Customer Reviews for

The 1st Victim: A Sam Kovac and Nikki Liska Story, featuring an excerpt of The 9th Girl (A Penguin Special from Dutton)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good story, love Tami Hoag, but i was a little disappointed that

Good story, love Tami Hoag, but i was a little disappointed that it was so short. Can't wait for the next book...The 9th victim.

posted by 7400275 on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Dissapointing

Would have liked to know that this was only a very short story before I paid

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    Very well written; like all Tami Hoag books. Story pulls you in right away and gives you a glimpse of a creepy, sadistic killer. I plan to read The 9th Girl asap! As this has left me wanting to know more!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Short but intense read

    Even though this book was short, it was very good! Kept me guessing!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Love her books.

    I enjoy most all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    First time reading a Tami Hoag book. Its a short story but a gre

    First time reading a Tami Hoag book. Its a short story but a great read. Definitely looking forward to her new release the 9th Victum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended- you need to check ot out!!!!

    I like Tami Hoag books. I like the way that she writes. Her writting keeps you involve in her books.Yes I would read other books by this author based on my experience with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    Fantastic short story and great intro to her new book to be released this summer. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    good book

    I liked this book and had hoped it was all of it but apparently not, I dont think I will purchases any more short parts of any books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Highly Very Recommended for those who plan to read The 9th Girl

    I'm a big fan of Tami Hoag's Kovac & Liska series. As I was waiting for her most recent book to come out (The 9th Girl) I found out about The 1st Victim which precedes it. Since it was only available as an ebook I thought how critical could it be to the series. Decided to try it and very glad I did!!! I's short and does add to The 9th Girl if you plan to read it. The 1st Victim is a quick read but well worth it if you have the ebook technology!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Kate

    Fine hey gtg eat at pizza hut its my bros 12 b-day

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Cam

    Im dateing jason!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Sam

    Kool! Meet me ack here at 1100 central time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Recommend

    Another great mystery and murder book. I am a big fan of Tami Hoag's books. Haven't been disappointed yet in any of her type's of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Great Start to....

    ...yet another good read from one of the best authors around, or atleast I think so. I love her style and her books keep you wanting more. I especially love how she will go back to previous books and characters, to continue a story with them. Can't wait to start reading The 9th Girl. I would highly recommend this and any other book written by Tami Hoag, in any genre there is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Geat Novella

    Grat intro to her next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Writing contest and a nice story

    The bob no mom nut round awesome me as we are the cool guy and goo go were there horse gutter poop poo poopy post rate reveiw. Enough of that. Right to the story. Once,me,lionfire,was walking around and i saw flintkit. I attaked and he curled up in fear. I softend a little bit around the kit,and i stoped attacking. He instantly jumped at me. I batted him down with one paw and pinned him there with the same paw,leaving him there squirming. I finally let him go. I think he learned his lesson,because he spat at me and turned tail and ran down the moor. I watched him run,my heart racing. Could the have beaten me? No,i told myself. I'm to strong. How could I think that? Maybe cause it happened? A small voice in my head whispered. Then all the sudden,two big lethe black tabbys jumped at me through the shadows. I jumped back,startled. But i relized too late that that was a fatal mistake. I fell into...a big river with a nasty current. I flounderd around for fresh air,but just as white specks began to form in my eyes,i felt a hard tug at my pelt. I barely had enough energy to look up through the water. Wait,i might be wrong,but is that the kit i attacked a few hours ago? I asked myself. And then black covered my vision. When i woke up,two pairs of eyes were staring coldly at me. It was the two black tabbys. I finally noticed that there was a sparrow ready for me at my paws. I left the fresh-kill and took a step forward,my pelt bristling. They stood there,still watching me coldly. I flopped down and something scamperd out from under me. I pounced on it and i noticed,it was the kit,my savior! I let go of him and he grumbled with a hint of a snarl in his voice,"I saved your stupid life and your going to pay me back by killing me?" I sighed and walked off,but in the shadows,a voice called to me,"Keep your eyes open,Lionfire. Keep your paws ready. Cause one day i'll find you,and you'll be that dead sparrow.""Don't worry. I'll be ready.I said somberly. I'll be ready.Well,did you like it? Another story at ivy or warriors result 1. Good-bye,and farewell!!!

    0 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2