BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Five Patterns of Extraordinary Careers

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Executive or Teacher, the Principles are working for me

    When I ordered this book, I was a technology business executive. The book is clear and concise in the presentation of the results of the statistical study by the authors. I then changed careers to become a teacher, and find that the 5 Patterns also pertain to the public sector. While career progression is now different for me(as a teacher), the management and personality profiles for being successful are the same. Reading 5 Patterns is time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    Awesome read!

    I am at the beginning of my professional carrer, and this book has shown me what it takes to have an extrodinary carrer. The list of top level executives that were interviewed for this book is absolutely astounding. It is quite apparent that this is not just one person's opinion of how to futher your carrer. There was extensive research of some of the world's most successful people on what they have done to get a head of the rest of the pack. This book has absolutely fired me up to enhance my own carrer. I would encourage everyone to read this book no matter where they may be in their carrer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Wish I'd Read This Ten Years Ago

    I devoured this book, and have since either recommended or bought a copy for several co-workers, family members, and friends. It's rare to find a book that can not just give pointers or tips, but fundamentally changes the way I look at the current state--and the future--of my career. This book helped to pinpoint specific actions I can take in the next year to significantly improve my options for further advancement. And more importantly, it's helped me better define what I'm currently working on, forcing me to focus more on gaining experience that will be relevant to my leadership team. If I had read this book when I first started my career, I think I'd be much further along at this point in my life. Good news is, there are ways to significantly improve my chances of advancement that are highlighted in the book. After doing a lot of research (2,000 executives interviewed), the authors found a handful of patterns. One thing they found was that executives 'never took their job descriptions too literally and had always found ways to expand their responsibilities within their organizations. Extraordinary executives, in a process similar to compound interest, achieved success slowly and consistently, with each phases building on the prior one. THE FIVE PATTERNS OF EXTRAORDINARY CAREERS So what are the five patterns of extraordinary careers? 1. Understand the value of you. People with extraordinary careers understand how value is created in the workplace, and they translate that knowledge into action, building their personal value over each phase of their careers. 2. Practice benevolent leadership. People with extraordinary careers do not claw their way to the top; they are carried there. 3. Overcome the permission paradox. People with extraordinary careers overcome one of the great Catch-22s of business: You can?t get the job without experience, and you can?t get the experience without the job. 4. Differentiate using the 20/80 principle of performance. People with extraordinary careers do their defined jobs exceptionally well but don't stop there. They storm past predetermined objectives to create breakthrough ideas and deliver unexpected impact. 5 . Find the right fit (strengths, passions, and people). People with extraordinary careers make decisions with the long term in mind. They willfully migrate toward positions that fit their natural strengths and passions and where they can work with people they like and respect. I write about my thoughts in my weblog, johnporcaro.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    It really is TRUE!

    For the first time, I read a business book that describes the things I should be doing to accelerate my career. It really does describe those people I've worked for that have alway been on the top run of the fast track. I wish I'd read it 20 years ago. Extremely thought provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Guidebook for Your Career Life

    So many people are living their careers as several 5 day sets...Thank God It's Friday, Oh God, It's Monday, Thank God It's Friday, Oh God, It's Monday, etc. 5 Patterns makes you look at your career from the 'big picture'. The book convinces that you are in control of your career fate. 5 Patterns uses real sucess stories and shows how you can adapt them to your life/career. So much better than most 'career-help' books that just tell you how to score the average job by producing an average resume and coverl letter. This book will take you to the next level of your career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Helpful hints from big-company executives

    THE BEST FIRST: This book did cover some core principles that I believe equate to success in multiple arenas of business, including non-profit or small business, that are well worth the time invested in reading it. Even though most of the 5 Patterns espoused have been discussed to death, the particular description of the 20/80 Principle of Performance was illuminating. That one gem, taken together with an overview perspective of equating your ¿value¿ to the organization (again ¿ any organization) in real, bottom-line business terms (and numbers) I believe poses some tremendous insight for ANYONE, whether or not they aspire to the top rungs of standard Fortune 1000 business success. It was also of value to have seen these 5 core patterns connected together as an indicator of success ¿ thus reiterating the credibility to each of them as something beyond ¿touchy-feely self-improvement.¿ NOW THE NOT-SO-GOOD: That having been said, I would have to say that for the most part, the whole direction of ¿5 Patterns¿ is very tilted toward a small percentage of the American workforce: those aspiring to the top executive levels in major corporations. Having been involved in a rather small (under 2 million per year in revenue), non-profit company for almost 20 years, I did not find much in common with the perceived aspirations of the intended reading audience. It did not really inspire me to focus upon the implementation of the 5 patterns, at least not from this particular angle. The various stories used as examples only magnified the differences in my path (or even my aspirations) and this elite echelon of executives. This seems to stem from the authors¿ perspectives of life. If you will take that with a grain of salt, or if you indeed fall into the intended audience parameters, there is meat in here for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    College Student's point of view

    As a college student, I very much appreciated and enjoyed this book. It is easy to be overwhelmed by career opportunities while you are still working on your education. The five patterns helped me to focus more on myself as an employee and my strengths, rather than the competition. It is a very positive and constructive book that is easy and enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    One word: Phenomenal!

    This book gave me a brand new perspective on how successful careers are made. It's not the typical 'you can do it if only you believe' self-help book. It actually provides specific, actionable, and most importantly realistic, ways in which one can develop his own path to success and satisfaction. A must read for anyone who values career success, from new college grads to seasoned executives looking for their next challenge. It's like sitting in a room with Lou Gerstner, Meg Whitman, and Jack Welch and having them divulge the real secrets of their success outside of the obvious. The authors are geniuses!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Five Patterns is Inspirational Reading

    Pros The book is very well researched and has a lot of examples Cons Lacking in the 'how to' stuff The Bottom Line For those that are really on the verge of reaching their potential, it could boost you over the top. For the rest, go to the website at www.fivepatterns.com. Full Review James Citrin and Richard Smith have put together a 'guide for achieving success and satisfaction'. The book is 230 pages and each chapter provides one of the five 'patterns' recognized in the exhaustive research done for the book. Within each chapter, there are examples from successful executives, and some sub-points to further explain the pattern. However, there is little explaining how to make yourself follow the pattern. For instance, the first pattern 'Understand the Value of You' sounds simplistic enough, and is supported by stories of executives that discovered their worth after having overlooked it before, but what if you think that you know the value of you, but really don't? That is, how is it that you are to know how valuable you really are in comparison to how valuable you think you are? Obviously, the book must generalize to fit all the successful people into the model that successful careers follow five patterns, and not 156 patterns -- and the patterns are pretty general, such as 'Find the Right Fit'. The one useful pattern (and description is 'Overcoming the Permission Paradox', where the author does a good job of showing how we can limit ourselves by waiting for someone to say it's okay to do our jobs or something outside of our jobs.) Mostly, though, the level of detail in the examples are distracting and I lost interest. With all that said, the most valuable part of the book is actually the appendices called the 'Stuart Spencer Job Survival Guide' and the 'Understanding Executive Searches...', which give insightful information on how to be successful in job interviews or moving forward in your current position. These actually provide the tools on getting ahead (or your foot in the door), and are probably worth the price of the book to keep around. Overall, I found the book to have a few nuggets of wisdom, but you had to mine for them. Recommended Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    Take Control of your Sucessful Career

    This could quite possibly be the book that will change your life forever. If you feel like you are stuck in a dead end job, or just need a change in career, you NEED to read this book first. Find out what makes a sucessful career, how to jumpstart your mind to make yourself the sucessful person you choose, and learn what employers look for in choosing who becomes a sucess. A must read for the sincere career oriented person!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    A Book to Move You Forward in Your Career

    As someone just out of college, I strongly feel this book gives you direction in today's version of corporate america. The 5 Patterns takes a fresh, no-nonsense look at why some ascend to the top of the career ladder and prosper, while others equally talented never reach their expectations. The book contains case studies which provide examples of the fundamental principles in the book. There is also an amazing job guide that would definetly beat monster.com anyday. This book will let you learn all the secrets without having to work 15 years to learn them. If you want to stay in the corporate world, use this book as your survival guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Take control of your career.

    Who is accountable for their success? None other than yourself! This book provides success stories of average people taking control of their careers, they are truly success stories. No matter what you job, you can succeed in it. And, if you are succeeding in your job, you will be sure to be happy. I recommend anyone driven to be successful to pick up a copy of this book today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    Rethink your Career

    As a former CEO of two companies, I am searching and seeking information toward my next career move. 'The 5 Patterns' gave me a fresh look at my past and how to move forward. But, this book is not just another business book. As one example, it speaks about relationships and mentors which are important areas you can take for granted or never even think about. It reads like a novel and moves very quickly with lots of new, great information and advice. I recommend it to all, employed or not, and to all parents who have adult children in the workplace. It has invaluable advice and great insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    Five Patterns is Just What People Need Now!

    Several of us have reviewed an advance copy of the forthcoming book, and without exageration, this could be the most important book of the year. Certainly the most important business book. It's what just about everyone in the working world, from new college graduates to CEOs, need to know to achieve what they so desperately want: professional success and personal fulfillment. It reminds us of Jim Collins' Good to Great, in that it has a huge research foundation. The authors distill the lessons from three years of work into highly readable, even entertaining, success patterns. And the patterns are brought to life with about 50 case studies, from people we've never heard of to some of the most recognizable names in business. We think that three hours with this book will be the best investment you can make in your career and your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1