immortality they have, it would be somewhere above Middle Earth's elves, but below Homer's Achilles. Well, they would be below the Greek demigod Achilles if he hadn't died. Does that make sense? Swords don't fling off of them, no. But they are still ridiculously hard to kill.

    So what was this book like? For my fantasy mindset, it was nothing like my mental movie. Yet, that does not mean it disappointing. The 13th Tribe is equal parts God/theology, suspense, and thriller. While some of the plot-turners I had seen coming early on, others were quite surprising. I loved the characters in this novel- they really grew on me by the end. As far as pacing and suspense? There are seldom few books that force me to flip through the pages as fast as this one did. The suspense got my heart beating so fast at one point that I actually set the book down and went for a jog to use up the energy! I got very immersed in the story. I'd also like to add that the theology in this book really got me thinking. Being able to see the world from the view of the immortals about the mortals, and then the mortals about the immortals was quite fascinating. Anticipating the next installment in The Immortal Files!

    I received a free copy of this book from Booksneeze, in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    A spectacular adventure of a sort I have never seen before.

    You start out on your adventure with a feeling of... "What the heck?"

    The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo is one of the most unique novels I have ever read. The beginning completely throws you off track and you have no idea what is going on. Slowly, as the book progresses, things become more and more clear, and the pieces come together. It's a very fun process.

    [Plot Summary:]
    """It began when Moses was on Mt. Sinai. Tired of waiting on the One True God, the twelve tribes of Israel began worshipping a golden calf through pagan revelry. Many received immediate death for their idolatry, but 40 were handed a far worse punishment¿endless life on earth with no chance to see the face of God.

    This group of immortals became the 13th Tribe, and they¿ve been trying to earn their way into heaven ever since¿by killing sinners. Though their logic is twisted, their brilliance is undeniable. Their wrath is unstoppable. And the technology they possess is beyond anything mere humans have ever seen.

    Jagger Baird knows nothing about the Tribe when he¿s hired as head of security for an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. The former Army Ranger is still reeling from an accident that claimed the life of his best friend, his arm, and his faith in God.

    The Tribe is poised to execute their most ambitious attack ever and the lives of millions hang in the balance. When Jagger¿s wife and son are caught in the crossfire, he¿ll stop at nothing to save them. But how can one man stand against an entire tribe of immortals?

    The story of The 13th Tribe centers around a group of people who call themselves just that: the 13th Tribe. It turns out that they were formed around 3,500 years ago around the time of the Book of Exodus. They were cursed with immortality, forever destined to stay the age they were when their band was formed, whether infant or old weakling. Originally numbering forty, only eight members have stayed true through present day to carry on what they believe to be their mission: to eliminate those who would bring harm to the innocent. Or, in short, sinners.

    As a mixture between historical fiction, science fiction and modern-day thriller, The 13th Tribe kept my attention until the end, though all of the mishaps, plot twists and stunning showdowns. Few writers can write hand-to-hand combat as does Robert Liparulo, and few can make their characters become so... alive. Through the entirety of the story you grow sympathize and love or hate each and every character, and in the end the main protagonist, Jagger Baird, became an all-time favorite fictional character of mine.

    The book surprisingly occasionally had the feel of a self-published novel, but that is for the mere reason that I read a pre-edited copy¿the author's first draft, if you will. The novel releases to stores in April 2012, and I definitely recommend picking it up.

    In conclusion, The 13th Tribe is a spectacular adventure of a sort I have never seen before. It contains plot twists and surprises that you really don't see coming, and when they're led up to you can almost feel your eyes growing bigger. It is full of action, drama, adventure, and just plain awesomeness. For sure, it was one of the best novels I have read this entire year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Immortal Vigilantes? What's not to love!

    Robert Liparulo had me at "Immortal Vigilantes". What a concept! I had to read it, despite my usual tendency to avoid anything dealing with "experimental technology". Liparulo starts setting the scene from page one with such descriptive precision that the mental images and subsequent cold chills keep you turning the pages... before you know it, you're hooked! Blending Bible, History, Technology, and the Paranormal seamlessly, Liparulo gives you plenty to think about with his captivating story line and complex characters. I loved the care that was taken to set up the world in which the story takes place, the attention to detail, the rich history, the pacing. It allowed me to immerse myself into the story. I didn't want to leave this inventive world, but I had to put the book down from time to time in order to catch my breath. I especially enjoyed the fight scenes. They are intense and written with such exactitude that I felt the need to check myself for blood splatter! Thrilling with exciting twists, interesting characters, skillful prose, and a solid story interwoven with a strong faith-filled message. This book definitely keeps you inspired and intrigued. Hard to walk away from that last page and close this book without feeling exhausted and invigorated- all in one pleasurable mix. Mr. Liparulo, consider my socks blown off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    A masterpiece not yet released! A MUST read!

    A few days ago I finished The 13th Tribe, a new literary style from one of my all time favorite authors, Robert Liparulo. Robert dives into an ancient rebellion with the Israelites and soars over the Ragged Edge with vigilante justice that bleeds onto the page and into your conscious before you are even aware of how tightly gripped within this story you truly are. Fast-paced, high octane, weapons of mass destruction, romance and true imagery of not only modern day but ancient Israel, makes this a MUST read for every reader regardless of genre you generally subscribe too. Liparulo books hold a special space on my shelf at home and after The 13th Tribe, I plan to increase it! I cannot wait for the sequels!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read from a "Different" Liparulo!

    Last night I read the final 172 pages of Advance Reader's Copy of this novel.

    To be honest, I thought that the book was going to be just another action novel with yet another group of supervillains. I was so very wrong.

    This book deals with a raw emotion that runs at the core of so many people: Revenge. For others it's Justice. This novel will cause you to see and feel the tortured intersection of the two viewpoints.

    The conflict between good and evil isn't as black and white as you might think as you read this book. Filled with raw emotion and impossible decisions, you will both root for and against the "villains", but you will also do the same with regard to the "heroes".

    The ending of the novel was ALMOST what I expected. When you get toward the end of this book, I'm pretty sure you'll think the same way. But it was the last couple of pages that really threw me for a loop and really satisfied! Terrific ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3