Customer Reviews for

The 5th Wave (Fifth Wave Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Books that are greatly hyped rarely live up to the hype.  This b

Books that are greatly hyped rarely live up to the hype.  This book does live up to that hype and then some!  Epic, beautiful, terrifying , dark and hopeful all at once.  I can't wait for the next one.

posted by 1935873 on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marke

The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marketed as being like Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, and The Road, but it feels more like the author wanted
to make it like those, so he sloppily threw together a girl wandering the wasteland here, a c...
The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marketed as being like Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, and The Road, but it feels more like the author wanted
to make it like those, so he sloppily threw together a girl wandering the wasteland here, a camp for child soldiers there. When the quasi-Twilight love triangle started to develop, I almost threw the book down entirely. On the other hand, it's fairly entertaining at times and a pretty easy read, and I think my disappointment was augmented by all of the hype and advance marketing the book got.

I don't know what it is about teen books that they all start to feel the same, like they're written by the same mediocre, seventeen-year-old. Sometimes I wonder if "Teen" is just what publishers call books they've already committed to publishing that aren't good enough for the adult fiction section and happen to be about people under 20. I would just lower my bar for teen books, except that I've read great books geared towards young adults, and it would be a disservice to those authors to call this one-eyed man King.

If you're big into the Teen Adventure scene, or a fan of Rick Yancey, by no means am I trying to dissuade you from reading. If you're a reader who likes to read a little of everything and got caught up in the hype for this book, just don't expect to have your mind blown.

posted by Adam_W_OBrien on May 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marke

    The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marketed as being like Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, and The Road, but it feels more like the author <i>wanted</i>
    to make it like those, so he sloppily threw together a girl wandering the wasteland here, a camp for child soldiers there. When the quasi-Twilight love triangle started to develop, I almost threw the book down entirely. On the other hand, it's fairly entertaining at times and a pretty easy read, and I think my disappointment was augmented by all of the hype and advance marketing the book got.

    I don't know what it is about teen books that they all start to feel the same, like they're written by the same mediocre, seventeen-year-old. Sometimes I wonder if &quot;Teen&quot; is just what publishers call books they've already committed to publishing that aren't good enough for the adult fiction section and happen to be about people under 20. I would just lower my bar for teen books, except that I've read great books geared towards young adults, and it would be a disservice to those authors to call this one-eyed man King.

    If you're big into the Teen Adventure scene, or a fan of Rick Yancey, by no means am I trying to dissuade you from reading. If you're a reader who likes to read a little of everything and got caught up in the hype for this book, just don't expect to have your mind blown.

    33 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Waaaaay over-hyped!!  Sorry starry-eyed Yancey fans (and he dese

    Waaaaay over-hyped!!  Sorry starry-eyed Yancey fans (and he deserves them, credit is due), but this book is just not good.

    If you're looking for good sci-fi - look elsewhere. This is laugh out loud science fiction, borderline insulting.

    If you're looking for good YA - also, not going to find it here.

    Look, by itself, this isn't a terrible book. Probably 2.5 stars. But the 5th Wave is being pitched as the second coming of science fiction (Passage meets Ender's Game? Come on!!). And it comes from an accomplished writer. So I expected something at least good, if not great. I got neither.

    I knew early on Yancey was out of his depth here. Case in point, here's the inner dialogue as the protagonist is packing for the road:

    &quot;Toothbrush and paste. I’m determined, when the time comes, to at least go out with clean teeth.
    ...
    Tampons. I’m constantly worrying about my stash and if I’ll be able to find more.&quot;

    Ok - first of all, ew. Seriously, I am concerned about a male author that feels compelled to say this.

    Second of all - and this is more relevant - in a world where there are only a couple hundred thousand humans left, OR if, as she constantly worries, she is the only human left, there will be TONS of tampons available!!

    Logic alert - in an apocalypse, looters don't go for the tampons!! Milk, yes that will be scarce. And gas. Guns, bullets. We've all seen Walking Dead. But feminine hygiene? Come on...

    Other cliched, cringe-worthy things:

    **He calls the aliens &quot;Others?&quot; That's the best he could come up with? Either a) he's not really trying, or b) he hasn't read any other sci-fi book (or seen Lost) and actually thinks this is original or genuinely spooky. Cliche alert: It's neither.

    **Aliens that look like humans!! I've never heard of that idea before! - said nobody, ever. 

    **The aliens try to 'destroy humans by destroying humanity.' First of all, aliens with superior technology don't need to bother with a metaphysical concept of 'humanity.' Hey aliens that are more intelligent than us, let me give you a clue. If you want to destroy humans, you can just - destroy the humans! There you go - just saved a step and at least 5 'waves!' You're welcome, aliens.

    **There's a lot of 'survival' going on in this book, all mediocre to bad. Has the author not seen and/or read Walking Dead? Or just about any zombie book/movie? I know marketing has, since they compare it to The Passage. Having seen and read more than my share, I can tell you the set ups in 5th Wave are rookie at best. Doesn't even hold a candle to The Passage.

    **Just some flat-out bad writing:

    &quot;Crazy. The new normal.&quot;

    &quot;It isn’t unthinkable. And the more you think about it, the more thinkable it becomes.&quot;

    &quot;In the 4th Wave, you can’t trust that people are still people. But you can trust that your gun is still your gun.&quot;

    Ugh. 

    Like I said in the beginning - 5th Wave is not the worst book ever, but I don't appreciate being played a fool by authors and marketing people. This is an award-winning author, I expect better.

    Stay away from sci-fi, sir. Like another blatant attempt to cash-in, The Host, you risk giving the genre a bad name.

    23 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Books that are greatly hyped rarely live up to the hype.  This b

    Books that are greatly hyped rarely live up to the hype.  This book does live up to that hype and then some! 
    Epic, beautiful, terrifying , dark and hopeful all at once.  I can't wait for the next one.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Enjoyable read.

    An epic story of trust and human survival in the wake of an alien invasion, The 5th Wave is a well written teen fantasy novel that is a page turner. Cassie Sullivan is a strong female lead that is thrust into a deadly new world on her own. She's seen her fair share of death and has some serious trust issues. Not very heavy on the actual sci-fi stuff, but that doesn't matter. Teens will be talking about this one this summer.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a big fan of Rick Yancey's Monstrumologist series, which is


    I'm a big fan of Rick Yancey's Monstrumologist series, which is a fantastic, and actually scary, YA horror series. So I was very happy to see the big marketing push behind Yancey's new book, The 5th Wave, which people are singing the praises of. I was lucky enough to get my hands on an ARC and I'm excited to report to you that it is stunning! Believe the hype! It looks like this could be the big one to read this summer, so get your hands on it ASAP. The 5th Wave is a book that takes place during an alien apocalypse. They have come, they have landed, they are not friendly. They have bombarded humanity with four waves of destruction to weed people out, with perhaps a fifth on the horizon.

    Cassie is a teenager lucky enough to have survived the first four brutal waves, which include an electro-magnetic pulse that cuts off the world's power, earthquakes that create tsunamis, and a plague. Those not killed by those threats have to face silencers, aliens who are hunting down the remaining humans with great skill. This book is epic, but it's also really grounded, focusing on a small group of survivors. I was a little skeptical when I realized that each new &quot;part&quot; in this book switches characters, but I found myself really enjoying the story revolving around each character. When I was finished with one part and was like, I need to find out what happens next, I was equally drawn in to the new part that I was beginning. Yancey just has a way of making these characters and their circumstances, which were very different from one another, all really relatable and exciting.

    I really liked that as far-fetched as this concept is, it's grounded in a stark reality, and it's very emotional. The material can be a little heavy at times, but is lightened by humor throughout. It's very well-balanced, with things that haunt the characters running through the course of their character arcs. I could definitely guess that some things were coming, but even though you kind of know, you second guess yourself, and then, it's just so interesting seeing things play out that you don't mind.

    The 5th Wave is very different than The Monstrumologist series, and proves Yancey's versatility as a writer. But even though this is very different for him from his Printz Award Honored book, it's still a really well-written, thoughtful piece of writing that's every bit as riveting and suspenseful as anything he's written. In fact, I could barely tear myself away from this book, and eagerly sat down for hours at a time to tear through it. I would recommend this for anyone who loves a good action title, and it will satisfy hardcore science fiction and dystopian fans.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great book.

    Engrossing. Couldn't put it down.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    3 1/2 Stars My Review Is Solely Off A ARC And May Or May Not Be

    3 1/2 Stars

    My Review Is Solely Off A ARC And May Or May Not Be Exact If It Was Off A Finished Copy!

    I don't even know how start to explain how I feel about this book! As a HIGHLY anticipated book for 2013, I expected SO MUCH MORE then what I got from this book!

    I am going to be doing this review different then I do most of my reviews, because I want to elaborate on some of the negative and positive points that I felt about the 5th Wave!

    The Negative:

    - The First issue I had with this book was that I was expecting to go through the waves. Meaning, have the book start off as the alien invasion starts, then go through the 1st to the 5th wave. But it doesn't. It starts off in the 4th wave and we have Cassie going back in forth in memory, re-living the events that had occurred. I really wanted to see how everything played out as it was happening. It was VERY annoying going back and forth, and it was like that for about half of the book!


    - The second issue was the different POV's. I don't mind different POV's, I actually enjoy them sometimes if the writer writes them well. But that was not the case here. Well, I shouldn't say that they weren't written well, because actually they weren't written bad. But my issue was the changing of the POV's. When this book first changed to a different POV, I didn't even know! I have a Advanced Reader Copy, so I don't know if the changing of the POV's will be different in the Finished Copy. But in my copy, when the POV changed, I thought was still reading about Cassie and Cassie's events! Until finally, it made absolutely no sense Whatsoever, and I figured out that when you see the back paper after a certain chapter, that it was going to change POV's. And it was up to you (Me) to figure out who's POV it was. When the chapters changed it didn't say who's chapter you were reading about, it just gives that little section a title! And I did NOT like that at ALL! After I figured that out, and got to know the characters more, it was fairly easy to figure out who's POV is who's. But early on it was difficult, and SO dam FRUSTRATING!

    - The third issue that bothered me was that I was not able to really connect with some of the characters. Not all of them, mainly Cassie. I was not crazy about Cassie. I mean she was okay at some points, but she is NOT the type of character that I like to read about. She came off (To Me) as being whinny, clueless and very immature. Which I totally understand for a 16 yr old girl to be clueless in how to survive in a alien invasion. But that's the problem! How did a type of person like Cassie survive through 5 waves? When SO MANY TRAINED SOLDIERS and other people that knew a lot more about survival, with barely nothing, die and Cassie, a naive, whinny, clueless, immature child, that barely knows how to shoot a gun, survive as long as she did? Granted, she did have her father until the 4th wave. But then she survived on her own for a while before she meet Evan. How? Was it pure Luck or just not too thought out by the author? So that was another one of the many problems that I had with Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave!

    I don't want to list ALL the problems I had with this book because this review is already going to be so long and I don't want to be here ALL day!

    Now, I know it seems like I have so many negatives, well I do, but their is some positives in this book too.

    Main Characters

    -Cassie-

    Cassie was very young acting, and I think that's one of the first things I noticed about her character that I did not like. At 16 your not really a baby anymore, and you would like to think that when a alien Apocalypse occurs, you grow up real fast no matter how old you are! Even Cassie's 5yr old little brother seemed to act more mature then her in certain points of the book! Here's a Perfect example of Cassie acting very childish during the alien invasion:

    Quote:

    &quot;Are you scared?&quot; he asked. Trying to get my attention. Or for some reassurance. He was looking at me very intently.

    I shook my head. &quot;Just bored.&quot; A lie. Of course I was scared. I knew I was being mean, but I couldn't help it. For some reason I can't explain, I was mad at him. Maybe I was really mad at myself for saying yes to a date with a guy I wasn't actually interested in. Or maybe becasue he wasn't the guy I wanted to date. I was mad at him for not being Ben Parish, which wasn't his fault. But still.

    (The quote was from an ARC and may be different from the final copy.)

    Okay, this is happening in the MIDDLE of I think the 3rd Wave (Don't Quote Me On That) but who the hell in their RIGHT mind is going to be going on a date while aliens are invading and killing are planet? Not me that's for dam sure! But, yes maybe a VERY immature child might still be worrying about boy's, when were being invaded and killed off by aliens!


    Okay, all that aside, did I like Cassie? No, not really, well maybe a little! But she was by far NOT my favorite character in this book!

    One of the things I did enjoy about Cassie's characters was her determination to find and save her little brother. Most of everything I mentioned above happened in the beginning of the book and as the book progressed I did notice Cassie's character grow and come out of SOME of her childish ways. So that was a Plus for her.

    But I can say that I looked up to Cassie for wanting to fight for her little brother. Not evening knowing if he was alive anymore. But she was NOT going to give up until she either saved him, or found out that their was nothing left to save.

    -Sammy (aka Nugget)-

    Little Sams was SO CUTE! I think him &amp; Ben (Zombie as they call him) were my favorite characters! Sams was so strong and brave through all this. And at being on 5 years old I expected a lot less out of his character. It was refreshing to see Sams determination and bravery to get through an alien Apocalypse, even without his family!

    ((SPOILER ALERT))

    I don't want to spoil this, but Sams was recruited it to something that he should NOT of been in at is age, and he stood-up and seemed braver then some of the older kids!

    ((SPOILER OVER))

    -Evan-

    Evan is mysterious and sweet. He was willing to bend over backwards for Cassie, even when the majority of the time she was just so mean to him! But Evan Still took all of her crap! When we first meet Evan it's about halfway or more into the book, and he doesn't open himself up a lot, So we don't have much to go on about who he is. But later on in the story we get to uncover some of Evan's secrets...

    -Ben (aka Zombie)-


    I defently enjoyed Ben's (Zombie's) character the best (And Sams). Ben's character was strong, smart and caring. When little nugget (Sams) comes into Ben's life he takes him under his wing and protects him. I really liked that about Ben's character. He also has a leadership roll that I liked about him, and enjoyed reading about.

    Now all that being said, their was some positive parts that I enjoyed a little about this book! It wasn't all bad. It just wasn't really the book for me.


    The Positives:


    - I liked the idea about the aliens invading a human body. I thought it was interesting and very well done.

    - Cassie's determination to find her brother.

    - Sams character was amazing! I enjoyed his bravery &amp; strength for a 5 year old.

    - The surprising twist we had. Their wasn't to many parts where I was left surprised, but when I was, I was SHOCKED!

    - The ending was AMAZING! About halfway through the book is when I actually started to KINDA enjoy it! The first half, I could of really thrown out the window! And I know a lot of people are probably not going to agree with my review. And that's totally understandable, because everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and that's all that mine is, is an opinion. But I stand 100% beyond my review, and I really wished I felt different about The 5th Wave b/c I was really looking forward to it, and I was seriously let down!

    Would I reco

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Even though it is a YA, I loved this book! I couldn't put it do

    Even though it is a YA, I loved this book! I couldn't put it down....I hope, hope, hope there is a sequel!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    this book is outstanding and I can't imagine giving it anything

    this book is outstanding and I can't imagine giving it anything less than a five star review I loved the going back and forth between characters because it showed the alien invasion from different perspectives. I don't know there's a whole bunch of dystopian books all of a sudden with everyone having their favorite - like people went nuts for divergent where I could barely keep my eyes open. This book I couldn't put down - utterly fantastic - I can't say enough about it - aliens take over the world and it shows basically, subtle like what war is all about. I am 42 years old reading these teen books so maybe that twists my opinion but I think this and hunger games are the best of the genre. and this is my opinion only; I know some people will disagree I just think this was excellent for many different reasons. I have a harder time expressing WHY I like something more than another it's just the 5th wave seemed to grab me - its War this is war and my dad was in Vietnam and a huge portion of the book when they're in boot camp is very similar to the stories he has told me of boot camp in Vietnam being like - maybe it;s that realism that drew me in

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Wow.

    (No spoilers, I swear)
    I am amazed. As a big sci-fi fan who enjoys books like The Hunger Games, Ender's Game, and basically every other sci-fi book i have ever read (except Across The Universe) i really, really loved this book. It had the perfect mixture of everything, i think even non-scifi fans would like it. The book is huge, but i read the whole thing in two days. Trust me, you wont be able to put it down.
    All in all, the 5th Wave is at the top of my list of favorites.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    worst book i have ever read in my life

    worst book i have ever read in my life

    5 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Exciting

    Definitely worh reading. Almost as good as the hunger games

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    It was ok


    Too much hype for this one. Disappointing, kept waiting on something to happen. Reminded me too much of The Host.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    This was a great book. I know some have said that is is "si

    This was a great book. I know some have said that is is &quot;simply&quot; written, but the book is being told through childrens eyes so........I feel like it is very accurate on how a teenager would think of things. If you liked The Hunger Games, you will like this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I picked up this book and finished it in two sittings, one of wh

    I picked up this book and finished it in two sittings, one of which involved me staying up wayyyyy too late on a work night. I was hooked from the start. The book tells the story of a post-apocolyptic world through the eyes of a couple different characters, and documents their fight for survival in very different situations.

    In a world where aliens are trying to take over and human children run around with heavy artillery, “Silencers” (deadly alien assassins) have been sent to wipe out any survivors who have lived through the first waves of extinction (disease, explosions, natural disasters, etc).

    The ending left me antsy for the sequel. I'm a huge fan!

    If you liked the Hunger Games Trilogy, you will love The 5th Wave.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

    Children are used to help aliens. Good story line, fine for teens and adults alike.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    I couldn't put it down.  It was a great, quick read, and I was c

    I couldn't put it down.  It was a great, quick read, and I was completely engulfed in the story of Cassie Sullivan.  I can't wait for the next book!  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    Rick Yancey¿s latest offering is a promising start to a series t

    Rick Yancey’s latest offering is a promising start to a series that should satisfy readers searching for something darkly entertaining and adventurous, a science fiction novel that is still grounded in the real world. With an action-packed and engaging plot, sympathetic characters under various states of physical and emotional duress, and an outlook that is simultaneously bleak and optimistic The 5th Wave is one of my favorite books of the year.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Penguin Books (UK) and Netgalley.)
    When the aliens arrived, they didn’t respond to messages, their ship just hovered out in space, and Cassie chose to ignore them. Then came the EMP, and it was lights out. Then the aliens caused giant Tsunami’s, and then a plague spread by birds. 98% of the world’s human population dead.

    16-year-old Cassie was lucky in that both her father and brother survived the first 3 waves, but now she’s alone, and she’s got one clear objective in her head – save her little brother from the aliens that took him from her.
    Can Cassie ever hope to save her little brother? Who is the silent assassin who is stalking her? And is this really the end for humanity?


    This was an interesting dystopian, with a sci-fi element, but I expected more.

    We started off following Cassie, and I liked her. She was fairly feisty and determined, and she gave her all for her family. Then we switch to some kid calling himself Zombie, which was pretty confusing. I didn’t like Zombie as much, his depression and withdrawal from society made him difficult to really get a feel for.
    The story then jumped back and forth between Cassie and Zombie, and every time it happened I had trouble working out who I was now following (maybe this is cleared up with some editing in the final version?), this could be easily solved.
    Anyway, I liked the bits with Cassie, she was fighting for her survival, and trying to do the best by her family in a really stinky situation, but she never gave up hope.

    The bits with Zombie on the other hand got old quick. There was stuff about training – military training, stuff about micro-chips inserted into people, missions etc. and unfortunately I got bored of this really quick. I got so bored in fact that I put this book down to read two others whilst trying to get through it. I mean, I’m a big fan of dystopians, this one just bored me in places, which was a really shame after such a promising start. Maybe the hype spoilt this for me, I don’t know, but I just didn’t like this one as much as I expected.

    There was a bit of romance in this one quite strangely, although I did get a real déjà vu vibe at one point that reminded me very strongly of a similar plotline in ‘The Host’. I can’t say that I was that big a fan of the romance in this one though, it didn’t excite me, and if anything I was a little wary of trusting anyone in this dystopian world.

    I thought the plot was okay, and some of the ideas were quite clever, but the slower and more boring parts just dragged so much that they kinda ruined it for me. I have read quite a lot of dystopians, and this one for me was pretty average.

    One annoying thing that I have just suddenly realised though, is that the aliens don’t have bodies, they only have consciousness – they take over bodies (a bit like in ‘The Host’ only they don’t even have that much physicality.) anyway, if they’re planning on killing all the humans so they can have the planet to themselves, what are they going to live in? Are they going to use cockroach bodies or something? I mean realistically, if they kill all the humans, won’t they have nothing to inhabit? And if they only have consciousness and no bodies, surely they don’t need food, water etc. so what’s the point? I’m puzzled by this.
    Overall; an interesting sci-fi/dystopian, but I expected more.
    6.5 out of 10.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The 5th Wave by author Rick Yancey is a novel that caught my att

    The 5th Wave by author Rick Yancey is a novel that caught my attention the moment I read what the story was about. Aliens? What? And dystopia? The perfect mixture. When I got the opportunity to read The 5th Wave I was absolutely dying to get started and once I did, I couldn’t stop. This is a novel that made me do it all; I laughed, I cried and I got caught up in the action and romance. An awesome read guys, really awesome.

    The 5th Wave is a story that takes place after the end of the world, sorta. The world still exists and is intact, but mankind is about to face extinction. Aliens made their appearance and attacked the Earth in the form of the first wave, then came the second wave, then the third and finally the fourth. Main character Cassie has learned enough to survive after the fourth wave. Trust nobody and you’ll survive. When Cassie is left shot, bleeding and freezing after being shot by an alien sniper, she expects that she’ll die soon. What she didn’t expect was to wake up inside of a house and being taken care of by the extremely handsome Evan Walker.

    Cassie trusts Evan and he’s one of the few people she’s come to have an actual conversation with after the fourth wave. Evan nurses Cassie back to health and vows to help her find her little brother, Cassie knows that she can’t sway Evan from his decision to help her and allows him to do whatever he needs to if it ensures her own survival. Evan begins to grow more and more attached to Cassie, eventually falling in love with her and Cassie can’t deny that she feels the exact same way about Evan. There’s a secret that separated the two and if Cassie can figure out what it is she can become closer to Evan in ways she could never imagine, but it could make her hate him in the process.

    Main thing I didn’t expect from The 5th Wave was how the point of view would change from character to character. The novel doesn’t do it on a whim like some stories that I’ve read in the past where every second chapter (and in one case, every other paragraph) was written in a new point of view. In The 5th Wave the novel is split up into different “parts” and each “part” has a specific main character who undergoes specific events that all impact the stories plots. Personally, my favorite one would have to be the “parts” that took place in Cassie’s point of view. She’s a feisty and hot-headed heroine and come on—who doesn’t like a badass heroine?

    The 5th Wave is everything that a novel taking place straight after the end of the world should be. I loved getting to see a world without humanity, one where basically you do what you need to do to survive and abandon all the things about us that make us civilized. Way different than anything I’ve ever been exposed to (think The Walking Dead) and I’m super pleased with the apocalyptic feel that I got from the novel. As for the romance in the novel, it’s definitely the type that a lot of readers will enjoy, I find. However if readers are looking for a romance that accumulates over time it isn’t exactly the kind found in The 5th Wave, the romance here is definitely more spontaneous but honestly that’s why I loved it.

    A big thing that I’ve been saying a lot when it comes to The 5th Wave and when people ask me my opinion on it, I tell them how much I loved the writing. It’s really seldom that I’ll pause and just think “O-M-G could the author have a better writing style?” ‘Cause honestly, The 5th Wave has phenomenal writing. It’s the type that not only wove a ton of emotions inside of me (I cried twice) but also left me with my jaw dropped. The 5th Wave is beautifully written and its opening chapter (that totally reeled me in) was creepy and had me dying to know more. My only complaint would be the pacing that got pitchy in places, but other than that I loved it. This is definitely a read that you should all look out for.

    I’d recommend The 5th Wave to readers that are looking for an all-around good book. Readers who are big fans of dystopia and romance will love The 5th Wave and so will thriller junkies.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16