BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 5 Love Languages of Children

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Where was this book when my son was two?!!

This book has been such an eye opener to my husband and I. We have a child with ADHD and this book and prayer has really helped bridge a gap in our relationship with our son. I highly recommend this book to all parents who desire a secret key to their child heart.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Christian

When purchasing this book, I was unaware that it would be so Christian based. It is filled with quotes from the new testament. Being of a faith that is not Christian, I find the frequent references to Jesus and the apostles unnecessary and less enjoyable to read.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Where was this book when my son was two?!!

    This book has been such an eye opener to my husband and I. We have a child with ADHD and this book and prayer has really helped bridge a gap in our relationship with our son. I highly recommend this book to all parents who desire a secret key to their child heart.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Remarkable!!!!

    I've done my research on all kinds of parenting book's and this specific one has it all. I highly recommend this to everyone. My husband doesn't like to hear on how to raise his son or on what he should say to him. He thinks that showing tough love and being strict will work later on but once I told him to try talking to him in his love language which is touch and words of affirmation things will be much easier for everyone. And he did. He couldn't believe the big difference it made.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Five Love Languages for Children is a book that will help pa

    The Five Love Languages for Children is a book that will help parents better understand what motivates their kids and how to keep them happy.
    There are five topics which everyone understands: physical touch, words of affirmation, giving gifts, acts of service, and quality time. Chapman and Campbell talk a little about each language and how they make us feel.

    Chapman and Campbell have a writing style that is easy to read and engages the reader with it's conversational style. They use several scenarios and examples to highlight the positive effects of speaking one's language.

    The authors take great pains to explain their terminology. There is also a chapter on discipline and how it affects children.

    Chapman and Campbell also take a chapter by chapter look at the defined topics, which I found inspiring to me as a parent. They also look at the challenges a parent might face including divorce and other hardships.

    The authors address the need for a parent to speak the other parent's love languages as well. There is a quiz you can use at the end of the book to help you identify your child's love language.

    The book is an excellent tool in helping parents raise their children and understanding their motivations. The book talked to me, not above me, and it allowed me to explore my own feelings as a parent. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom's Choice Awards Recipient!

    Five Love Languages of Children is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards® honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books; and Tara Paterson, Certified Parent Coach and founder of the Mom's Choice Awards. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An outstanding parenting resource! We all understand the import

    An outstanding parenting resource!

    We all understand the importance of loving our children and showing them how much they are loved, but did you know that there are ways of showing our children love that really speak volumes to them and their heart? It's true, just like there are languages that speak to the adult hearts, our children have different needs that show them that we truly love them. Each has a unique language that speaks love to them.

    This is why often times we may bend over backwards as a parent and our children still look at us, telling us that they desperately need to feel our love. What is happening is that we aren't speaking the same languages that they need. There are 5 love languages that speak to our children and sometimes there is a combination that works well for our kids. Some love Words of Affirmation, being told what a great job they are doing, how much we love and care for them, acknowledgement that we see what they are doing and praising them. While for yet other children, Acts of Service, speaks to their hearts, such as doing kind deeds for them, taking them to lunch, or a ball game, just spending time with them, and yet another is Physical Touch. These are the children who thrive on hugs and kisses and touch instead of words or actions by us.

    Authors Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell have collaborated to help parents speak the language of love our children so desperately need to hear in their book, The 5 Love Languages of Children. In this book not only do they break down each of these in detail, but it also includes a game to help both parents and children understand what works well for them. This way we can speak love to our children without being frustrated on both ends. It can also help us discipline our children more effectively when it needs to be addressed. This is a must read for anyone who deals with children, whether it be parents, grandparents and even child care givers or teachers!

    I received this book compliments of Propeller and Northfield Publishing for my honest review and learning so much about the love languages when it comes to adults, this seemed a natural for me to read as a parent. So many times with multiple children we try not to appear to favor one child over the other but often times find our actions frustrating when they don't respond as we would hope. This book really helps to identify what works for each child. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and seeing it benefiting even teachers who may be frustrated in reaching children who are struggling with learning. This book speak volumes to the hearts of our children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is an exceptional book. I have two children. Ages 20 and 6. I began using principles right away and both of my children have responded w/more love... I am more loving and they are too. What a blessing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell team up to take The 5 Love Langua

    Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell team up to take The 5 Love Languages to children. This book offers a description of each love language, characteristics of children that show a preference for that love language, how parents can demonstrate each particular love language, tips for how to assess what your child's love language is, and a questionnaire to assist parents in assessing their child's love language.

    This is another excellent book by Gary Chapman & Ross Campbell. I enjoyed reading it because it frames interactions between parent and child in a different light. Most parents want to show their children love, but if you are not expressing it in their love language, some of the message might be lost. This book helped me to reassess how I interact with each of my children to make sure love communication is meeting their needs. I have read many books by Gary Chapman and I am a fan of how clear and easy to use his tips are. This book is not as specific as Chapman's book, The Four Seasons of Marriage, but it is still a great book.

    I like the suggestions for discovering your child's love language by asking questions and giving choices to determine their preferences. I also think it is helpful for parents to become aware of their own love language, especially when it is different from their child's love language. The ideas at the end of each chapter give parents a good starting point to start speaking their child's love language, especially if it is not their primary love language.

    I think it is another excellent book by these authors. If you are a parent, grandparent, or anyone who interacts with children, this book would be helpful in helping you identify their love language and meeting their needs.

    I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Every Parent Should Own This Book!

    I'm still reading the book, I've taken my time to absorb the content as well as apply it to my daily life. I think this book is definitely going to be a life changer for my children and I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I rarely read a book twice, but when I was given the opportunity

    I rarely read a book twice, but when I was given the opportunity to receive a free copy of the 2012 Edition of The 5 Love Languages of Children by Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell for review, I was eager to do so, particularly since my daughter was so young the first time I read it that I could not determine her love language at the time. Too be honest, even with the Love Language Mystery Game to help determine a child's love language, I still cannot be sure of my daughter's even though she is old enough that I should be able to do so. There is nothing wrong with the concepts described in the book, I think it is just that my daughter seems pretty balanced as she receives all five gratefully and gives all five as well, which I believe suggests that her father and I successfully have been keeping her "emotional tank" full most of the time.

    The book proposes that as loving as parents may try to be, a child may believe his parents love him, but may not feel loved because the parents are not speaking in the child's love language. While one child may be happy with a gift when the father comes home from a business trip, another child may not feel loved by getting a gift because his love language is quality time. This book helps parents to determine which of the five love languages--physical touch, words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, or acts of service--a child appreciates and needs the most as well as how the parent can help the child to feel loved. It also stresses that every child needs all five, but one will be predominate.

    I highly recommend this book for all parents, particularly those who are having difficulties with their children, but it is beneficial even to those who think they have happy, loving children. Probably just as important as understanding how to speak in the child's love language is how to discipline with love without causing damage to the parent-child relationship by using a type of punishment that empties the emotional tank; a chapter is devoted to this subject.

    If you are like me and have a 1997 Edition, let me explain the main differences I noticed between the two books, besides the change in the cover. The earlier edition often referred to keeping the emotional tank full would help to avoid drug use and teenage sexual promiscuity, which was not in the latest edition. In the 2012 Edition, there were some updated statistics and reference to a book Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua that was published in January 2011. Some of the names in the stories had been changed to more popular names at the time of the rewrite. The most notable addition was the list of suggestions to speak the child's love language at the end of each corresponding chapter. Otherwise, there were only minor editing changes here and there. I did think that the hand print in the heart on the cover of the first edition was a better depiction than the green rubber boots with flowers, but that is a minor point.

    I received this book for free from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Parenting With Love

    This is a must have book for all parents. Each child, as we all know, is different. This book is a good reminder of the ways we show our Children "Love". It is not the same for each Child in the family. There are some really good examples shown in the book, and it is a good reminder.
    Sometimes we try so hard to be doing the right things and we fail to understand that we need to do things differently. I recommend reading this book for some great insights, and applying them in real life!



    “Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
    services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
    on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
    and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
    with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
    Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1