Customer Reviews for

The 4 Essentials of Entrepreneurial Thinking: What Successful People Didn't Learn in School

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Cliff Michaels offers an insightful viewpoint on both life and b

    Cliff Michaels offers an insightful viewpoint on both life and business. An incredibly fast, fun read that will change you life. A total paradigm shift in how we view education, and specifically, what we all should be learning (or should have learned) in school! A true inspiration. Filled with entertaining stories, motivational quotes from incredible visionaries and what really are the Essentials of entrepreneurial thinking. A must read. Would give 10 stars if I could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Cliff's approach is personal and practical. A deep dive into th

    Cliff's approach is personal and practical. A deep dive into the people we admire - himself included - and how we can apply those lessons to our own paths. This book is beyond a read for "entrepreneurs" - great read for life skills in general!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    A friend recommended this book to me and I couldn't be happier i

    A friend recommended this book to me and I couldn't be happier in my purchase!

    This is not a book that you'll read once and forget about. Cliff provides a bevy of helpful tools and tricks of the trade that I will keep on hand throughout my entrepreneurial career. Down to earth and practical information defines what this book means to me.

    You must buy this book! You will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Matt Slater, Entrepreneur | Student | Connector The 4 Essential

    Matt Slater, Entrepreneur | Student | Connector

    The 4 Essentials is a must read for any aspiring entrepreneur. As an entrepreneur myself, I can vouch that my success has been largely due to the concepts and practical skills presented in this book. From always sending thank you letters (to the level of detail Cliff describes), always following up and always looking at a relationship as a two way street--Always ask how can you help them.
    Your network is your networth, and the 4 essentials really puts that into perspective.
    I have no doubt this book will be the catalyst to the success of many entrepreneurs. Thank you Cliff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Reading this book was like a conversation with a trusted mentor.

    Reading this book was like a conversation with a trusted mentor. Cliff Michaels is as practical as he is entertaining. From Cliff's college days, real estate adventures, Diary of a Dotcom, and amazing stories on famous people, it's hard to put the book down once you start. I recommend The 4 Essentials to peers, professors, and professionals alike. The 4 Essentials should be required reading. ~ Nathan Doctor, President, USC Entrepreneur Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Chirag Sagar, Student at University of Southern California Clif

    Chirag Sagar, Student at University of Southern California

    Cliff Provides all the tools and resources that an entrepreneur needs in order to execute on an idea. His 4 principals for entrepreneurs help them understand how to plan and execute on ideas, but more importantly he illustrates that it's just as advisable for you to know what, how, and why you are doing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    LOVE The 4 Essentials! For a university student and entrepreneur

    LOVE The 4 Essentials! For a university student and entrepreneur-in-training, the material was very powerful, inspiring, and insightful. Incidentally it landed in my hands at exactly the moment when I became disillusioned and dissatisfied with rote learning/cookie-cutter academia. I was looking for a better way, and voila! What Cliff Michaels is doing to "raise the bar for education" (and entrepreneurship) is highly commendable. His book is now top of the list for go-to guidance in my life and career. Can't recommend The 4 Essentials enough. Every student and professional should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I am both a professor and entrepreneur who ra

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I am both a professor and entrepreneur who rarely takes time to write these reviews. But The 4 Essentials is like nothing I've ever read. The book completely redefines the word entrepreneur and challenges our whole concept of education without reducing the importance or merit of higher learning. You can't put this book down once you start and you'll read it again and again (it's that good and that original). Author Cliff Michaels shares his most personal life and business experiences (success and failure), and it all started as a campus boat rocker at USC. The journey as a successful real estate broker investor and pioneer in online learning is juxtaposed against a true novella called Diary of a Dotcom (amazing story of Michaels' wild high tech venture- I won't spoil the ending)). But that's just the first 40 pages! The rest of the book is an series of essays that propose 4 Essentials for success "and happiness" (and a paradigm shift for real-world education). This book gets my highest recommendation and is now required reading in all my classes. Bravo, Cliff Michaels! This book is destined to be a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Cliff's work is a true paradigm shift for those who looking to improve their skills in business. As an avid business reader, I often find that material can be broad and unfocused. Cliff's approach hones in on the core "character" of what makes a successful businessperson and provides simple focused steps to developing to one's full potential. The book stays focused on tangible and reachable goals. A very uplifting and fun read. You'll walk away ready to take on your next venture with a completely new perspective!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    A totally original game-changer on life + business

    If you like thought-leading Bestsellers like Seth Godin, Tony Hsieh, Blake Mycoskie, Jim Collins, or Tim Ferris, you'll love The 4 Essentials by Cliff Michaels. This book is destined to be a classic. The stories and lessons are timeless and entertaining. Once you start, this book is hard to put down. Cliff offers a unique look at modern + historical thought leaders, rebels from sports & entertainment, and insight to business moguls I would otherwise never know. Although I knew the names, I came away with fresh perspective on legends like Lucy, Branson, da Vinci, Jobs, Edison, Einstein, Gates, Mozart, Oprah, Woods, and countless others. I also loved the 1 for 1 business model that gives back to students and young entrepreneurs with each purchase of this book. RIGHT ON!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great read for Startups as well as Career Driven...a book worth sharing with your friends!

    I've read dozens of business books on how to become a better entrepreneur. I think the author has done a fantastic job connecting his personal story to how to what he feels are the four key essentials to succeeding. Its an easy read and is not filled with jargon but instead well spun stories the exemplify how the author was able to apply them in his life. This book can apply to not only the small business owner but the person working their way up the corporate ladder. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Highly recommend- a must read!

    A leading visionary for our time. Michaels has identified the specific strategies that anyone in business today must understand in order to succeed. He finds the common threads among the great masters and modern day success stories and blends them into a formula that can be reproduced. A fascinating book that will make you see the world and business in a whole new way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Motivation At Its Finest

    Humorous and insightful, an absolute must read for those in stuck in a rut or looking to forge a new path. This book will motivate you to make the necessary changes to put you back on track with a smile on your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    6 stars!!!

    READ THIS BOOK! I read 5 books a month and this is one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1