Customer Reviews for

The 48 Laws of Power

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my na

I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t re...
I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t really laws – they’re more like principles that will help you in the art of gaining and exercising power. I don’t mean to suggest that the laws are incorrect – they’re absolutely correct – they’re just not laws.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Shame on those who applaud these ideas!

As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. ...
As a retired CEO and now university professor, I cannot disagree more strongly with the premise of this book and the tactics promoted within. The ideas expoused here are ruthless, amoral, manipulative nonsense -- a dose of pure utilitarianism for the stupid and greedy. Glaring examples of this twisted ethos were apparent in the management teams at Enron, Tyco, Worldcom, Arthur Anderson, Adelphia, and a host of other disfunctional corporations. The unsustainable paths these organizations chose, and the disasterous outcomes that resulted, exemplify the distorted ideas expoused in this sadly popular writing. Once again, Greene reminds us that no social question is so complex that a simple-minded solution can't be offered. For those interested in reading works on this subject with true substance, I can recommend the following: (1) 'Power, Influence and Persuasion' by Harvard Business School Press & Society for Human Resource Management, (2) 'Power and Influence' by John P. Kotter (at Harvard), (3) 'Managing with Power: Politics and Influence in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford), and (4) 'Power in Organizations' by Jeffrey Pfeffer (at Stanford). Reading credible and well documented books like these from genuine thought leaders will hopefully innoculate aspiring managers against the 'intellectual kitty litter' offered by Greene.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my na

    I have this as an ebook text me if you want it, 3476203448 my name is Chris.
    The book takes each "law" in turn and gives historical examples of those who follow the law and fail to follow the law. You’ll quickly see that the laws of power aren’t really laws – they’re more like principles that will help you in the art of gaining and exercising power. I don’t mean to suggest that the laws are incorrect – they’re absolutely correct – they’re just not laws.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well Put Mr. Greene

    Clearly its controversial but thats because you either get it or you don't. Extensive research and great examples from actual history plus it has Interpretation for each law, which makes it even easier to understand. This book also has fables to stimulate your mind and make you think. This author is sharp and entertaining. Each law makes sense and wether you like it or not, its the way the world works, there are crooks out there and this book is your best defense!!! I work in a place where there's clicks, its very social,...so when you work with all kinds of characters like I do, or any people business. Simply put, if you're around 50 people then thats 50 personalities and 50 different behaviors, and you need to be prepared and this book tells you how to handle any situations you could be faced with. Excellent book!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Book Of All-time

    This Book is a way of getting to know how some people truly are in the world. This book gives an idea of some changes that people can make in their lives. The biggest thing is to understand the book and to not take it literally.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Opinions

    Well I like the concept and ideas, the interpretation gives you the ideas and your wisdom should be used when and if envoked. We can all read a books like the bible and have good and bad reviews. This book, is not for you probably, if you are working at Mcdonalds or a non politicized environment ie teacher, student, etc. But in boardrooms and crab-barrell enviroments sometimes you got to do what you must to prosper or survive!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    BE SURE TO GET A COPY OF THINK AND GROW RICH TOO! It is one of the VERY FEW books that promises to help you determine Who you want to become? What it is you want to do? When it's going to happen? Why THE MISSION IS POSSIBLE? And how you're going to attain it? All through the aid and application of the "unknown and unused knowledge and power" they termed the "Carnegie Secret."

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    Let life come and live generously,
    Host & Philosopher
    Juddha Shaddai Fitzgerald
    www.blogtalkradio.com/juddha-fitzgerald

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    SECOND BIBLE

    Truth for the person looking to take true control of someone and or something in their life. This book is not for younger readers because of the fact it's impossible not to want to practice. It will give you an independent new found confidence to crush anyone or thing that gets in your way. should be labeled as the, 'SECOND BIBLE'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    good book

    makes you wander how many people are using the skills in this book love this book would recommend to any one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Read this book

    This is a very controversial book. Most people will say that it is an amoral book and goes against general principles. Well, this isn't the Bible and you will not find it in the spiritual aisle. It is a of facts about if you are not alert you will get taken and it has examples from 3000 years of history to support the rule. It is a survival manuel for anyone dealing with business, family, networking, and so called "friends".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    MACHEVELLI UPDATED

    Good book to read and discuss. Not sure I'd follow the leadership advice in here unless I didn't care about other poeple.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    It's awesome.

    I love a book that can show me a VERY different way of looking at things. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    My first book

    I have recommended this book to almost everyone I know. Im a college student that loves history and a good read. This book supplies me with both. I'm 20 years old with alot of ambition. I don't see these "48 Laws" as rules and guidlines that need to be followed but helpful advice to gain power and to guard yourself from it. Plus I love the words of wisdom found throughout the book as you read. My favorite quote from tthis book is "A person who cannot control is words, cannot control himself and is unworthy of respect". I found a lot of the advice to be true in this book. Despite the horrible reviews from some individuals about this book, take the chance and read it for yourself. Remember "Don't judge a book by its cover" or by reviews. I bought this book at 19 and I'm still reading it over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Treefrost

    Freezes the tsunami and freezes her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Maplewind

    Falls into a earthquake and smothers you with tsunami

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Critical information

    I have a hardcover first edition of this book. I have giving copies to friends. This book has taken strageties from leaders and major players through out history so readers can be informed and protect themselves. This book is no different than the book "The Art of War" by Sun Tzu or the writings of Nicolas Makavalis, the advisor to the Medici family. This book should be read with an open mind and as you read it just think about the people around you and the times someone started trouble unintentional. How many people have a family member do something aweful but you felt you had to forgive them because they are family? How many people is working and doing a great job, maybe better then the boss and wonder why they do not get any acknowledgements or promotions? Well, one of the rules is do not out shine the master. Frankly, the book should be apart of business education. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended for those who are not weak of mind or spirit

    I've read numerous reviews of this book and have been amused greatly by those who admonish us to give up these "immoral" pursuits. I have lived and been witness to the principles outlined in this, and Robert Greene's other works so many times but nowhere have I found these principles articulated so clearly or illustrated so well as in Robert Greene's fantastic works. If you have ever wonder why some people seem to get what they want all the time, or have once been convinced that there was more to this life than what you have achieved right at this moment whether material or otherwise, then this book will help you get it...if you have the strength of will and spirit to go out into the world and take it. Power is not immoral. Power is a means to an end. The end may very well be moral or immoral, but that's up to an individual to decide for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    POWER

    JUST ABSOLUTLY GREAT !!! POWERFUL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good Read

    Get your copy at a great price
    store01dotprostoresdotcom/booksrus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book for those who want Power, watch Power, or want to arm themselves against Power. (Stolen from the book, but it fits well.)

    A great book for those people interested in learning about power from tactical and historical settings. An easy to read book that keeps you interested from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the most creative and interesting books ever written. A pure joy to read and ponder.

    This book is a delight to read. Not only is it historical, it can also be applied to everyday life. Just as a history its interesting but thinking about how to apply the laws in your life is the best part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greene's 48 Laws is an amazing book for history buffs to businesspeople

    The 48 Laws of Power is a provocative book about human nature and the struggle for power in all areas of our life. It ties historical lessons to real world situations and is very intriguing for anyone who has in interest in politics, business, history, and human nature. It will change the way you look at the way people interact and how to protect yourself from the influence of others. It contains a great wealth of quotes and stories from ancient civilizations as well as great leaders.

    With a great mixture factual background and intellectual insight the book provides a well structured thesis of how people interact in the struggle for personal power. I really enjoyed the author's ideas and how he puts forth his ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6