Customer Reviews for

The 500

Average Rating 3
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another Good One! Highly Recommended

This is the third short I have read from J.D.Hughes and I have not been disappointed in any of them. This one is particularly harrowing if a little controversial. To be fair, it doesn't take sides in a difficult subject and presents the dilemma faced by Gemma in a reali...
This is the third short I have read from J.D.Hughes and I have not been disappointed in any of them. This one is particularly harrowing if a little controversial. To be fair, it doesn't take sides in a difficult subject and presents the dilemma faced by Gemma in a realistic and well written way. I want toread a novel by this author, but there isn't one. Five*

posted by RonWBausch on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disapointed wasted of time

If you are pro life (not that there is anything wrong with that), then you will enjoy it. I just think there could have been more of a story.

posted by 10734806 on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Another Good One! Highly Recommended

    This is the third short I have read from J.D.Hughes and I have not been disappointed in any of them. This one is particularly harrowing if a little controversial. To be fair, it doesn't take sides in a difficult subject and presents the dilemma faced by Gemma in a realistic and well written way. I want toread a novel by this author, but there isn't one. Five*

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    A Must Read!

    Ive read another two of this author and I'm really surprised about the standard of writing. I always notice that new writers are patchy in their quality, but this guy has written three truly great short stories. I would pay for these!!! This one told me stuff I didnt know and was scary. I want to read a novel next but JD Hughes hasnt got one yet. One to watch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Really?

    It's fine that you're pro-life, but I don't appreciate being spoon fed your message in the guise of a haunting story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No thanks

    Tell Tale Heart meets abortion as revenge. No thanks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Disapointed wasted of time

    If you are pro life (not that there is anything wrong with that), then you will enjoy it. I just think there could have been more of a story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    So-so

    A quick short story written for the Right-to-Life group.
    Not very interesting, predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I have no idea what some of these reviews are about. You would h

    I have no idea what some of these reviews are about. You would have to be stupid or illiterate not to understand what this book is about or to see it as anti abortion. It is a dark story but beautifully written and incredibly truthful. I know how truthful it is from a personal point of view. If you have any interest in a well crafted book written about tough subject, then read this. It will open your eyes. And to the person who said they would give it no stars, I would give it 10 stars if I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Well written but tht it

    32 pages. Basic plot guy cheats..girl aborts her planned pregnancy as revenge then is driven to crazyness due to guilt. Reads more like pre story then short. I guess main issue is you make main female charcter a monster..but kinda gloss over the male part. U made every action she did so hateable but still got a sense u wanted her to be liked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    creepy

    talk about a descent into madness!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Wow!

    This one will stay with me for a long while, creeping up in quiet moments. Glad I was never faced with a decision like that, thank God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    This was horrific, but I know it's true. The writing was very go

    This was horrific, but I know it's true. The writing was very good. I feel for the woman in the story and the dilemma. Don't think it's anti anything, just true and I suppose some people don't like that. Don't read it if your squeamish!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    .

    Overt anti-abortion crapfest. I'm not against a good story no matter what your views, but at least make it worth reading. I can do without having someone's agenda fed to me raw and underseasoned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Controversal

    The woman's mind is fractured into a type of guilt ridden madness after aborting a baby as revenge against her boyfriend. It is a little out there, but written and told in a style to deliver the story and not to preach or horrify.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Very sad jmm 44

    Every woman who wants to go for an abortion aught to read this first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good

    Abortion is very sad. I would not like being in that spot for a million dollars. A wonderful author. Thanks for the free read. J........ :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Interesting

    Stirs thought & emotion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    It was an okay short story. Quick easy read, was well written,

    It was an okay short story.

    Quick easy read, was well written, the subject didn't appeal to me.

    Spoiler: This is a story about abortion, its sad but some women do have abortions to get back at the boyfriends & then have to face their emotions. I do feel this book is anti-abortion, but I do feel that it touches on emotions that women can bury instead of facing. I found the book to be a well written thoughtful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    DONT GIVE AWAY THE STORIES IN A REVIEW!!!!

    Sad but very well witten.bravo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Smart little creepy story

    Hard to describe without giving away some suprises. But well written to the point in a few pages you know that the main character is very selfish person. She was more developed on 33 pages than most books do in 300.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Just plain weird!

    Strange story about abortion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2