Customer Reviews for

The 48 Laws of Power

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my na

I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t re...
I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t really laws – they’re more like principles that will help you in the art of gaining and exercising power. I don’t mean to suggest that the laws are incorrect – they’re absolutely correct – they’re just not laws.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Shame on those who applaud these ideas!

As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. ...
As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. Glaring examples of this twisted ethos were apparent in the management teams at Enron, Tyco, Worldcom, Arthur Anderson, Adelphia, and a host of other disfunctional corporations. The unsustainable paths these organizations chose, and the disasterous outcomes that resulted, exemplify the distorted ideas expoused in this sadly popular writing. Once again, Greene reminds us that no social question is so complex that a simple-minded solution can't be offered. For those interested in reading works on this subject with true substance, I can recommend the following: (1) 'Power, Influence and Persuasion' by Harvard Business School Press & Society for Human Resource Management, (2) 'Power and Influence' by John P. Kotter (at Harvard), (3) 'Managing with Power: Politics and Influence in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford), and (4) 'Power in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford). Reading credible and well documented books like these from genuine thought leaders will hopefully innoculate aspiring managers against the 'intellectual kitty litter' offered by Greene.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great interesting read!

    I have not finished this book yet but so far it is very enjoyable! I love how the writer includes examples of the laws within history and by historic figues. Also the way the book is printed with little side stories and notes in the margins is awesome! I find it very fascinating and great for discussions.
    Some laws do not seem practical or amirable but are important to the topic none the less. I am interested in trying to apply some of these laws to my life and perhaps increase the quality of my life. I have been picked on and put down most of my life but perhaps this book will help me turn that around! It is somewhat inspirational.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Way of the World

    Initially, I felt bad for buying this book and I felt worse when I started to read it.

    Whats important to understand though is that those who choose to read this book do so for 3 reasons (as is stated on the back cover of the book): People who are interested in power, those who watch power, and those who want to protect themselves from power.

    In my work experience, I have been characterized as someone who is "by the book." Time and again I have seen co-workers work less and get more credit for there "efforts." Or, I have been treated unfairly when I am really doing my job at times better than other co-workers.

    I feel that I am better off for reading this book for two reasons. First, I have difficulties reading social cues. Now that I have read this book, I feel like I will be able to decipher some, not all, of the hows and whys of human nature. Second, is that when dealing with people in the workforce I think I will be better able to catch some of the mischievous behavior faster by being one or two steps ahead and try to better protect myself.

    You have to realize that although people would frown upon a book written about acquiring power through: cunning, deceit, coercion, and other methods of behavior, this has happened throughout human history and presently and in the future it will continue to happen but not at the intensity that it once did as described in the book. Understand that as much as you may want to deny it, this is the way the world works and although you may not want to acquire power, like myself, you need to protect yourself from people who have no problem walking over you to acquire it. Arm yourself today by picking up a copy and reading it all the way through.

    This has helped reduce some of my idealism and boosted my pragmatism.

    I anticipated reading this book in one week but took longer because of its density. Be prepared to spend quite a bit of time getting through the book.

    The book was penalized one point for contradictory principles throughout.

    I have recorded 372 words, terms, people, books, or historical events that will require reviewing in a dictionary or by reviewing online. Keep a dictionary close by.

    I plan on reading Robert Greene's two of three other books: "The 33 Strategies of War" and "Mastery".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    good

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    An Exploration of Power as a Mechanism That is Instinctual in ALL and Perfected by Others

    As I write this review I have admittedly not yet completed the book. However, my attitude regarding its value is none-the-less positive. If you think you understood power relationships, you probably did on some level, but if you REALLY want to understand how power plays a role in virtually everything you do and with ever human and animal encounter you have(yes, even your pets understand the power relationship), this book offers tremendous insight. My experience with this book has been one of a meditative study, as much of the authors observations will require the reader to contemplate and relate the information to their own lives. In addition to the author's explanation of the laws of power, he also offers terrific supplemental text that is both historical, poetic, and familiar. Many of the laws of power you will recognize, but after studying them in depth, you are most certain to have a new insight on the ways that power plays a role in your life on a level that was perhaps misunderstood before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting read for those interested in social ideas

    The 48 Laws of Power is a compelling and thought-provoking book about what the author Robert Greene calls the Laws of Power, rules that govern whether a person has 'power' in a social or political context. He uses a variety of historical stories and anecdotes to describe how the different laws are observed or not, which turns out to be a very interesting and effective way to structure the book. This book is popular among the business crowd, particularly with young executives looking to rise in the corporate ranks. However, the lessons from the book can be applied by anyone in a professional setting. The Laws can range from the slightly manipulative ('Get others to do work for you, but always take the credit') to the more pragmatic (Plan all the way to the end), with each having a thorough explanation as to why it is a necessary rule to follow on the path to power. Overall, the 48 Laws of Power is a book whose advice should be taken with a grain of salt, because the actions and ideas that the book suggest may be effective, but they can lead an individual who is less able to apply them into trouble. Nonetheless, my recommendation: Buy and read a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pragmatic

    This is a very insightful historical look at Power in all of its glory and inglory. I would suggest that you read it with an open yet cynical eye. If nothing else, this book will prepare you for how to deal with others who follow certain scripts. It's up to each individual to find his own comfort level in seeking power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Thought provoking

    Great! Gives you rules to the game of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Interesting

    It was a different kind of book. The stories used as examples were helpful and illustrative. I laughed in a few spots because it perfectly described people I know. I shared the insights with friends. I think it was worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Well kept secret

    I consider this book to be a well kept secret. Guard it with your life and be very carefull who you recommend it to. This book is not for those with weak hearts and weak stomachs and it's definitely not for those who abuse power either. Get rid of the notion that 'winning isn't everything', because it is. The way I see it, why let someone else have what could be your's. If you're ready to seriously play the game of power, then you'd better know the rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    honest reader

    This book can change your life, however it is full of advices against the good human values

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    You have to read it.

    I strongly recommend this book to everyone, especially to those working in a field of management, marketing, or to those involved in politics. This books is full of historical events, smart quotations, and strong subjective statements. Dispite its cynnical approach it is a masterpiece that reveals the reality of life. In Green's eyes power is everything, and it is up to the reader to use the Green's perspective or avoid the views of him and people alike whatsoever. Read it, you will like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    More Machiavellian than Machiavelli.

    Machiavelli would turn over in his grave. Really there's a lot of good advice. You have to take it to a grain of salt, deciding how much you are going to accept given your own moral code. It will certainly help you avoid scheming people, but beware: you might become more cynical after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3