BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners: The Complete Book for Intermittent Fasting with Easy Recipes and Weight Loss Plans

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    This book reinforces healthy eating habits and gives you a plan.

    This book reinforces healthy eating habits and gives you a plan. The main idea is to keep your metabolism working for you even during fasting. Reading this great book you find very realistic and achievable principles to incorporate into your life. The meal plans and links to calorie counters are wonderful and help you stay accountable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I loved this book! I thought it would be a typical diet book, di

    I loved this book! I thought it would be a typical diet book, discussing all the health benefits of the diet, but I was surprised to find that this book is much more of an incredible cookbook! The Broiled Halibut with Garlic Spinach was just divine, and the Parmesan Egg Toast is an amazing breakfast that I find myself craving on days that are not even fasting days. I love the healthy and delicious recipes here, and could them all the time! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    5:2 Fast Diet For Beginners is a short book that will teach read

    5:2 Fast Diet For Beginners is a short book that will teach readers how to fast, cleanse, and detox your system. This particular type of fasting is called intermittent fasting, which essentially means you eat nutritionally balanced meals for 5 days and fast for two. The book is broken up into to two parts. Part one is how this diet differs from others, and why it a good diet. The second part is easy to cook recipes. It gives some yummy cooking recipe and snack ideas. It also gives extra encouragement when you’re tempted to cheat. This little book definitely is a must try if you are interested in losing a little weight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    ¿The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners¿ is a diet/cook book based on t

    “The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners” is a diet/cook book based on the premise that five days a week, one should eat meals equal to calories appropriate for their body type, and two days a week, one should eat between 500-600 calories. The idea is that this will help to increase metabolism and will be easier to stick compared to typical fasts. The book also includes a month’s worth of recipes for both fasting and non-fasting days. It is easy to understand, flexible, and a unique idea that is worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I haven¿t given the 5:2 plan a go yet because life is just too h

    I haven’t given the 5:2 plan a go yet because life is just too hectic in December to delve into something new like this. But I’m keen to try some of the recipes – I’ve been looking for good, low calorie options to add to my usual routine. I also like the fact that you can have your normal calories on the non-fasting days although the no artificial sweeteners could be a challenge! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    This book has fasting plans that divide that fasting and non-fas

    This book has fasting plans that divide that fasting and non-fasting time into your schedule and divided by the days of the week. Fasting can also provide a way for your body to cleanse waste and toxins. This book for beginners can give you long term weight management plans and recipes. The book encourages nutritious foods and healthier alternatives whether you want to lose weight or simple want to change your eating habits. This book is an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    The 5:2 diet in this book refers to eating ¿normally¿ 5 days eac

    The 5:2 diet in this book refers to eating “normally” 5 days each week and fasting on the remaining 2 days. Luckily it's not a complete fast, just a reduced calorie fast. For me, that fact alone makes the diet easy to stick to. To round things out, a good deal of the book is made up of recipes, all of which are tasty and easy to prepare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners gives those that want to change

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners gives those that want to change their eating habits a structured way to incorporate intermittent fasting into their diet and exercise plan. Included are 50 very low-calorie recipes that don't try eliminate any "bad" foods, so that you don't feel the cravings that may have caused other diets to fail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is a quick and easy read. The fa

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is a quick and easy read. The fasting plan offered in the book is easy to follow and easy to understand for dieting beginners. There is a large number of healthy recipes included, and the ingredients are common items that do not require a trip to a specialty market. It contains detailed meal plans and a snack food list and explains how to supplement healthy meals with the listed snacks. Overall, this is a good recipe book to own and contains an easy to follow fasting diet plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    Once I tasted the toasted pepper jack sandwich I was in! What a

    Once I tasted the toasted pepper jack sandwich I was in! What a great and easy way to lose weight. It's a simple plan of regular caloric intake most days followed by "fasting" which in this case doesn't mean no food at all, just less food. They make it super easy to follow with lots of great low cal recipes for small meals those days so you don't feel hungry. A great healthy lifestyle book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    This is a great guide for someone like me who's new to intermitt

    This is a great guide for someone like me who's new to intermittent fasting.  I was surprised it's all about healthy eating and exercise and not some starvation diet. It was a fast read.  I really liked the recipes too.  Can't wait to try them.  I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is new to this type of diet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    Fasting requires a bit of discipline, especially if you plan to

    Fasting requires a bit of discipline, especially if you plan to do a long term one but the proposition in this diet, to eat healthily for 5 days from a list of suggested recipes/whole foods and then eat much less on 2 days of your choosing seems much more manageable. The recipes look tasty and the fact that you can still eat minimum amounts on the fasting days makes this look like something I would actually try as opposed to just reading and throwing it in my, Yeah Right, pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I am so excited to find an easy way to introduce fasting into my

    I am so excited to find an easy way to introduce fasting into my diet. I wanted a boost to my new diet, something to help bust through the plateau I’ve been on despite the exercise and diet changes. The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is the tool I’ve been looking for. I’ve never fasted before, and frankly, it sounds daunting. But this book makes it easy with its plan of 5 non-fasting days and 2 non-consecutive fasting days a week. And the days of fast are not as bad I thought they’d be, because I’ll still be able to eat! Yahoo! Admittedly, it’ll be much less than a non-fasting day, but it is a FAST after all. Recipes and meal plans are provided, like Broiled Halibut with Garlic Spinach and Portobello Cheeseburgers. The book talks about the health benefits of adding fasting to your life, suggests exercises, and even has motivational tips to help you be successful. I’m really looking forward to seeing the numbers on my scale ticking off the pounds again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    The 5:2 Fast Diet offers great guidelines for making any diet pl

    The 5:2 Fast Diet offers great guidelines for making any diet plan a success and for staying healthy in general. With delicious recipes that will benefit your body, mind, and soul, you can watch the pounds shed while sipping on your “Cocoa-Banana Breakfast Smoothie” before heading out to play a game of tennis with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    While fasting can be a controversial subject, The 5:2 Diet for B

    While fasting can be a controversial subject, The 5:2 Diet for Beginners is a great book to dispel myths about fasting as well as provide guidelines for those embarking on the diet.  They take great care to outline the health plan, benefits and warnings of an intermittent fasting diet as well as equip the reader with tools for success including delicious and varied recipes.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    A great way to learn more about how beneficial fasting can be. I

    A great way to learn more about how beneficial fasting can be. I definitely enjoyed this book and I'd recommend it to anyone looking into a fasting diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Fasting. It¿s been around for ages but what is it and how do you

    Fasting. It’s been around for ages but what is it and how do you do it and why? In The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners: The Complete Book for Intermittent Fasting with Easy Recipes and Weight Loss Plans, we get the answers to those questions – all without starving ourselves. You get a complete “how to” with plenty of great recipes for any meal, any time.
    Check with your doctor before jumping in but when you jump, you’ll be leaner and healthier when you land.

    MHStowers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Intermittent fasting has been linked to health benefits such as

    Intermittent fasting has been linked to health benefits such as blood sugar regulation, and cognitive function.  However, the most obvious benefit is weight loss.  "The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners" is an easy to read guide to sustainable weight loss through fasting; dieters fast for 2 days during a 7 day period, while eating a normal amount of calories during the other 5 days.  It includes a one month meal guide, and tasty, healthy recipes for both fasting and non-fasting days.  These low calorie recipes are filling and satisfying, helping followers maintain a healthy diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Intermittent fasting has returned to popularity as a simple way

    Intermittent fasting has returned to popularity as a simple way to lose weight, detox the body, and limit bad eating habits.  Over the course of a week, users of the 5:2 Fast Diet eat a normal, healthy diet for five consecutive days and then fast for two days.  The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners provides easy-to-follow guidelines for what to eat on fasting and non-fasting days, and introduces the reader to a simple plan that incorporates whole, nutritious foods into their daily meals.  You get over fifty easy fasting and non-fasting recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.  There are also tips on how to include exercise into the overall plan.  The recipes alone make the book a valuable read, and it's a perfect introduction into how to use fasting as either a long-term solution or a short-term weight loss strategy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The 5:2 Diet Plan for Beginners approaches the cleansing diet fa

    The 5:2 Diet Plan for Beginners approaches the cleansing diet fad in a healthier way by eliminating the need to starve yourself and offering a delicious meal plan that allows you to eat everyday while ridding your body of toxins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3