BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 5: 2 Fast Diet for Beginners: The Complete Book for Intermittent Fasting with Easy Recipes and Weight Loss Plans

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    ¿The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners¿ is a diet/cook book based on t

    “The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners” is a diet/cook book based on the premise that five days a week, one should eat meals equal to calories appropriate for their body type, and two days a week, one should eat between 500-600 calories. The idea is that this will help to increase metabolism and will be easier to stick compared to typical fasts. The book also includes a month’s worth of recipes for both fasting and non-fasting days. It is easy to understand, flexible, and a unique idea that is worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners gives those that want to change

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners gives those that want to change their eating habits a structured way to incorporate intermittent fasting into their diet and exercise plan. Included are 50 very low-calorie recipes that don't try eliminate any "bad" foods, so that you don't feel the cravings that may have caused other diets to fail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is a quick and easy read. The fa

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is a quick and easy read. The fasting plan offered in the book is easy to follow and easy to understand for dieting beginners. There is a large number of healthy recipes included, and the ingredients are common items that do not require a trip to a specialty market. It contains detailed meal plans and a snack food list and explains how to supplement healthy meals with the listed snacks. Overall, this is a good recipe book to own and contains an easy to follow fasting diet plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    Fasting requires a bit of discipline, especially if you plan to

    Fasting requires a bit of discipline, especially if you plan to do a long term one but the proposition in this diet, to eat healthily for 5 days from a list of suggested recipes/whole foods and then eat much less on 2 days of your choosing seems much more manageable. The recipes look tasty and the fact that you can still eat minimum amounts on the fasting days makes this look like something I would actually try as opposed to just reading and throwing it in my, Yeah Right, pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    While fasting can be a controversial subject, The 5:2 Diet for B

    While fasting can be a controversial subject, The 5:2 Diet for Beginners is a great book to dispel myths about fasting as well as provide guidelines for those embarking on the diet.  They take great care to outline the health plan, benefits and warnings of an intermittent fasting diet as well as equip the reader with tools for success including delicious and varied recipes.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The 5:2 Diet Plan for Beginners approaches the cleansing diet fa

    The 5:2 Diet Plan for Beginners approaches the cleansing diet fad in a healthier way by eliminating the need to starve yourself and offering a delicious meal plan that allows you to eat everyday while ridding your body of toxins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The 5:2 Fast Diet For Beginners is a helpful, comprehensive guid

    The 5:2 Fast Diet For Beginners is a helpful, comprehensive guide for intermittent fasting. Broken down into three parts, this guide provides the dieter with helpful tips and scientific back up about the idea of fasting itself and why it works as well as two sections of recipes – for both fast days and non fast days. You will easily find something to eat to fulfill your cravings for that day that is both simple to prepare and nutritious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I am surprised by how little people know about the weight loss p

    I am surprised by how little people know about the weight loss power of intermittent fasting. The 52 Fast Diet for Beginner, by Rockbridge Press, unveils the fundamentals of intermittent fasting, the health benefits and its ability to help people “shed body fat.” This book does an amazing job of simplifying weight loss by giving the reader a diet plan, nutrition knowledge, exercise tips and motivational advice to help along the way. This book is a great choice for people looking to lose body fat and improve their general health. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    I am very pleased to find this 5:2 weight loss diet since I want

    I am very pleased to find this 5:2 weight loss diet since I wanted to lose my weight for a long time. This book includes almost all information that I want to know, such as the tips on how to follow the diet, the recipes for both fasting and non-fasting days and weekly meal plan. If you are a beginner of weight loss diet and looking for something simple but healthy, I would recommend this book to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    This book tells gives an overview of how fasting can help you lo

    This book tells gives an overview of how fasting can help you lose weight. I could use a little more detail on the subject to help me
    understand the method.  I did like the recipe ideas and the quick little dessert  ideas. I’ll probably read a little more elsewhere before
    I give this a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is a great book for those thinki

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners is a great book for those thinking about starting a fasting diet.  They have you eat a very low calorie count on the fasting day’s verses no food at all.  The book has recipes ideas to follow as well as a step by step plan to help you during your first month on the diet.  I wasn't sure what a 5:2 diet was but after reading this, it is something I am even more interested in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    The ¿5 2 Diet for Beginners¿ provides a one month meal plan with

    The “5 2 Diet for Beginners” provides a one month meal plan with 5 days of healthy regular eating and 2 days of fasting. It includes links to websites for caloric calculators to assist you with your new healthier lifestyle eating practice providing delicious recipes with fresh fruits and vegetables, lean meats, poultry, nuts seeds, and lots of other nutritional goodies. I always like a good nut with my meals. The bonus is the 10 tips to help you stay motivated and create success for yourself…now who doesn’t want that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I'm a total sugar addict, so I'm one of the target audiences for

    I'm a total sugar addict, so I'm one of the target audiences for this simple meal plan. Weight loss is one of the obvious benefits of a diet like this, but regulating sugar cravings is another one (and the book explains many others). The month long diet is laid out day by day, with recipes, but it's also a helpful guide to eating wholesomely all the time. Once you get familiar with the program you can personalize it with your own recipes, and the author has even included snack suggestions for the fasting days, and healthy, low cal desserts for the non-fasting days. Very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The concept of intermittent fasting is a pattern of eating that

    The concept of intermittent fasting is a pattern of eating that alternates between periods of eating normally and fasting.  “The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners” book, entails an extremely simple and direct plan to lose the weight that you have been trying to lose.  In the book, are hundreds of delicious and healthy recipes, most of which are 250 calories or less for fasting days.  The non-fasting days encourages eating a wide variety of fruit and vegetables, proteins, nuts & seeds, healthy oils and limited amounts of sugars.   The 5:2 Diet Book is packed with tips, science and recipes that will enable you to lose weight and transform your body.  The science behind 5:2 makes it clear that the premise of the book is not to make the reader believe that the diet is a quick fix, but rather an entire lifestyle change to grow with throughout the years and stay then and healthy.  I would encourage everyone interested in reaching their weight loss goals to purchase this book.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Fast-food addicts seeking to break bad eating habits and lose we

    Fast-food addicts seeking to break bad eating habits and lose weight will find the 5:2 Fast Diet formula the ticket to quick results.
     Instead of depriving the dieter of all food on fasting days, this formula offers two very low calorie days as a way to
     recalibrate metabolism for weight loss and success. 
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This was a very helpful intro to the 5:2 dieting/fasting method!

    This was a very helpful intro to the 5:2 dieting/fasting method! Though not detailed, I think it does a good job of de-mystifying the concepts for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    This is a straightforward guide about the 5:2 Fast Diet, simplif

    This is a straightforward guide about the 5:2 Fast Diet, simplifying the nutritional and healthful value of the diet and the science behind it. These types of diets are not really "fasting" but a major reduction in caloric intake two days out of the week. It offers quick but safe weight loss, delicious-sounding recipes and a primer on motivation and success. A good book for the beginner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners gave me everything I needed to k

    The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners gave me everything I needed to know about the 2 day a week fasting diet.  It includes a short history of fasting, diet plans, and great recipes geared toward dropping weight and body fat.  There is an inspiring chapter on Motivation and Success, a chapter on Exercise, and a very informative chapter on Other Health Benefits.  It’s given me a whole new awareness about the food I eat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cleanse (or lifestyle) diet in quick, down & dirty format, l

    Cleanse (or lifestyle) diet in quick, down & dirty format, love it! Simple approach to balance diet for five days, followed by two fasting with limited calories. Loved realistic approach, with 1-month example to get you started! Good option if just want a cleanse or looking for lifestyle change. With all dos/don'ts to help you do it right, easy to start. Good choice for those breaking bad sweet-tooth and fast food lifestyles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2