Customer Reviews for

The 48 Laws of Power

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my na

I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t re...
I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t really laws – they’re more like principles that will help you in the art of gaining and exercising power. I don’t mean to suggest that the laws are incorrect – they’re absolutely correct – they’re just not laws.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Shame on those who applaud these ideas!

As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. ...
As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. Glaring examples of this twisted ethos were apparent in the management teams at Enron, Tyco, Worldcom, Arthur Anderson, Adelphia, and a host of other disfunctional corporations. The unsustainable paths these organizations chose, and the disasterous outcomes that resulted, exemplify the distorted ideas expoused in this sadly popular writing. Once again, Greene reminds us that no social question is so complex that a simple-minded solution can't be offered. For those interested in reading works on this subject with true substance, I can recommend the following: (1) 'Power, Influence and Persuasion' by Harvard Business School Press & Society for Human Resource Management, (2) 'Power and Influence' by John P. Kotter (at Harvard), (3) 'Managing with Power: Politics and Influence in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford), and (4) 'Power in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford). Reading credible and well documented books like these from genuine thought leaders will hopefully innoculate aspiring managers against the 'intellectual kitty litter' offered by Greene.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    Shame on those who applaud these ideas!

    As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. Glaring examples of this twisted ethos were apparent in the management teams at Enron, Tyco, Worldcom, Arthur Anderson, Adelphia, and a host of other disfunctional corporations. The unsustainable paths these organizations chose, and the disasterous outcomes that resulted, exemplify the distorted ideas expoused in this sadly popular writing. Once again, Greene reminds us that no social question is so complex that a simple-minded solution can't be offered. For those interested in reading works on this subject with true substance, I can recommend the following: (1) 'Power, Influence and Persuasion' by Harvard Business School Press & Society for Human Resource Management, (2) 'Power and Influence' by John P. Kotter (at Harvard), (3) 'Managing with Power: Politics and Influence in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford), and (4) 'Power in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford). Reading credible and well documented books like these from genuine thought leaders will hopefully innoculate aspiring managers against the 'intellectual kitty litter' offered by Greene.

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my na

    I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
    The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t really laws – they’re more like principles that will help you in the art of gaining and exercising power. I don’t mean to suggest that the laws are incorrect – they’re absolutely correct – they’re just not laws.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great interesting read!

    I have not finished this book yet but so far it is very enjoyable! I love how the writer includes examples of the laws within history and by historic figues. Also the way the book is printed with little side stories and notes in the margins is awesome! I find it very fascinating and great for discussions.
    Some laws do not seem practical or amirable but are important to the topic none the less. I am interested in trying to apply some of these laws to my life and perhaps increase the quality of my life. I have been picked on and put down most of my life but perhaps this book will help me turn that around! It is somewhat inspirational.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well Put Mr. Greene

    Clearly its controversial but thats because you either get it or you don't. Extensive research and great examples from actual history plus it has Interpretation for each law, which makes it even easier to understand. This book also has fables to stimulate your mind and make you think. This author is sharp and entertaining. Each law makes sense and wether you like it or not, its the way the world works, there are crooks out there and this book is your best defense!!! I work in a place where there's clicks, its very social,...so when you work with all kinds of characters like I do, or any people business. Simply put, if you're around 50 people then thats 50 personalities and 50 different behaviors, and you need to be prepared and this book tells you how to handle any situations you could be faced with. Excellent book!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Not What I Anticipated

    I thought this book would be more of a "How-To" in terms of getting power. Instead, what it is seems to be more of a long-winded history lesson. The research is quite in-depth, and it reads quite easily, but the teachings on how to accumulate power simply don't apply to modern-day life. Whether or not a general in some army burned the horns of cattle at night to give the appearance of more men to scare his enemy does not help me figure out how to gain power. Yes, it's fun to try to apply the teachings in this book to your life, but the simple fact is that it just doesn't work. It's a great read, and it's entertaining, but it's not going to help Joe Everyday get a leg up on the competition at his 9-5 cubicle job.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    A reviewer

    Very dissapointing all I had to do is read the Table of Content, which gave me a hint as to the overall substance of the book-Sure every one desires power but obtaining it through ruthless devices will squash you in the end every time-one review said it is not to be taken seriously...Are you serious? we live in a world that operates in the power of light and darkness every day- Hello, focus on the the law of sowing and reaping-and what about the law of reciprocity-power is self control- not to control others or gain the control by manipulation this is clearly deception (witchcraft) this violates one's own will- to posses influennce is to have true power ones integrity and love for one another I'd advise anyone to be up on their game for anyone they come in contact with that invests in the dark principles of these 48 laws in this book. If you must read it, eat the meat of the obvious in human nature, but make sure you spit out the bones!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    not true POWER...

    this is manipulation, control, and self-serving force... follow and lose your own soul... its value may be in showing some of the tactics the soulless may use to control and manipulate... so in this it gives wisdom and protection to the naive, but I would not follow it... thus becoming another dog in a dog eat dog world...

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Book Of All-time

    This Book is a way of getting to know how some people truly are in the world. This book gives an idea of some changes that people can make in their lives. The biggest thing is to understand the book and to not take it literally.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Great book if you have no moral values....

    I stopped reading after reviewing the 48 laws at the beginning of the book. I found it to be an unethical guideline to attain 'power'. It is not 'biblical' as one reviewer put it but just the opposite! I found no need to delve further..this was one book I could judge by its cover!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Opinions

    Well I like the concept and ideas, the interpretation gives you the ideas and your wisdom should be used when and if envoked. We can all read a books like the bible and have good and bad reviews. This book, is not for you probably, if you are working at Mcdonalds or a non politicized environment ie teacher, student, etc. But in boardrooms and crab-barrell enviroments sometimes you got to do what you must to prosper or survive!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    This is an awful book. My abusive boyfriend was reading this as

    This is an awful book. My abusive boyfriend was reading this as a way to gain control of me and those around him. He is in prison now, for the second time. Guess that says it all. Pure evil, as far as I am concerned. Anyone with a good and kind soul would find it difficult to practice much of what is written in this ammoral book. If I could, I'd give it zero stars! (Who would want to live the life of an ammoral person anyway???

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    BE SURE TO GET A COPY OF THINK AND GROW RICH TOO! It is one of the VERY FEW books that promises to help you determine Who you want to become? What it is you want to do? When it's going to happen? Why THE MISSION IS POSSIBLE? And how you're going to attain it? All through the aid and application of the "unknown and unused knowledge and power" they termed the "Carnegie Secret."

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    Let life come and live generously,
    Host & Philosopher
    Juddha Shaddai Fitzgerald
    www.blogtalkradio.com/juddha-fitzgerald

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    SECOND BIBLE

    Truth for the person looking to take true control of someone and or something in their life. This book is not for younger readers because of the fact it's impossible not to want to practice. It will give you an independent new found confidence to crush anyone or thing that gets in your way. should be labeled as the, 'SECOND BIBLE'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    good book

    makes you wander how many people are using the skills in this book love this book would recommend to any one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Read this book

    This is a very controversial book. Most people will say that it is an amoral book and goes against general principles. Well, this isn't the Bible and you will not find it in the spiritual aisle. It is a of facts about if you are not alert you will get taken and it has examples from 3000 years of history to support the rule. It is a survival manuel for anyone dealing with business, family, networking, and so called "friends".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    MACHEVELLI UPDATED

    Good book to read and discuss. Not sure I'd follow the leadership advice in here unless I didn't care about other poeple.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Way of the World

    Initially, I felt bad for buying this book and I felt worse when I started to read it.

    Whats important to understand though is that those who choose to read this book do so for 3 reasons (as is stated on the back cover of the book): People who are interested in power, those who watch power, and those who want to protect themselves from power.

    In my work experience, I have been characterized as someone who is "by the book." Time and again I have seen co-workers work less and get more credit for there "efforts." Or, I have been treated unfairly when I am really doing my job at times better than other co-workers.

    I feel that I am better off for reading this book for two reasons. First, I have difficulties reading social cues. Now that I have read this book, I feel like I will be able to decipher some, not all, of the hows and whys of human nature. Second, is that when dealing with people in the workforce I think I will be better able to catch some of the mischievous behavior faster by being one or two steps ahead and try to better protect myself.

    You have to realize that although people would frown upon a book written about acquiring power through: cunning, deceit, coercion, and other methods of behavior, this has happened throughout human history and presently and in the future it will continue to happen but not at the intensity that it once did as described in the book. Understand that as much as you may want to deny it, this is the way the world works and although you may not want to acquire power, like myself, you need to protect yourself from people who have no problem walking over you to acquire it. Arm yourself today by picking up a copy and reading it all the way through.

    This has helped reduce some of my idealism and boosted my pragmatism.

    I anticipated reading this book in one week but took longer because of its density. Be prepared to spend quite a bit of time getting through the book.

    The book was penalized one point for contradictory principles throughout.

    I have recorded 372 words, terms, people, books, or historical events that will require reviewing in a dictionary or by reviewing online. Keep a dictionary close by.

    I plan on reading Robert Greene's two of three other books: "The 33 Strategies of War" and "Mastery".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    It's awesome.

    I love a book that can show me a VERY different way of looking at things. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    My first book

    I have recommended this book to almost everyone I know. Im a college student that loves history and a good read. This book supplies me with both. I'm 20 years old with alot of ambition. I don't see these "48 Laws" as rules and guidlines that need to be followed but helpful advice to gain power and to guard yourself from it. Plus I love the words of wisdom found throughout the book as you read. My favorite quote from tthis book is "A person who cannot control is words, cannot control himself and is unworthy of respect". I found a lot of the advice to be true in this book. Despite the horrible reviews from some individuals about this book, take the chance and read it for yourself. Remember "Don't judge a book by its cover" or by reviews. I bought this book at 19 and I'm still reading it over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Treefrost

    Freezes the tsunami and freezes her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11