Customer Reviews for

The 5th Wave (5th Wave Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Books that are greatly hyped rarely live up to the hype.  This b

Books that are greatly hyped rarely live up to the hype.  This book does live up to that hype and then some!  Epic, beautiful, terrifying , dark and hopeful all at once.  I can't wait for the next one.

posted by 1935873 on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marke

The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marketed as being like Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, and The Road, but it feels more like the author wanted
to make it like those, so he sloppily threw together a girl wandering the wasteland here, a c...
The story is interesting enough, I guess. It's funny: it's marketed as being like Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, and The Road, but it feels more like the author wanted
to make it like those, so he sloppily threw together a girl wandering the wasteland here, a camp for child soldiers there. When the quasi-Twilight love triangle started to develop, I almost threw the book down entirely. On the other hand, it's fairly entertaining at times and a pretty easy read, and I think my disappointment was augmented by all of the hype and advance marketing the book got.

I don't know what it is about teen books that they all start to feel the same, like they're written by the same mediocre, seventeen-year-old. Sometimes I wonder if "Teen" is just what publishers call books they've already committed to publishing that aren't good enough for the adult fiction section and happen to be about people under 20. I would just lower my bar for teen books, except that I've read great books geared towards young adults, and it would be a disservice to those authors to call this one-eyed man King.

If you're big into the Teen Adventure scene, or a fan of Rick Yancey, by no means am I trying to dissuade you from reading. If you're a reader who likes to read a little of everything and got caught up in the hype for this book, just don't expect to have your mind blown.

posted by Adam_W_OBrien on May 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    3 1/2 Stars My Review Is Solely Off A ARC And May Or May Not Be

    3 1/2 Stars

    My Review Is Solely Off A ARC And May Or May Not Be Exact If It Was Off A Finished Copy!

    I don't even know how start to explain how I feel about this book! As a HIGHLY anticipated book for 2013, I expected SO MUCH MORE then what I got from this book!

    I am going to be doing this review different then I do most of my reviews, because I want to elaborate on some of the negative and positive points that I felt about the 5th Wave!

    The Negative:

    - The First issue I had with this book was that I was expecting to go through the waves. Meaning, have the book start off as the alien invasion starts, then go through the 1st to the 5th wave. But it doesn't. It starts off in the 4th wave and we have Cassie going back in forth in memory, re-living the events that had occurred. I really wanted to see how everything played out as it was happening. It was VERY annoying going back and forth, and it was like that for about half of the book!


    - The second issue was the different POV's. I don't mind different POV's, I actually enjoy them sometimes if the writer writes them well. But that was not the case here. Well, I shouldn't say that they weren't written well, because actually they weren't written bad. But my issue was the changing of the POV's. When this book first changed to a different POV, I didn't even know! I have a Advanced Reader Copy, so I don't know if the changing of the POV's will be different in the Finished Copy. But in my copy, when the POV changed, I thought was still reading about Cassie and Cassie's events! Until finally, it made absolutely no sense Whatsoever, and I figured out that when you see the back paper after a certain chapter, that it was going to change POV's. And it was up to you (Me) to figure out who's POV it was. When the chapters changed it didn't say who's chapter you were reading about, it just gives that little section a title! And I did NOT like that at ALL! After I figured that out, and got to know the characters more, it was fairly easy to figure out who's POV is who's. But early on it was difficult, and SO dam FRUSTRATING!

    - The third issue that bothered me was that I was not able to really connect with some of the characters. Not all of them, mainly Cassie. I was not crazy about Cassie. I mean she was okay at some points, but she is NOT the type of character that I like to read about. She came off (To Me) as being whinny, clueless and very immature. Which I totally understand for a 16 yr old girl to be clueless in how to survive in a alien invasion. But that's the problem! How did a type of person like Cassie survive through 5 waves? When SO MANY TRAINED SOLDIERS and other people that knew a lot more about survival, with barely nothing, die and Cassie, a naive, whinny, clueless, immature child, that barely knows how to shoot a gun, survive as long as she did? Granted, she did have her father until the 4th wave. But then she survived on her own for a while before she meet Evan. How? Was it pure Luck or just not too thought out by the author? So that was another one of the many problems that I had with Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave!

    I don't want to list ALL the problems I had with this book because this review is already going to be so long and I don't want to be here ALL day!

    Now, I know it seems like I have so many negatives, well I do, but their is some positives in this book too.

    Main Characters

    -Cassie-

    Cassie was very young acting, and I think that's one of the first things I noticed about her character that I did not like. At 16 your not really a baby anymore, and you would like to think that when a alien Apocalypse occurs, you grow up real fast no matter how old you are! Even Cassie's 5yr old little brother seemed to act more mature then her in certain points of the book! Here's a Perfect example of Cassie acting very childish during the alien invasion:

    Quote:

    "Are you scared?" he asked. Trying to get my attention. Or for some reassurance. He was looking at me very intently.

    I shook my head. "Just bored." A lie. Of course I was scared. I knew I was being mean, but I couldn't help it. For some reason I can't explain, I was mad at him. Maybe I was really mad at myself for saying yes to a date with a guy I wasn't actually interested in. Or maybe becasue he wasn't the guy I wanted to date. I was mad at him for not being Ben Parish, which wasn't his fault. But still.

    (The quote was from an ARC and may be different from the final copy.)

    Okay, this is happening in the MIDDLE of I think the 3rd Wave (Don't Quote Me On That) but who the hell in their RIGHT mind is going to be going on a date while aliens are invading and killing are planet? Not me that's for dam sure! But, yes maybe a VERY immature child might still be worrying about boy's, when were being invaded and killed off by aliens!


    Okay, all that aside, did I like Cassie? No, not really, well maybe a little! But she was by far NOT my favorite character in this book!

    One of the things I did enjoy about Cassie's characters was her determination to find and save her little brother. Most of everything I mentioned above happened in the beginning of the book and as the book progressed I did notice Cassie's character grow and come out of SOME of her childish ways. So that was a Plus for her.

    But I can say that I looked up to Cassie for wanting to fight for her little brother. Not evening knowing if he was alive anymore. But she was NOT going to give up until she either saved him, or found out that their was nothing left to save.

    -Sammy (aka Nugget)-

    Little Sams was SO CUTE! I think him & Ben (Zombie as they call him) were my favorite characters! Sams was so strong and brave through all this. And at being on 5 years old I expected a lot less out of his character. It was refreshing to see Sams determination and bravery to get through an alien Apocalypse, even without his family!

    ((SPOILER ALERT))

    I don't want to spoil this, but Sams was recruited it to something that he should NOT of been in at is age, and he stood-up and seemed braver then some of the older kids!

    ((SPOILER OVER))

    -Evan-

    Evan is mysterious and sweet. He was willing to bend over backwards for Cassie, even when the majority of the time she was just so mean to him! But Evan Still took all of her crap! When we first meet Evan it's about halfway or more into the book, and he doesn't open himself up a lot, So we don't have much to go on about who he is. But later on in the story we get to uncover some of Evan's secrets...

    -Ben (aka Zombie)-


    I defently enjoyed Ben's (Zombie's) character the best (And Sams). Ben's character was strong, smart and caring. When little nugget (Sams) comes into Ben's life he takes him under his wing and protects him. I really liked that about Ben's character. He also has a leadership roll that I liked about him, and enjoyed reading about.

    Now all that being said, their was some positive parts that I enjoyed a little about this book! It wasn't all bad. It just wasn't really the book for me.


    The Positives:


    - I liked the idea about the aliens invading a human body. I thought it was interesting and very well done.

    - Cassie's determination to find her brother.

    - Sams character was amazing! I enjoyed his bravery & strength for a 5 year old.

    - The surprising twist we had. Their wasn't to many parts where I was left surprised, but when I was, I was SHOCKED!

    - The ending was AMAZING! About halfway through the book is when I actually started to KINDA enjoy it! The first half, I could of really thrown out the window! And I know a lot of people are probably not going to agree with my review. And that's totally understandable, because everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and that's all that mine is, is an opinion. But I stand 100% beyond my review, and I really wished I felt different about The 5th Wave b/c I was really looking forward to it, and I was seriously let down!

    Would I reco

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

    Children are used to help aliens. Good story line, fine for teens and adults alike.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Penguin Books (UK) and Netgalley.)
    When the aliens arrived, they didn’t respond to messages, their ship just hovered out in space, and Cassie chose to ignore them. Then came the EMP, and it was lights out. Then the aliens caused giant Tsunami’s, and then a plague spread by birds. 98% of the world’s human population dead.

    16-year-old Cassie was lucky in that both her father and brother survived the first 3 waves, but now she’s alone, and she’s got one clear objective in her head – save her little brother from the aliens that took him from her.
    Can Cassie ever hope to save her little brother? Who is the silent assassin who is stalking her? And is this really the end for humanity?


    This was an interesting dystopian, with a sci-fi element, but I expected more.

    We started off following Cassie, and I liked her. She was fairly feisty and determined, and she gave her all for her family. Then we switch to some kid calling himself Zombie, which was pretty confusing. I didn’t like Zombie as much, his depression and withdrawal from society made him difficult to really get a feel for.
    The story then jumped back and forth between Cassie and Zombie, and every time it happened I had trouble working out who I was now following (maybe this is cleared up with some editing in the final version?), this could be easily solved.
    Anyway, I liked the bits with Cassie, she was fighting for her survival, and trying to do the best by her family in a really stinky situation, but she never gave up hope.

    The bits with Zombie on the other hand got old quick. There was stuff about training – military training, stuff about micro-chips inserted into people, missions etc. and unfortunately I got bored of this really quick. I got so bored in fact that I put this book down to read two others whilst trying to get through it. I mean, I’m a big fan of dystopians, this one just bored me in places, which was a really shame after such a promising start. Maybe the hype spoilt this for me, I don’t know, but I just didn’t like this one as much as I expected.

    There was a bit of romance in this one quite strangely, although I did get a real déjà vu vibe at one point that reminded me very strongly of a similar plotline in ‘The Host’. I can’t say that I was that big a fan of the romance in this one though, it didn’t excite me, and if anything I was a little wary of trusting anyone in this dystopian world.

    I thought the plot was okay, and some of the ideas were quite clever, but the slower and more boring parts just dragged so much that they kinda ruined it for me. I have read quite a lot of dystopians, and this one for me was pretty average.

    One annoying thing that I have just suddenly realised though, is that the aliens don’t have bodies, they only have consciousness – they take over bodies (a bit like in ‘The Host’ only they don’t even have that much physicality.) anyway, if they’re planning on killing all the humans so they can have the planet to themselves, what are they going to live in? Are they going to use cockroach bodies or something? I mean realistically, if they kill all the humans, won’t they have nothing to inhabit? And if they only have consciousness and no bodies, surely they don’t need food, water etc. so what’s the point? I’m puzzled by this.
    Overall; an interesting sci-fi/dystopian, but I expected more.
    6.5 out of 10.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes I dive into a book thinking that I already know how it

    Sometimes I dive into a book thinking that I already know how it's going to start. It's going to grab my attention right away with some type of action scene, whether it be people shooting or hand-fighting or sword-playing, it doesn't matter.

    And then when it doesn't happen, I just keep waiting for when it's going to happen. When the person I'm reading the story through is going to have their momentous moment where you end up really liking him or her. But for this story, none of that really comes into play. At first, I felt more confused and anxious than anything. When's the fight going to start? Luckily, I was quite patient with this story.

    The characters in them are honestly quite interesting and unique in that you get at least a little bit of a feel for them in the before and after of their circumstances. I can honestly say that I didn't necessarily like the girl I was reading about all that much in the beginning - Cassie. But taken into account the crap that she goes through, and the way the story starts, it's understandable if you don't like her. That's okay. She doesn't give a $hit what you think anyway. She's just telling her story.

    But she's not the only one telling the story here. There are several of them, actually, including a teenage boy Cassie meets, a former high schoolmate of Cassie's, and even Cassie's little brother, who turn your heart to mush. However, Cassie is the main protagonist. You may not like Cassie at first, but you will root for her nonetheless. I did.

    The story is about an alien invasion. Well, actually, it's more about the effects of an alien invasion to the human psyche. And actually, Cassie, does explain that this doesn't play out like you'd think it would, or should. This alien invasion doesn't play out like a Hollywood movie, where us humans, the underdeveloped underdogs, somehow find a way to defeat the highly technological and smarter aliens. Nope.

    Events happen in this book that are quite disturbing and you see the humans at a great, great low point for human existence. The those that tell the story, each one has a harsh, but realistic, tale given the situation they're in. I mean, not in the sense that aliens have invaded the earth, but in the sense of how humans react in such a distressing scenario. A scenario that humans don't even want to fathom.

    And yet Rick Yancey does fathom such scenarios in this first book of a trilogy.

    Still, it's not as hopeless as the book can be. If it were, there would be no point in reading the rest of it. It's a harsh journey, both in the way the story is told (there are quite a few flashbacks told in a non-linear way and not just from one person), and the details of what's being told.

    The reading for me was a slow progress with much to think through, so this type of story might not be suited for those looking for fast-paced sci-fi action blow-em-up stuff from the get-go. But when the action is there, it's intense.

    I should say there's also a bit of humor in the way that certain scenes are told. The story is told in 1st person POV, but in a way that makes you feel like you are there, since they say "you" a lot while they're telling their side, which I suppose is the point. You are there, right with them, feeling and hearing and smelling and seeing what they're going through. And it's not pleasant a lot of the times, but sometimes, having Cassie talk to you is kind of funny, too.

    Cynicism and sarcasm is part of who she is. A great part. And she's a toughy, of course. Not that she doesn't have her vulnerable points, which is why I ended up liking her eventually. Everyone has their vulnerabilities and being a strong female character doesn't mean the opposite of that. Same goes for the guys, which is also depicted here.

    Overall, the book is good, but it does take some time to get going as there's much to know first before the story can go linear. I'd give it 3.5 stars, really. Now that everything's been explained, I think Book Two can really move forward with more intensity as the characters' journey(s) continues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    I waited for this book since I first ready about it in a print c

    I waited for this book since I first ready about it in a print catalog. I'm not a big sci-fi fan but this book grabbed my interest with the synopsis offered and the video clips offered on the Barnes and Noble website. I received my copy through mail Friday and by Sunday night, after midnight, I placed the book down on my nightstand and went to sleep.
    To say this book is a yawner would be lying. Rick Yancy manages to grab your attention from the the first chapter of the book to the last word. It is what is in between that makes you scratch your head and say, haven't I've seen this before? Think Starman and "Q" in Star Trek Enterprise. That is all I will say on the "aliens" destroying the blue globe floating around the sun.
    The book suffers from the fact that Yancey, in his conception of the book, did not think that the reader wouldn't see the gapping holes in the plot. The waves are terrifying no doubt, but the thought process of the invading armies so lacks any central intelligence it makes you wonder how they, the aliens, weren't considered the cockroach of the universe in the way that Cassie had thought the aliens had seen the human species as one!
    One spoiler alert here, if these aliens were so smart and they looked on the human race as a disease that needed to be erradicated because of WHAT they were, why take on the form of the species and keep in take the hosts memory, which could only weaken the host and not strengthen the invader inside of them?
    He manages to show the reader how the human species has always mananged to turn upon itself in a time of crisis. So, if you like mass killings, mass murders, disasters and yes, bad language, than this book is for you. Hopefully Mr. Yancey will correct the gapping holes in the plot and thread the story together to a heck of a conclusion.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    A little disappointing. The main character was slightly annoying

    A little disappointing.
    The main character was slightly annoying. I don't understand why authors must make 16 year old characters so whiny and weak.
    I also feel like the book was very predictable. But in general, it was a good book, very hard to put down (finished it in a day), and can't wait to see how the movie turns out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Interesting take on the whole alien invasion thin

    but it seems "un-rounded" somehow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Confusing

    This book can be very confusing at parts.............Not the BEST book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Good but confusing

    I enjoyed this book but it wasn't amazing. There was a lot of slow background in the beginning after a very interesting part. I understand it was necesary but it was hard to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    A good but derivative story

    I liked the book but it was kind of made for TV.

    The story is very derivative of the Host. Alien infestation with empathy.

    Lots of action, well written, bad aliens, teenage heroes and a major TV ending.

    Its fun but not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    If you like alien books.

    Pretty good book about aliens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Overall a good book. Some immature dialog but the main character

    Overall a good book. Some immature dialog but the main characters are teens. I expect to see book two of the planned trilogy sometime soon. Many comparisons can be made. I found it most like The Host. If you liked that, you will probably like this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Good read

    This book was a easy read. The book wasn't fantastic but it was good and had a pleasantly surprising storyline. I think it had a good mix between action, suspense, and romance. The story was predictable at times, but if there is a sequel I will definitely read. Not to give too much away but............. Sometimes i felt the premise and storyline were alittle too similar to The Host.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Pretty Good

    I hadn't read this author before. The story was pretty good and compelling, but not a "blockbuster" like I felt other reviewers gave it.
    Very good character development and some surprises kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Bitchhhh

    Girl you hell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2